Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgivable. A must read
Unforgivable's opening chapter, a death in a prestigious London hotel room with a high class call girl, is stark & wryly funny. A mid fellatio death sets Shelley Hansard age 21, a hooker for three years, making lots of money but shooting up the profits to dull the pain of her existence, on a journey of no return.
Discovering that a client who has raped her has also...
Published 23 months ago by JaynieR

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Drugs and prostitution
I found this a very difficult book to read, the characters had few redeeming features. I did carry on the very end in the hope of some light at the end of the tunnel. Not sure that there was any light.
Published 20 months ago by Mrs. E. Jessel


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgivable. A must read, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Destruction: Unforgivable (a story of drug addiction and prostitution) (Kindle Edition)
Unforgivable's opening chapter, a death in a prestigious London hotel room with a high class call girl, is stark & wryly funny. A mid fellatio death sets Shelley Hansard age 21, a hooker for three years, making lots of money but shooting up the profits to dull the pain of her existence, on a journey of no return.
Discovering that a client who has raped her has also raped her friends sets a plot in motion bent on retribution that will spin Shelley's life out of control. Unable to report to the police for fear of the consequences from her profession Shelley gathers her friends for the inevitable.
Characterisation is immediate & skilled. You think you know Shelley until you realise the damage acquired by a life so enmeshed in pain is hard for her to live; heroin & crack are the only answer with many risks taken, a toll on mental health & her ability to be honest about her situation. Not much 'Belle de Jour' in this scenario, instead we have a realistic view of prostitution, its dangers, its consequences.
The story has great pace, a page turner, plenty of twists & turns to keep you intrigued about the details of Shelley's life that makes serious comment about how she got to the place she is in.
Ruth Jacobs is a skilled story teller with an extensive knowledge of her subjects that is realistic, compassionate & compelling. This is a must read book. Look out for the next one. She is a rising star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars At times soul destroying!, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Destruction: Unforgivable (a story of drug addiction and prostitution) (Kindle Edition)
As an ex-madam I was drawn to reading this book - I have to say that there's no way in a million years I would have had the main characters in this book working for me. Although compelling at times I found it a bit much all the drug taking - day-in, day-out. All the way through I was expecting the storyline to open up, but I was disappointed. Also, rather an abrupt ending - but there again, it's just my opinion!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended read., 17 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Destruction: Unforgivable (a story of drug addiction and prostitution) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book and want to read the sequel. The characters and their situations are believable and the story flowed naturally. Recommended if you're not bothered about extreme situations or bad language. This all adds to the reading experience for a story like this, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Drugs and prostitution, 6 July 2013
By 
Mrs. E. Jessel "gardenmad" (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Destruction: Unforgivable (a story of drug addiction and prostitution) (Kindle Edition)
I found this a very difficult book to read, the characters had few redeeming features. I did carry on the very end in the hope of some light at the end of the tunnel. Not sure that there was any light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgivable is Unforgettable, 12 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Soul Destruction: Unforgivable (a story of drug addiction and prostitution) (Kindle Edition)
Ruth Jacobs invites you into a world that is not known to most of us, from the first page you are quickly gripped as the main character, Shelley Hansard, finds herself in a hotel room with a motionless body next to her. This thriller is intense, dark, full of mystery and suspense and at times quite funny.
Although a work of fiction, the writer has done a fantastic job of giving a truthful insight into the very real world of prostitution and the life of a call girl.
Graphic in some parts where you get a real sense of the trials and tribulations faced by the main character. A very insightful piece of writing and a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look forward to the sequel., 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Destruction: Unforgivable (a story of drug addiction and prostitution) (Kindle Edition)
Ruth Jacobs has taken away the false glamour portrayed by media of prostitution. The book is an all night page Turner I couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 15 Sept. 2013
This review is from: Soul Destruction: Unforgivable (a story of drug addiction and prostitution) (Kindle Edition)
Even within the predictable misery memoir genre this book stands out as particularly wooden and thinly written. Relying heavily on two dimensional characters and boilerplate settings, no one has any redeeming features or insight. There is something of the neo-puritanical allegory about this book, with the writing about as fresh and insightful as a Victorian morality play. Relentlessly hitting all the salacious stereotypes, this is sexploitation at it cringe worthy worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Destruction: Unforgivable (a story of drug addiction and prostitution) (Kindle Edition)
If you are like me, pretty happy, pretty safe and getting along ok in this lovely country that is England, this book will change your views of what else goes on here. This hard hitting story takes you into a world of pain, drugs and heartbreak, where lives are damaged to provide `entertainment` for those who can pay.

This is the story of a call girl called Shelly Hansard, whose grip on reality is failing thanks to her ever increasing dependence on hard drugs. She lives two lives, one as a well paid call girl in London and one as a daughter to an acrophobic mother who thinks she has a successful career working for an estate agent.

This is Ruth Jacobs first published novel and she has managed to take all the dark areas of our society and add them to a fictional character to make this stunning piece of work. There is no doubt that reading this will take you to places that you may not have wanted to go, but the way Ruth ties together the plot lines, you can't help but want to read on. Ruth's use of descriptive realism is intense, but essential to understanding the lives of Shelly Hansard and those around her. For those of us who know London, there is also the added gem in the way Ruth takes us on journeys across the whole city.

Overall, i do recommend this book to open minded folk and although this is a work of fiction, this dark world exists and should not be ignored. Buy this book, enjoy the story and learn something too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heartbreaking, 11 Aug. 2013
Shelley worked for Maranne as a call girl. One fatal evening shelley was in The Lanesborough Regeny- styled suite hotel room giving a man pleasure. They both were high on drugs. As she was giving her man his pleasure his body felt lifeless, not moving. Shelley prodded his chest thinking he was mucking around. Shelley shouted through into his ears. She then put her hand under his nostrils. He was not breathing he had died on her while she was giving him pleasure that he required. I felt sorry for shelley to have to deal with this. I felt sorry for Shelley and her friends who were hooked on drugs. I got this book free from newbooks mag to read, but I was not happpy as my book as it came with out a cover just a printed copy on a seperate sheet of paper of what the cover looked liked with the story outline. I am not reviewing any more books for newbooks mag. But I do highly recommend Soul Destruction Unforgivable. You can buy this book on amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unputdownable after Chapter One!, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Soul Destruction: Unforgivable (a story of drug addiction and prostitution) (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the most graphic novels I have read in a long time but it is unforgettable.
In chapter one,Shelley Hansard,a high class prostitute has her client die on her in a top London hotel.The dark humour is matched by the brutality of her existence and Shelley's total dependence on hard drugs sends her into a spiral of despair as she tries to forget the life she leads. Her journey is harrowing and quite shocking but Ruth Jacobs,I think, knew it had to be written 'for real' or not at all. The plot has unrelenting pace and the characters in Shelley's fragile life are finely drawn. In an excellently crafted story,Shelley and her friends set out to track down a past client who raped them all on first encounter. High(and low) on crack and heroin she goes to any lengths to find him and exact a terrible revenge.The author's knowledge of the streets of London only add to the descriptive quality of the writing.
As Shelley's drug intake increases and her mind begins to unravel,the reader is taken to some dark places. It is an uncompromising and intense read but one which undoubtedly mirrors life right on the very edge for so many women in cities around the world.
Although it may be uncomfortable reading for some, it is written in a compassionate way and the harsh truths surrounding the profession demand a wider understanding.
The ending is extremely dramatic and leaves room for a follow up from this highly accomplished writer. I will be reading that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews