Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, addresses some old problems
This new skeleton frame addresses the loudest critiques the Sony HDR-AS15 received: its utter unmountability on its own, and the inaccessibility of the (actually pretty good) external microphone input if the camera is mounted with any of the previously available accessories.

This frame lets the camera stand on its own, and leaves the inputs accessible. You can...
Published 15 months ago by Skaven252

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fragile case for connector access
Given this is for tripod mounting and intended to allow access to connectors such as for the external mic and USB power I would have expected something much more sturdy. This is thin plastic and the inserts to mount it wobble around slightly. Unfortunately it's the only option to tripod mount and still get access to the connectors.
Published 4 months ago by T. Kerby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful, addresses some old problems, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Camera (Accessory)
This new skeleton frame addresses the loudest critiques the Sony HDR-AS15 received: its utter unmountability on its own, and the inaccessibility of the (actually pretty good) external microphone input if the camera is mounted with any of the previously available accessories.

This frame lets the camera stand on its own, and leaves the inputs accessible. You can insert the camera in the frame either way, and also upside down if so desired. Mounting can be done with the L-frame which makes the camera stand off-center (making it assymmetrical, but granting access to the ports), or from the side with the side bracket. All these are inter-changeable and can be clipped on in either side, and in both orientations. Also, what many don't immediately realize is that both the pad and the L-bracket can also be clipped to the bottom of the frame, allowing centered or 90 degree mounting. Versatile!

It's all plastic, so it's a bit wobbly and not very tough, but it's firm enough once the camera is inside and the lock is secured.

Definitely not meant for high impact and dirty off road action use. For that you should use the waterproof housing instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable accessory for my AS100, 11 Aug 2014
This review is from: Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Camera (Accessory)
Quite a bit of money for a piece of moulded plastic.
I mean, there's nothing special about this at all. Production cost is probably a pound or two, yet Sony charges us £25 for some reason.
That doesn't mean it's a bad product. Not at all.
I use this with my Sony AS100 to get it mounted on the side of my motorcycle helmet (instead of the top mount recommended by Sony) as I think it's a better place to mount it considering the profile of the camera (more like the Contour HD). But keep in mind that this will only fit the camera without the waterproof case, so the AS15 and AS30 would become vulnerable to the elements.
It's very versatile, you can insert the camera in any direction. The supplied standard and L-shaped plates that will attach to any standard tripod mount or the Sony VCT-AM1 can be inserted in any side or at the bottom, depending on your needs.
It is thin and flimsy by itself, but once the camera is inserted it feels much more sturdy. I added a little rubber padding to grip the camera tighter and prevent any movement at all, though it feels ok without it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Should have been supplied with camera, 3 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Camera (Accessory)
Flimsy for price, ideal for fitting camera to tripod without waterproof housing & if mounted with side bracket can be used with external mount
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Does it's job well, 18 Oct 2014
By 
G. Ward (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Camera (Accessory)
This mount is that essential piece of kit that best gets around the greatest (recurring) design flaw of the Sony action cameras, you can't mount the camera by itself if you don't need or want to use the waterproof case.

For that reason I believe it's something of an after thought by Sony to the realisation that they made a mistake on with the camera design and as such should be supplied in the box with the camera but it obviously isn't.

The mount isn't a substantial piece of kit, it's light and fairly unobtrusive once clasped around the camera, doesn't add significant bulk and will no doubt provide a little more protection to the camera it wraps around in a skeleton fashion. There are three large gaps or holes in the case once fitted, one at each side and one on the bottom. A second piece containing a standard tripod screw hole can then be clipped into either of the three gaps, one of which will obviously end up covering the LCD display... and buttons if your camera has them. The skeleton case isn't directional, it can be placed around the camera either way around. The piece containing the tripod screw hole will stay clipped into the side hole until you purposefully release it but it will separate from the skeleton case as soon as you unclasp it from around the camera (using the big yellow sliding lock on top). A third right angled piece is supplied which also contains a standard tripod screw hole for added versatility and mounting position options.

So overall this simple skeleton case does it's job very well, I consider it almost essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed!, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Camera (Accessory)
Just what I needed! - Great addition to my Sony Actioncam kit! - very good ...
Great speed y service too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fragile case for connector access, 31 May 2014
By 
T. Kerby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Camera (Accessory)
Given this is for tripod mounting and intended to allow access to connectors such as for the external mic and USB power I would have expected something much more sturdy. This is thin plastic and the inserts to mount it wobble around slightly. Unfortunately it's the only option to tripod mount and still get access to the connectors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must Have One Of the best investment for your Sony Action Cam, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Camera (Accessory)
Hi ...I guess you been wondering again and again thinking if its worth getting ...then I say the answer is yes yes n yes you need this...I actually don't use the original case... the reason being this allow more flexible mounting solution and the sound quality is improve no longer muffled....the best and most useful feature of this case is that I can put the camera on charge via USB and run a long time-lapse like I had done for 10 days non-stop the camera does not heat up for this long time use....

also I can connect it to HDMI and attach external microphone.. like a lapel ..the WiFi signal is improved and not reduced...the case feel solid once the camera is place and locked up if you have any more question google r42pro and facebook message me and I will try and help you out... you will see my work with the is action cam mount on the page ....from shooting in night clubs and other events
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent mount, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Camera (Accessory)
An amazingly versatile mount, ideal for car interior mounting.
It's also possible to mount the device in such a way that the power and Mic ports are accessible, perfect if you want to record for an extended period of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Camera (Accessory)
If you have sony action cam ,this very useful you do not need the waterproof case,all the time,and you can use it with any other mounts or tripods.Only the plastic material looks fragile so you have to be careful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Sony AKASF1 Action mount, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony AKASF1 Action Mount without Waterproof Case for Camera (Accessory)
This Action Mount is an essential gadget for mounting the action cam in different situation as long as its not in water. This sort of case does not block the stereo microphones and does not weigh much either. Its a must for using this type of camcorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews