Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars63
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2013
A nice compilation of Carol King songs, it is just amazing how many different songs and artists she has been associated with over the years, this CD has 74 tracks, good value for money. Would recommend to buy
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
Really enjoyed this, some great tracks, some I'd never heard before. True the sound quality can be hit and not such a hit but nevertheless a great selection. Not sure I agree with the other reviewers comments, since when did Major Labels become such saints. I'm more than happy to pay for this. Highly recommemded.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2013
Peanuts price for a seminal work. Carol King and Gerry Goffin's wrote the soundtrack to the live's of many over 60's and a good few younger. The were for many years the benchmark and torchbearers for teen angst and early rock songwriting. Carol had/has a second career as a performer. Astonishing value - chuck-out what you can't take.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2016
INTRODUCTION:

Carole King was born Carole Klein on February 9 1942 in Brooklyn, New York. Neil Sedaka wrote in his 1959 hit “Oh Carol” about her. She married lyricist Gerry Goffin in 1958, and they joined the pack of Brill Building song-writers, turning out its by the yeard for the pop stars of the day. Their catalogue of songs was a treasure trove of riches by anyone’s standards, and despite the presence of such talents co-workers as Neil Sedaka, Neil Diamond and Barry Mann and Cynthia Weil, they quickly established themselves as front-runners. They wrote four Number 1 hits: “Will You Love Me Tomorrow,””Go Away Little Girl,””Take Good Care Of My Baby,””The Loco-Motion.” They divorced in 1968. By common consent, Carole King’s best-selling “Tapestry” album, issued in 1971, ushered in the Seventies singer-songwriter era. This current set is a summary of the wonderful output by Carole King, including the artists who made the songs famous.

CONTENT:

This 3 CD set contains 74 original hits by the original artists, representing both sides of the continent. I have included the entire song listing (with chart position in US and/or UK and year, and my personal comments), which is as follows:

Disc 1:
01 It Might As Well Rain Until September – Carole King (US 22/1962; UK 3/1962)*her first charted hit
02 Up On The Roof – The Drifters (US 5/1962)
03 The Loco-Motion – Little Eva (US 1(1)/1962)*this song is very popular: two other versions later: Grand Funk Railroad (1/1974) and Kylie Minogue (3/1988)
04 Take Good Care of My Baby – Bobby Vee (US 1(3)/1961; UK 3/1961)
05 Chains – The Cookies (US 17/1962; UK 50/1963)
06 Go Away Little Girl – Steve Lawrence (US 1(2)/1962)
07 Halfway To Paradise – Billy Fury (UK 3/1961)*UK’s version of Tony Orlando’s hit
08 Heaven Is Being With You – Jackie DeShannon (uncharted, 1960)*rare gem
09 Show Me The Way – Ben E. King (uncharted, 1959)*rare gem
10 No One Ever Tells You – The Crystals (uncharted, 1962)
11 Every Breath I Take – Gene Pitney (US 42/1961)
12 Nobody’s Perfect – Carole King (b-side to It Might As Well Rain Until September, 1962)
13 Keep Your Love Locked (Deep In Your Heart) – Paul Petersen (US 58/1962)
14 Why’d You Wanna Make Me Cry – Connie Stevens (US 52/1962)
15 What A Sweet Thing That Was – The Shirelles (b-side to A Thing Of The Past)(US 54/1961)
16 Just Another Fool – Curtis Lee (US 110/1962)
17 Dreamin’ About You – Annette (US 106/1961)*with the Vonnair Sisters; bravely fighting multiple sclerosis since 1987, and died April 8, 2013; you will be missed; RIP.
18 How Many Tears – Bobby Vee (US 63/1961; UK 10/1961)
19 Follow That Girl – Vinnie Monte (uncharted, 1961)*rare gem
20 Happy Times (Are Here To Stay) – Tony Orlando (US 82/1961)
21 Help me (Find The Way Back To Your Heart) – Andy Williams (b-side to The Wonderful World Of The Young, 1962)
22 I Was Only Kidding – Ann-Margret (uncharted, 1962)*her name is a hyphenated word!
23 I’d Never Find Another You – Billy Fury (UK 5/1961)* UK’s version of Tony Orlando’s US hit
24 When My Little Girl Is Smiling – Craig Douglas (UK 9/1962)*UK’s version of Drifter’s US hit.
25 Under The Stars – Carole King (uncharted, 1959)*rare gem

Disc 2:
01 Will You Love Me Tomorrow – The Shirelles (US 1(2)/1960; UK 4/1961)
02 Point of No Return – Gene McDaniels (US 21/1962)
03 Crying In The Rain – The Everly Brothers (US 6/1962; UK 6/1962)
04 Walkin’ With My Angel – Bobby Vee (b-side to Run To Him)(US 53/1961)
05 I Didn’t Have Any Summer Romance – Carole King (b-side to School Bells Are Ringing, 1962)
06 Echoes – Teddy Randazzo (uncharted, 1960)
07 Where Do I Go? – Little Eva (b-side to Keep Your Hands Off My Baby, 1962)
08 Some Kind of Wonderful – The Drifters (US 32/1961)
09 Funny Face – Shelley Fabares (uncharted, 1962)
10 School Bells Are Ring – Carole King (US 123/1962)*rare gem
11 When My Little Girl Is Smiling – Jimmy Justice (US 127/1962)
12 He Knows I Love Him Too Much – The Paris Sisters (US 34/1962)
13 I Could Have Loved You So Well – Ray Peterson (US 57/1961)*his most famous song was of course Tell Laura I Love Her.
14 Love Eyes – Bertell Dache (uncharted, 1961)*ultra rare gem
15 I Couldn’t Say No – Connie Stevens (b-side to Mr. Songwriter, 1962)
16 Her Royal Majesty – James Darren (US 6/1962; UK 36/1962)
17 The Right Girl – Carole King (uncharted, 1958)*rare gem
18 Up On The Roof – Kenny Lynch (UK 10/1962)*UK’s version of the Drifter’s US hit)
19 Bobby, Bobby, Bobby – Jo Ann Campbell (b-side to her most famous hit, A Kookie Little Paradise, 1960)*rare gem
20 Sharing You – Bobby Vee (US 15/1962; UK 10/1962)
21 Good Buddies – The Crawford Brothers (uncharted, 1962)*rare gem
22 Goin’ Wild – Carole King (uncharted, 1958)*rare gem
23 Halfway To Paradise – Tony Orlando (US 39/1961)*Tony Orlando’s first charted hit
24 Go Away Little Girl – Mark Wynter (UK 6/1962)*UK’s version of Steve Lawrence’s US hit.
25 He Hit Me (And It Felt Like A Kiss) – The Crystals (uncharted, 1962)

Disc 3:
01 When My Little Girl Is Smiling – The Drifters (28/1962)*Charlie Thomas, lead singer
02 Stranger In My Arms – The Cookies (b-side to Chains, 1962)
03 Queen Of The Beach – Carole King (uncharted, 1959)*rare gem
04 I’d Never Find Another You – Tony Orlando (uncharted, 1962)*rare gem
05 Dear Buddy – Barbara Lyons (uncharted, 1960)*rare gem
06 I’ve Got Bonnie – Bobby Rydell (US 18/1962)
07 He Knows I Love Him Too Much – Arlene Smith (uncharted, 1961)
08 How Can I Meet Her? – The Everly Brothers (b-side to That’s Old Fashioned)(US 75/1962; UK 12/1962)
09 Baby Sittin’ – Carole King (uncharted, 1959)*rare gem
10 My Golden Chance – Bobby Vee (uncharted, 1962)
11 Keep Your Hands Off My Baby – Little Eva (US 12/1962)
12 Not Just Tomorrow But Always – Bertell Dache (uncharted, 1961)*ultra rare gem
13 Don’t Ever Change – The Crickets (UK 5/1962)
14 Short Mort – Carole King (uncharted, 1959)
15 Dear Mr. D.J. Play It Again – Tina Robin (US 95/1961)
16 The Light In Your Window – Kenny Karen (uncharted, 1961)*born in Montreal; played David Miller in the 1978 movie If Ever I See You Again.
17 In My Baby’s Eyes – Bobby Vee (b-side to Sharing You, 1962)
18 The Kid Brother – Mickey And Kitty (uncharted, 1959)*rare gem
19 The Slide – Freddie Scott (b-side to Hey, Girl, 1963)
20 Billy’s Ridin’ – Ernie Sheldon (uncharted, 1960)*rare gem
21 Am I The Guy? – Tony Orlando (b-side to Bless You, 1961)
22 The Dance Is Over – Eydie Gorme (uncharted, 1960)*rare gem
23 A Very Special Boy – Carole King (uncharted, 1960)*rare gem
24 I Can’t Say Goodbye – Bobby Vee (b-side to Please Don’t Ask About Barbara)(US 92/1962)

The sound is very well remastered with good details and stereo separation, and no hiss. Good job!

