Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mini-masterpiece of Gothic humour, morbid, macabre and sardonically funny.
Ruin Nation is a dystopian novel set in an isolated future England, with the ageing King William on the throne. Law and order has broken down. Death might come from a wild leopard or an anarachist in a hot air balloon. The ruler Malmot is a murderous tyrant, and democracy is long dead.

The narrator Hugo Jupiter has had a hard life, with his mother exploding in...
Published on 3 May 2013 by Alex Day

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just not for me
I'm sure that it is my literary ability as a reader rather than Dan Carver as an author but just could not get excited or amused,
Published 13 months ago by ok


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mini-masterpiece of Gothic humour, morbid, macabre and sardonically funny., 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruin Nation: a post-apocalyptic thriller you won't want to put down (Kindle Edition)
Ruin Nation is a dystopian novel set in an isolated future England, with the ageing King William on the throne. Law and order has broken down. Death might come from a wild leopard or an anarachist in a hot air balloon. The ruler Malmot is a murderous tyrant, and democracy is long dead.

The narrator Hugo Jupiter has had a hard life, with his mother exploding in front of him, and his father killed in a mental hospital. Having survived a war, he's now forced to work as a puppet-maker, stitching up the bodies of dead politicans to appease the masses. All the while he is quietly plotting his own ascent to power.

The plot moves in a dash through comically grotesque set-pieces. There's little human goodness or hope here; but there's a lot of sardonic humour. Almost every character is vile or broken. Perhaps this is part of Hugo Jupiter's madness. He hates God; yet as the book's narrator he has become Godlike. The world of Ruin Nation is entirely as he describes it.

Dan Carver's prose is tightly written and constantly inventive. His sentences often have a musical quality. I found myself reading great passages of Ruin Nation out loud. I particularly liked the character descriptions, for example:

"The charming receptionist with the dead seagull eyes and too much makeup introduces them to - or rather points at - Doctor Holubec, a swarthy Eastern European with a handshake of respectful pressure. But his courteous smile hangs beneath a blank, blue gaze. It's a look that speaks of war crimes and a first family lost to a mass grave. Whatever he loved is long gone. He prefers scientific experiments to people now. They only die within set parameters."

Ruin Nation is a mini-masterpiece of Gothic humour. It's macabre and sardonically funny. Carver is a better writer than perhaps he realizes. I look forward to reading more from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, fast paced & wry as hell, 2 May 2013
This review is from: Ruin Nation: a post-apocalyptic thriller you won't want to put down (Kindle Edition)
Dan Carver writes like a man who has grown up in the shadow of a dystopian nightmare.. and rather enjoyed it. Tales of mutilation puppetry may not be your bag but if they are then this part fantasy, part horror, part black comedy is an awesome read. Fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Scarlett Thomas or Colin Bateman may have found their new hero in Dan Carver.
Read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A master misanthropist, 29 May 2013
By 
Ultra_Fox (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Ruin Nation: a post-apocalyptic thriller you won't want to put down (Kindle Edition)
The author plumbs the deepest depths of modern-day political disaffection to produce a chillingly-credible vision of England as a squalid, irredeemably-corrupt hellhole.

Laced with corrosive cynicism, humour lurching between necrophilic and scatological, and possessing a body count even Tarantino would envy, this is a book that will offend and amuse in equal measure.

How much of its contents are inspired by the author's fevered imagination, as opposed to his experiences on the streets of Leicester, is a question only the author can answer.

But in his creation of the malevolent, manipulative and monstrous Malmot, he has produced a character whose further villainous exploits will be eagerly awaited and perhaps even attract film and TV interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Devilishly good!, 4 May 2013
This review is from: Ruin Nation: a post-apocalyptic thriller you won't want to put down (Kindle Edition)
if you can find humour in killing for political gain, killing for any gain, killing for little or no reason, skinning people and using their exterior for puppets, lies, betrayal and donkeys, then this book is for you.
it's very very dark and it's very very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 1 May 2013
This review is from: Ruin Nation: a post-apocalyptic thriller you won't want to put down (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this book. It was easy to get into and well written, and Hugo Jupiter is a great anti-hero. There are some very funny comic set pieces and it is quite cutting about the state of the nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and thought provoking, 1 May 2013
This review is from: Ruin Nation: a post-apocalyptic thriller you won't want to put down (Kindle Edition)
Dan Carver's new book is very funny, I loved all the wild and over the top writing, and you can quite easily imagine the UK falling into such anarchy. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark, funny, very readable, 4 May 2013
This review is from: Ruin Nation: a post-apocalyptic thriller you won't want to put down (Kindle Edition)
Not often I find that others have said most of the things I would say about a book, but this time I find it hard to add much to the earlier reviews. It is indeed both a dark picture of a scary future that threatens Britain and very funny analysis of unscrupulous politicians battling for power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars classic opening.., 30 Jun. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruin Nation: a post-apocalyptic thriller you won't want to put down (Kindle Edition)
Worth it for the opening line alone! A good & funny book summing up our troubled times. I look forward to hearing more from this guy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Triumph of Madness, 4 May 2013
This review is from: Ruin Nation: a post-apocalyptic thriller you won't want to put down (Kindle Edition)
Nefarious, heinous, sick, twisted! Dan Carver's first instalment is a triumph of madness with far too many origins in reality!
Made me want to start ripping up concrete slabs... just in case.
It's the most quirky and insane book I've read.
Can't wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great work, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ruin Nation: a post-apocalyptic thriller you won't want to put down (Kindle Edition)
I love Dan Carver's work and am very happy to read his latest novel hot off the press. So far, so funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews