Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coal, cocktails and fifth colimnists
The start of Hill's surreally inventive novel -- set in the early 1950s -- reads like Conan Doyle on amphetamines. It brings to mind his short story The Five Orange Pips where those about to die get an orange pip by post but it is lumps of coal in elegant boxes that Hill's demi-mondaine victim received prior to her forced demise... The heroine Rosy, on the other hand, is...
Published 11 months ago by Dominic Swayne

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
Very very disappointing. I had read good reviews but it just didn't grab me at all - had no empathy with the characters and the story dragged and did not engage me in any way. I gave up two-thirds of the way through and just read the last couple of pages - as I say for the price it really was not worth it.
Published 9 months ago by Joan Haddock


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coal, cocktails and fifth colimnists, 27 Aug 2013
This review is from: Little Murder, A (Hardcover)
The start of Hill's surreally inventive novel -- set in the early 1950s -- reads like Conan Doyle on amphetamines. It brings to mind his short story The Five Orange Pips where those about to die get an orange pip by post but it is lumps of coal in elegant boxes that Hill's demi-mondaine victim received prior to her forced demise... The heroine Rosy, on the other hand, is very much in the Agatha Christie tradition of adventurous, attractively spunky girls, such as Anne Beddingfield in The Man in the Brown Suit, Victoria Jones in They Came to Baghdad and of course Tuppence (of Tommy & Tuppence fame).

Hill has achieved the rare feat of delivering a story that bears the hallmarks of the classic whodunit-cum-thriller genre in the unique voice of a literary farceuse -- a voice already made famous by her 'Bones' chronicles.

The central whodunit rule of mystification followed by gradual elucidation is scrupulously observed throughout this splendidly sinewy Little Murder. The pacing is perfect, so are the suspense and the period detail. The novel's language and style will delight aficionados of the Wilde/Saki/Benson/Wodehouse school of writing. To give a few examples -- the victim had a 'knack for chaos', a Miss Collinger's eye displays a 'dart of impatience', the peculiar coal despatches make a police inspector think of someone with a 'fetish for carbon'. This is a treat for any true connoisseur of high comedy and of mysteries that are, above all, original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful and engaging whodunit - kept me guessing to the end., 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: A Little Murder (Kindle Edition)
When Marcia Beasley is discovered in her home at St John's Wood, naked and with a coal scuttle on her head, it unsettles many people, not least her niece Rosy Gilchrist, who along with all the members of Marcia's social circle, is eager to distance herself from her aunt's fate and raffish reputation. Detective Sergeant Greenleaf is tasked with solving the crime, but makes little progress.

Despite her reluctance, Rosy, finds herself drawn into the intrigue that surrounds Marcia's death. Acting in good faith she agrees to help a friend with the result that she comes into information she would have preferred not to have known. From this small favour she finds herself cross examined by Felix who provides beautiful blooms, and his friend the acidic Cedric, all done, of course, in the best possible taste, with fino sherry. The artist Clovis Thistlehyde, awful Vera who seems to beset her at every turn, and the Fawcetts all seem determined to uncover what she knows, But what does she know! As Rosy constantly explains to people who keep popping out of the woodwork to interrogate her, I may have known her as a child but with the war we went our separate ways. However, through various unwanted conversations Rosy learns that her aunt's life during the war was a colourful one! As more information comes to light Rosy muses that her aunt's demise could be an act of revenge.

Set in the early 1950's, this is a delightful romp, as Rosy is pulled form her quiet ordered existence into the murky world it appeared that her aunt had inhabited. A further death has everyone twitchy and looking over their shoulder's, particularly those who have been indulging in a little wickedness! Highly recommended.
-----
Reviewer: Lizzie Hayes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 15 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Murder (Kindle Edition)
I did not enjoy it as much as the previous books, never the less, I found the characters very amusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Right Rollicking Read.., 8 Mar 2014
This review is from: Little Murder, A (Paperback)
Suzette Hill is such a good writer, I'm amazed that she felt the need to self-publish her first book, but not surprised that a major publisher took her on afterwards.
A Little Murder is a beautifully written murder mystery in something of the style of the golden age crime novels so many of us love & enjoy. The difference with Ms. Hill's work is, that like LC Tyler & his Elsie & Ethelred series, the story is witty as well as an enjoyable crime romp. There are several laugh out loud moments, & I was truly sorry to reach the end of the book. I've pre-ordered the next one in the series, & I can't really give a higher recommendation than that. To my mind, one of the best writers out there at this point in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Little Murder, A (Hardcover)
Very very disappointing. I had read good reviews but it just didn't grab me at all - had no empathy with the characters and the story dragged and did not engage me in any way. I gave up two-thirds of the way through and just read the last couple of pages - as I say for the price it really was not worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great whodunnit!, 20 Aug 2013
By 
Shirley Mosey (Derbyshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Little Murder (Kindle Edition)
I loved the Francis Oughterard books by Suzette but this was a different type of story. A very well written whodunnit - so good that I couldn't guess who the 'baddie' was till it was revealed! I would recommend this book to anyone as a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, 4 Aug 2013
This review is from: Little Murder, A (Hardcover)
Unlike the Bones books, there aren't any cats or dogs in this book, but the writing is as sharp and as rewarding as ever. It's set in London in the 1950s and the atmosphere is brilliantly evoked in an excellent story with terrific characters. I really would highly recommend it.
The story is excellent, with parts of the mystery explained as we go, but the full explanation left to the end in a gripping scene and there are some genuinely chilling moments. It's a very rewarding read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Little Murder
A Little Murder by Suzette A. Hill
4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews