Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born in 1988, but still love it!, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. Beaumont - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I was born in 1988 and this show is from the late 1970's so I had never seen The Paper Lads before. But as Amazon kept on recommending it to me and as I have a lot of Network DVD's anyway I decided to take a chance on it, and I loved it, loved little Gog and also loved the episode “The “Sweetie Shop Kid”. I didn't enjoy the dog racing episode much, but 1 out of the 2 series aint all that bad. Pleased I gave it a chance now :)

Series 1 – Disk 1:
Episode 1 – Round One, 24th August 1977
Episode 2 – Cash And Carry, 31st August 1977
Episode 3 – The Sweetie Shop Kid, 7th September 1977
Episode 4 – Fifty Years A Snowman, 14th September 1977
Episode 5 – Enter Picasso, 21st September 1977
Episode 6 – Best Foot Forward, 28th September 1977
Episode 7 – Eyewitness, 5th October1977

Series 2 – Disk 2:
Episode 1 – New Boy, 20th November 1978
Episode 2 – Paddy For Champ, 27th November 1978
Episode 3 – Intruders, 4th December 1978
Episode 4 – A Day To Remember, 11th December 1978
Episode 5 – Presents From Paris, 8th January 1979
Episode 6 – It Takes Two To Tango, 15th January 1979
Episode 7 – The Sailor's Return, 22nd January 1979
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOLDEN OLDIES, 26 Feb 2014
By 
P. Rowley-brooke (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
The DvD was well remastered & the series of how paper lads (& lass!) solved problems & beat the baddies. I didn't see this series when it came out but it is of its time. One could argue that it's nostalgia with a capital 'N'. On the whole, the acting - particularly of the girl & main boy characters - is excellent bordering on the outstanding & it's surprising looking at IMDB that only one of them made a career of it. However, some of the minor characters both adult & children are appalling. The rogue paper lad is so wooden that it's difficult to believe he could be so devious. On the whole the series is a good example of the TV programming for children of the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia, but so much more., 9 Oct 2014
By 
Lucy Lavande (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this based on amazon's recommendation. After I'd bought Children of the Stones this kept popping up as a 'you may also like' and I decided to try it as it had such positive reviews. As a Northern 70's kid this obviously has a massive nostalgia value for me, but the series is much more than that. It's based around really strong, well developed characters, all of whom are so well played. Each episode focuses mainly on one or two of the paper lads, and lass, as they experience problems and adventures which in turn give deeper layers to their characters. There are four main characters throughout the two series. Feisty but sensitive Sam, trying to patch the rift between her Granda and her mam; Ian, a gifted artist with an unhappy home life; Baz, with his dreams of being a ballroom dancing champion, and Gog, always the jester but with a deep, intuitive nature. Series one also has J.G., the likeable, sensible head lad, who was replaced in series two by the less likeable Neville who is the only weak link in the series, and thankfully he's only in three episodes. Neville's meant to be a bad 'un, but he doesn't match the others for acting skills.

The strength of character development in Sam, Baz, Ian and Gog is equalled by the stories themselves, which hit the right balance between drama, pathos and humour, delving into the characters lives, dreams and personalities with the delicate touch that produces real character led television. My favourite episode is A Day to Remember, where the paper lads and lass go on a works outing, which has the line 'Well I don't suppose you can expect to go on an annual treat EVERY year!' It is very nostalgic to anyone of around my age, but it's wonderful in its own right as a beautifully written and acted series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Edition Delivery-, 31 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I had never seen this programme before. I usually go through stages of wanting to watch late 70s And early 80s gems that i may have missed but would have loved to watch,so i came across this.

Its set around Newcastle - if you can understand Cheryl Cole and Byker Grove then youll understand this - centred mainly on the local newsagent. The group deliver newspapers and sometimes see things they have to get involved in. I thoroughly enjoyed it,although the newsagents wife can be a tad annoying voicewise.

If you expect the cgi effects of this era you will be sorely dissapointed, its just charming nostalgia in seeing massive boxes of Dairy box chocolates in the background or texan bars on countertops that thrill my easy to please nerves. Hearing someone say - run to me mahs and tell her ring for t'police.... not a mobile phone in sight.

For young actors they are perfect for the role, ive only watched one disc and the second says that one or two changes are made so there maybe something i havent commented on that ill update in time.

If you are from tyne tees area its surely a must buy... if you liked Jossies Giants and early Byker Grove then its a no brainer.

I mention the above as theyre 2series that have been ignored a dvd release yet kids and adults would still love to see them.

All in all if youve made it to the review section you must have a slight interest...trust me...youll enjoy it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Paper Lads as a new viewer, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
Can't remember this when it was on originally, so took a punt. Very enjoyable as a recollection of how the pre X box chidlhood on TV and real,life was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The film and video tape parts are easy to see just like a lot of things filmed ..., 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting bit of history to look back on . A time when TV stories were much simpler . Don`t expect to much of the The Paper Lads but to look back on a time when things were less complex and mobiles were thing you hung over a cot is interesting . The film and video tape parts are easy to see just like a lot of things filmed around this time . The sound is ok but the levels are somewhat unbalanced . To sum up " It`s of its time " .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars video review the paper lads, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
loved watching the paper lads when first came out on tv in 1975/76 when i was 11 still love it, many thanks.is it possible if you can find an australian film called "the mystery at castle house" from the childrens film & television foundation.thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EEE!!!WHAT'S UP PET!, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I WATCHED THE SERIES AS A KID ON THE SOUTH COAST,AND LOVED IT.AND THE IRONIC THING WAS FROM 1988,I WAS BASED ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE TYNE IN SOUTH BENWELL,AND EVEN THEN I THOUGHT OF THIS SERIES OFTEN,AND THE TYPE OF STREETS STILL EXISTED IN CERTAIN PLACES.HOW FAB TO ENJOY IN EVERY SENSE OF THE WORD 14 CHARMING EPISODES , WITH GREAT CHARACTERS,AND SOME VERY INTERESTING STORYLINES.AND HEY WHAT ABOUT THE THEME TUNE HINNY! BY RANAISSANCE.(LOVED THE ADVERT FOR RECORD AND BOOK,AT THE END OF SEVERAL EPISODES)AND TO LOOK AT THE BOOKS AND MAGAZINES,WRIGLEYS CHEWING GUM MACHINES,DRINKS VENDING MACHINES,NOT TO MENTION,DI RIGA,HAIRSTYLES AND CLOTHES WE ALL WORE ACROSS THE NATION.MAGIC! OH HOW I LOVE AND MISS THE (JARDIE TARKIN PET!) GLYNN EDWARDS AND ANN JAMESON AND ALL THE KIDS WERE SMASHING,WHAT EVER BECAME OF THEM ALL?....ANYWAY THIS SOFT SOUTHERN B!!!!!!!!d IS VERY BIASED ON ALL THINGS NEWCASTLE,AND I LOVE THIS.CATCH MACHINEGUNNERS ON YOUTUBE CRACKING LITTLE SERIES AS WELL.THE PAPER LADS.FROM AMAZON UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this DVD!!, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
I love harping back to the good old days of the 1970s, and I vaguely remember this on telly, especially the theme tune. Living in the Yorkshire television area, we also picked up Tyne Tees television. So great to see the terraced houses of the north east. No traffic. Sweets in jars in proper newsagents. Those chocolate machines on outside walls that would be vandalised these days..Great!! The stories are good and well acted. If you love the 70s (and probably from OOP NORTH like me) you will find this very entertaining!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best series ever, 22 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] (DVD)
It was good going back in time and watching The Paper Lads again it was good as the first time I seen it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD]
The Paper Lads - The Complete Series [DVD] by Roger Cheveley (DVD - 2013)
£8.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews