Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 23 Sep 2013
By 
Dan Glaser "danglase" (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Promises (Audio CD)
Where to start with this one. Just amazing from beginning to end. This band should be enormous which just goes to show how little justice there is in the music business. I must admit it took me a few listens for the songs to finally grab the ears and brain, but now I'm hooked. Sweeping melodies and the vocals of Nathan Nicholson are just so moving. To single him out is of course unfair since the band as a whole have created this incredible offering, but the signature sound is obviously his and this provides the guiding light of the music. This CD should be made compulsory listening and a lesson to all on how a few songs go together to make a truly excellent opus. For me there is one big problem though: How on earth are they going to top this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 21 May 2013
By 
Elliott Langley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promises (Audio CD)
More epic than their previous efforts, album number four from The Boxer Rebellion sees the band develop their sound into some of their strongest songs yet. Where the last record (The Cold Still) was comprised of quiet, fragile ambiance and had a sense of raw desperation to it, Promises is more anthemic in approach. The record has a different feel to their previous output, but manages to maintain their core sound - uplifting choruses mixed with moments of tender beauty and stillness that only Boxer are capable of. They really do seem to get better with each album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Anthemic Album, 26 April 2014
By 
Mr. Dean V. Bailey (Sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promises (Audio CD)
Uplifting and thought provoking in equal measure. For anyone who doesn't own a Boxer Rebellion album then this is the easiest album to get into with imediately likeable tracks such as 'Keep Moving'. For me the gem is the title track Promises, the last song on the album. Get it bought!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promises (Audio CD)
Terrific album, my neighbours daughter is married to Piers , the drummer so added interest in the band. Bought earlier one, but heard this on flight to Phuket...and just had to get it even if I'm 58 years old.
Bought the CD and got the Amazon Cloud free, so sat listening to it as I type....not a single track that I don't like. Keep turning out great albums like this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the boxer rebellion, 2 Aug 2013
This review is from: Promises (MP3 Download)
Heard one track on a film and immediately bought the album.. love absolutely brilliant. Haven't stopped listening to it. Have a listen you may be surprised
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different but still the Boxer Rebellion sound., 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promises (Audio CD)
Like every good band The Boxer Rebellion try new ideas with every album. Promises is no exception. They are using more synths and possibly loops from what I can tell but the end result is a very cerebrally pleasing product, bordering on pop in places but never straying too far from the building, rhythmic and haunting sonic landscapes that TBR have made their own. Check out 'Diamonds' and 'New York'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Boxer Rebellion - fantastic!, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promises (Audio CD)
Always enjoy the music of The Boxer Rebellion, not only great on CD, but also live performances, good listening, all original music, no covers...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow...Their best yet.., 25 April 2014
By 
Mark R (Hereford, Herefordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promises (Audio CD)
Took the family to see them in Manchester - relieved to find that we weren't the oldest there! sounds great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Promises boxer rebellion, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promises (Audio CD)
Love this new album lighter than some of their older stuff but all good. Love Nathans gravelly voice. Really into this group at the mo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Never heard of them but glad I have now, 11 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. R. N. Garbett "Bob G" (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Promises (MP3 Download)
I love the new music scene. There is so much talent out there for me to try and Amazon makes it possible for me to browse and buy the good stuff. This is one of those albums. As an old dude, I can't get into buying singles so I only pick great albums and this is GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Promises
Promises by The Boxer Rebellion
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews