Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 'Live in' yet
Cordoba was stunning, London was epic, Slovenia is no holds barred heads down arms up digweed at his very best. More concise, aggressively direct, and faultlessly mixed even to the most discerning of listeners. The man is a genius at the art of the dj mix and simply is a master of his craft. Buy it now
Published 16 months ago by Krafty

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Club Thumping..
Well John did warn all buyers of this live in mix that it was straight into peak time set - which is john at his best. Personally I prefer the warm up type mix cd's of the live in mix (cordoba disc 1 and london disc 1) I found this mix just a little to hard on the ears for a CD. Its quite fast hard and bassy. I did enjoy the start of the mix - i always really enjoy the...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Mark A. Bullers


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Club Thumping.., 28 Aug 2013
By 
This review is from: John Digweed Live In Slovenia (Audio CD)
Well John did warn all buyers of this live in mix that it was straight into peak time set - which is john at his best. Personally I prefer the warm up type mix cd's of the live in mix (cordoba disc 1 and london disc 1) I found this mix just a little to hard on the ears for a CD. Its quite fast hard and bassy. I did enjoy the start of the mix - i always really enjoy the opening of John's mix's and this doesnt let you down there. There also some really enjoyabe tracks through the middle and end also - on both CD's, and any fan of Johns Techno beats/sets I'm sure will enjoy this mix too as it is still really good. Worth the 6 pound purchase from the bedrock website!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Digweed Live In Slovenia (Audio CD)
London and cordoba are a far better buy. Bit on the dull side, not picking up any real tempo. m
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 'Live in' yet, 28 May 2013
This review is from: John Digweed Live In Slovenia (Audio CD)
Cordoba was stunning, London was epic, Slovenia is no holds barred heads down arms up digweed at his very best. More concise, aggressively direct, and faultlessly mixed even to the most discerning of listeners. The man is a genius at the art of the dj mix and simply is a master of his craft. Buy it now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top of his game, 18 April 2014
By 
Tim Knight (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Digweed Live In Slovenia (Audio CD)
Really surprised by some of the lukewarm reviews on here, so feel like I need to set the record straight. This is one of John's best mix cd's he has ever produced, it is up there with the Global Underground hallowed trio of Sydney, Hong Kong and L.A. Yeah it goes straight into peak time with little chance for you to catch your breath, but how can that be a bad thing? This cd instantly transports you into a dark sweaty cavernous space with relentless chugging beats and bass reverberating off the walls, I think I had goosebumps the whole way through! As with all his mix's (apart from the rubbish Fabric one) he avoids all gimmicks and in vogue clichés and instead delivers a solid set of thumping underground houseytechno. 5 stars!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Digweed Live In Slovenia (Audio CD)
Great album, Mr D at his deep, dark, housey best. You can almost picture the darkened sexy club as you listen to it. One for aficionados and we'll worth the cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent entry to the live series, 4 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: John Digweed Live In Slovenia (Audio CD)
Slovenia is yet another solid mix from John Digweed, however i feel that the live series is getting a little long in the tooth. The mix is very similar to the previous entries (this time having less discs), featuring a warm up and peak time mix, both with Digweed's signature tech/prog house theme. The track selection is quite predictable and the mixing of course is superb. To be honest there is nothing wrong with this mix...but there isnt anything great about it either.

To my surprise, the crowd noise is less noticeable on this edition, but the sound quality is definitely of a lower standard when compared to studio mix cds. Which is a shame, as for me, the beauty of music is in the fine details.

Personally i'd much prefer a studio mix cd. This mix falls short when i compare it to transitions 4, for example. Is it worth the purchase? i don't know really, other djs (jimmy van m, nick warren etc.) put live sets on soundcloud almost every month, which of course are free.

To conclude, i think John needs to take things in a different direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice tunes, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this mix is full of good thumping thec house, a good album for the budding dj because the seperate track list is useful for djs to use themselves great mix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Mix in Years, 15 July 2013
This review is from: John Digweed Live In Slovenia (Audio CD)
this is the best live mix from Digweed yet.....its better than Cordoba and London.....London is excellent but this just gives you over 2 hours of what a great Digweed set can be like.....it has one of the best intro tracks ive heard in a long time and the mixing is impeccable as usual.....second cd just get you...and keeps you going and pumps out edgy tech-prog track after track....only critical note is Digweed has definitely left his pure prog roots....close your eyes mid way through cd 2 and you'd be forgiven for thinking this is a Sebastian Leger mix.....bouncy techy prog that gets a crowd going.....its commendable in a way that John has adapted his style over the years but being a true prog fan the Transitions mixes etc years back are what i'll always love him for......buy this if you are a Digweed fan but buy it anyway if you want to feel the energy of a real dance music dance floor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best live mix in years!!! King Digweed!, 12 July 2013
By 
Frank Nielsen "sasha" (denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Digweed Live In Slovenia (Audio CD)
Wow what a cool house deeptrance mix, i wish i where there, Digweed is a master in sounds and basskontrol!!
A must buy for all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is Digweed at his finest, 10 Jun 2013
This review is from: John Digweed Live In Slovenia (Audio CD)
Let me keep it short and simple...

I lived in Gainesville, Florida, USA, where Sasha and Digweed frequently visited and I've been a fan of both since the mid 90's.

I actually have not been a fan of the most frequent live sets by John, and absolutely I'd say his weekly radio shows are hit or miss, and I mostly skim over them to see if there's any stand out tracks.

That being said, wow, this mix right here is John at his finest: dark, plodding, peak-time techno that isn't too repetitive and is not boring whatsoever. If you're a fan of his older sets and his style in general, I can tell you right now with 100% confidence that this album is absolutely what you're looking for. Buy it and you won't be disappointed. Imagine this at a small club or late night at with the right lighting and small crowd and you'll catch a glimpse of the magic of this man and his legacy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Digweed Live In Slovenia
John Digweed Live In Slovenia by John Digweed (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews