Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last American Virgin
This is the first Blu ray that i have purchased from Arrow Video and i have to say they did a phenomenal job. The PQ, considering the age of this film, is terrific. There are a few scenes with mild grain but nothing that took my attention from the film. I'm not much of an audiofile, but i have no complaints. This blu ray comes with 2 discs, the blu ray as well as a dvd...
Published 11 months ago by M. Weinstein

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia fuelled in the worst of ways
Another Excellent Arrow Re-Master. This is 100% fuelled by nostalgia. Not only does everything about the film scream 1980s, from the music to the fashion, it's also the sort of film that doesn't really mean a lot unless you watched it as a teenager. Not falling into either of those groups means that The Last American Virgin isn't really all that entertaining. It's teenage...
Published 10 months ago by Rob Simpson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last American Virgin, 25 Sep 2013
By 
M. Weinstein "garbageboy" (new york city) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last American Virgin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is the first Blu ray that i have purchased from Arrow Video and i have to say they did a phenomenal job. The PQ, considering the age of this film, is terrific. There are a few scenes with mild grain but nothing that took my attention from the film. I'm not much of an audiofile, but i have no complaints. This blu ray comes with 2 discs, the blu ray as well as a dvd copy, which i haven't viewed yet. Also comes with a booklet Diary of The Last American Vigin. In it are color stills, and fun facts about the film. Last but not least, this blu ray comes with a two-sided cover that has the original commissioned artwork for the film. The new cover which faces outward is somewhat similar to the original, (which is on the inside), but the character of Karen has her arm around the character of Gary. All in all, this is a terrific little time capsule that is well worth the price. Unfortunately this disc is region B locked so you need a region free player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrow does it againt, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last American Virgin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Arrow resurrects a true teen cult classic movie! Excellent restoration, extras and booklet! A must for fans of these movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "COME TO ME, MY BIG BURRITO", 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last American Virgin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I love this movie! I was 16 back in '82 so I can really relate to the Gary character. He's your all around nice guy who sadly doesn't get the girl in the end. I like how the film starts off as your typical 80's teen comedy about sex and parties but then takes a more serious tone in the third act dealing with an unwanted pregnancy and betrayal.

The best part of the movie is actually the soundtrack. For those of us who were around back then the music was indeed for the most part amazing. From The Police, The Cars, REO Speedwagon, Journey, etc.. and probably the best track used in the film is "Oh No" by The Commodores. It's a beautiful song that fits perfectly in certain scenes and always leaves a lump in my throat. :(

What can you say about the ending other than it's heartbreaking and brutally honest. That look on Gary's face says it all. Most guys at some point in high school were in that same situation where they were totally smitten by a certain girl but she was oblivious to your feelings or simply attracted to another guy. That's what makes the last scene so powerful and memorable. Real life is not a feel good Hollywood storybook ending.

The Arrow release (Region B only) is another winner for them. The transfer looks terrific with it's natural film grain in tact. Those tight close ups of Diane Franklin's beautiful face were made for blu-ray. The audio comes in loud and clear and the music as mentioned sounds great in surround sound. I also enjoyed the extras with new interviews from Gary & Karen and the writer/director Boaz Davidson

Highly Recommended for a wonderful early 80's time capsule!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars V Good, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last American Virgin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Brill film. Soundtrack ace. Nearly as good as Lemon Popsicle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'The Last American Virgin' (MGM) Running time: 92 minutes, 18 Oct 2009
Sort of goes hand in hand with another teen film from that same year - 'Fast Times At Ridgemont High'. I can surely relate to this memorable flick - mostly deals with a group of high school friends that end up chasing girls to lose their virginity. Some decent drama unfolds as two guys Gary (Lawrence Monoson) and bad boy Rick (Steve Antin) compete for the affection of the innocent-looking Karen (Diane Franklin). Sort of a tear-jerker. Watch closely to the movie's last ten minutes - that's WHY, myself (I'm sure I'm not alone here) has such a tough time trusting anyone anymore - even more SO, it really does support the fact that maybe 90% of all women do, in fact much prefer a 'bad boy'. Remember: nice guys do finish last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia fuelled in the worst of ways, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Rob Simpson "noframeof" (Middlesbrough, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Last American Virgin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Another Excellent Arrow Re-Master. This is 100% fuelled by nostalgia. Not only does everything about the film scream 1980s, from the music to the fashion, it's also the sort of film that doesn't really mean a lot unless you watched it as a teenager. Not falling into either of those groups means that The Last American Virgin isn't really all that entertaining. It's teenage sex comedy without any laughs, and much of the film revolves around the high adventure of three teenagers (Gary, Rick & David) and their sexual exploits. Skit after Skit, nothing more. Then he weirdest thing happens, the last 25 minutes actually do something interesting, throwing some reality into the mix. Turning the one-note film into something more akin to the awkward and heartbreaking reality of teenage love. That and it has a great soundtrack, so much so there's barely a moment of the film where it isn't playing. Still, it's not a very good film by my reckoning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Last American Virgin, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Last American Virgin, Adult comedy coming of age drama, enjoyed it a lot for a break from the real world
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work., 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last American Virgin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
It didn't work. I don't know if it's because I'm from the US and I bought it from the UK but it didn't work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last American Virgin [Blu-ray]
The Last American Virgin [Blu-ray] by Boaz Davidson (Blu-ray - 2013)
17.72
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews