Customer Reviews
824


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good MdS Memoir
I've been lucky enough to run the race the writer talks about, and I've read a number of books on the race. This definitely, for me, is the best book. Ok, it's all from a personal perspective, but it gives a feel for what the race is about, and how accessible it is (if you do the training). This is definitely not a training guide, but a decent memoir of actual experiences...
Published 22 months ago by Richard

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Written by a runner for a runner
This is a book written by a runner for the running fraternity and no one else as it would become quickly boring to others out there. The author must be congratulated for his preparation, training and ultimate participation in the gruelling Marathon de Sables in the Sahara Desert. I could relate to certain elements of his book as having been a marathon and ultra marathon...
Published 13 months ago by Mr George R Reynolds


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good MdS Memoir, 16 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 824 (Kindle Edition)
I've been lucky enough to run the race the writer talks about, and I've read a number of books on the race. This definitely, for me, is the best book. Ok, it's all from a personal perspective, but it gives a feel for what the race is about, and how accessible it is (if you do the training). This is definitely not a training guide, but a decent memoir of actual experiences in the build up to, and the actual extremes of the race. If you are planning to get into ultra running or do the MdS, the writing is accessible, and gives some real life views about the race. A nice addition to the MdS experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book! funny and realistic..., 2 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 824 (Kindle Edition)
I wanted to know a bit more of Mds and this book was perfect. It is also motivational for those of us who would love to perform well in marathons and ultras but we know we are not supergifted or we are not fit at least not yet.... Highly recommended. Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good inspirational read, 7 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 824 (Kindle Edition)
Well written and down to earth account. Really enjoyed it and has got my mind racing. Currently at the end of fist year of triathlons having completed four sprint distances and a half ironman event. Currently done 4 half marathons with a PB of 1:53. Upping the ante and doing a full ironman in 2015 and looking for the next challenge in 2016..., could be ultra having read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 12 April 2014
This review is from: 824 (Kindle Edition)
For anyone interested in running this is a great story. I really could not put it down. Got me thinking about running an ultra!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it, read it, enjoy it!, 25 July 2014
By 
Leo Ponton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 824 (Kindle Edition)
Well written (okay a few typos, but I can live with that) and interesting. Maybe not as epic as 'Born to Run' but still a real page turner on a par with 'Running with the Kenyans'.

I thoroughly enjoyed it and recommend it. The negative reviewers are just whingers - one of them didn't even have the wit to realise the significance of the title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 824 (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic little book that will prove to anyone that they too can do these seemingly unachievable things if they build up to it slowly. Brilliant, thank you Phil!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 824 (Kindle Edition)
A succinct, honest and engaging book about one mans development as a runner and his journey through the MdS. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read with plenty detail, 12 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 824 (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable book which reads like a journal. Mds part is a little repetitive but so are ultras I spos. Recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Running Amorroco, 10 July 2014
By 
William J. Fox "KillerBill" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 824 (Kindle Edition)
I used to run quite seriously until my knees decided I had to stop. Phil has presented and interesting and occasionally gripping account of his running career up to doing a desert run. I was never as serious myself but it is an interesting and absorbing read. Probably not for everyone if you are not a runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motivational!, 19 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 824 (Kindle Edition)
This was a fantastic read. It was inspiring and at times I could feel his pain! A MUST read for any runner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

824
824 by P J G Robbins
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews