Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars78
3.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 March 2015
I think that we that were all shocked by the Jimmy Saville revelations, and although his actions sickened me, my curiosity still wanted to know the 'inside story', so I picked up this paperback book. My advice is to find a cheap copy, because although 'The Beast' is reasonably well-written, it tells the reader nothing that wasn't reported in all the newspapers at the time. In fact, it reads just like an extended newspaper report, and the author John McShane appears to have conducted no personal interviews or indeed under-covered any fresh information.

It isn't a bad way to 'catch-up' on these shocking events of a TV presenter who was hailed as a hero for many years, and the author clearly whipped this book out very quickly just to cash in on the story. The result is a very un-insightful paperback, and all the details here you can read for free on the internet anyway.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Parts of this book make compelling reading even though the content is obviously disturbing. Other parts are quite boring and a chapter is made of what could be said in a paragraph or less. Much of what is written are quotes from press reports we have all read numerous times. We learnt nothing about Jimmy Savile we didn't already know but that is perhaps because this depraved individual had no personality as such. I am pleased the book has been written though as his victims deserve their stories to be heard.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2014
Readers might suspect that this book exists to tap into Savile-related tabloid gossip. They would be right. Mr. McShane has written a collection of quotes and details thoughtlessly stripped from police reports and from newspapers. There is nothing wrong with compiling pertinent information, provided that it serves a greater purpose. Mr. McShane has none. This book means only to shock and to disturb the reader without informing them of the deeper, systemic problems that allowed Jimmy Savile to commit his crimes.

True Crime is a genre often thwarted by sensational writing and to ghoulish fascination. Fortunately, there are enough well-conceived, well-informed, and well-crafted examples to save the genre from denunciation. 'Savile - The Beast' isn't one of them.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Oh dear, after starting rather well this disintegrated into a summary of all the news articles written about this man. Nothing insightful or new, nothing we did not already know. Very disappointing indeed.
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
Two chapters stretched into a book. The information was repeated time and time again. Not a particularly good read for me.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
Basically the book was full of information you already knew from the papers. Kept repeating the same quotes. Do not buy.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
A reasonable Description of the Savile Story. Nothing much more than covered by the Media. Ideal for a catch up.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
As I'd somehow managed to miss most of the press coverage at the time (how???) and both (were there 2?) of the programmes on TV, this book helped me to catch up with what everyone else already apparently knows about this vile man .... but the book is very poorly written, draws no conclusions it just rehashes what everyone else said at the time (so useful if like me you missed that). It is quite repetitive and was VERY badly proof read, which I found intrusive and irritating. All in all I'd probably say not worth buying it unless you can get hold of a cheap copy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Good book, providing plenty of things I didn't previously know. For a small book it is fairly comprehensive. I enjoyed it but the bloke was shameless!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
Difficult to rate this because of the nature of the contents. Lots of factual accounts by some of Savile's victims. The full horror of Savile's depravity is clearly shown, along with how he got away with it.
I admire his victims' courage in recounting the horror they suffered in the hands of this paedophile, and hope they are more able to move on in their lives.
The book is definitely food for thought. I was angry at the BBC for turning a blind eye and frustrated that the police and CPS didn't investigate further when allegations were made before Savile died.
What angered me more than anything was that he didn't live to face up to his depravity and disgusting abuse of the vulnerable.
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)