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Not Now Music is an upcoming reissue label from UK. There is a good mix of pop hits and obscure rare gems. Putting both the US and UK versions for some pop hits, like Go Away Little Girl, etc, is greatly appreciated. The audio is great. The entire set is very enjoyable. All the songs really brought me back to the innocent days of the 50s and early 60s. Gerry Goffin and Carole King were and remain peerless pop songwriters, and their cream of their early work is included here. This set is highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
An interesting collection as it features some of their less successful efforts alongside the early hits.
The title is a complete misnomer as it neglects to credit Carole's husband and lyricist Gerry Goffin, an unforgivable omission in my opinion.
An enjoyable enough collection despite the fact that some of those early efforts don't achieve anything like the quality of their masterworks. If you are looking for a selection of their very best songs I can recommend any of the compilations on Ace which at the time of writing was up to four volumes worth. They contain songs that were chosen by a connoisseur because of their quality, rather than because they were out of copyright and could be used without paying royalties.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2013
Seventy five tracks from the pen of Carol Kings early days.Some song are repeated by various artists,but a good buy.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2013
Good introduction to the early work of Carole King. I would have liked to have a few more sleeve notes with more info on the singers and the songs and would also question why it needed 3 different versions of the same song "When my little girl is smiling", 2 versions of the songs "Up on the roof", "Go away little girl", & "Halfway to paradise" yet no versions of some of her other great songs such as "Hey girl". A volume 2 perhaps may find its inclusion with other gems.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Carole King born 1942, singles 1958 to 1962. First major hit under own name It Might as Well RAin Until September CD1 track 1 and this got to number 22 on the Billboard chart; number 3 in the uk and number 12 in Canada.

CD1 runs for 59.28 and has 25 tracks from 1959 to 1962. Listen out for Take Good Care of My Baby sung by Bobby Vee CD1/4. Up on the Roof a top10 hit for The Drifters CD1/2; Little Eva, The Loco-Motion CD1/3; Go Away Little Girl from Steve Lawrence CD1/6 and many more easily recognisable songs.

CD2 covers 1958 to 1962 and has 25. Tracks and a running time of 59.52 and CD3 covers 1959 to 1963 and has 24 tracks and runs for 57.57. All in all there are 74 songs across the 3 CD and the liner notes are by Not Now Music regular Michael Heatley. The credits are original record release numbers, composers and year of recording. All very useful stuff to have.

CD1 includes songs from The Cookies; the R&B girl group recording in the 1950s and 1960s formerly backing vocalists for Ray Charles and their 1962 hit Chains CD1/5. Also, Paul Peterson and his Colpix 1962 release Keep Your Love Locked CD1/13that reached number 58 in the USA. Plus Vinnie Monte CD1/19 Follow that Girl originally released on Jubilee 5403 June 1961. A great first CD with some nostalgic sounds and great performances.

CD2 has Teddy Randazzo singing Echoes CD2/6; Kenny Lynch Up on the Roof a number 10 hit in the UK for him in 1962 CD2/18. the Crystals CD2/25 who were active 1960 to 1967 sing He Hit Me(It Felt Like a Kiss) with Barbara Alston on lead vocals. Loved all of these.

CD3 has Barbara Lyons singing Dear Buddy CD3/5. Tina Rubin sings Dear Mr D J on CD3/15 and Ernie Sheldon Billy's Ridin' on CD3/20. Great sounds from an era gone but definitely not forgotten.

Carole King can be heard throughout the set but it is the first song of the collection that is her most memorable performance. Her writing is heard performed on both sides of the Atlantic and it is interesting to hear Go Away Little Girl sung by American Steve Lawrence and the British pop star Mark Wynter. Like wise Half Way to Paradise gets the Tony Orlando American touch as well as Brit pop idol Billy Fury's take on the number which was a big hit for him.

Sound transfers are excellent and the collection is one of the best available covering this timespan. The set is attractively packaged with silver being the main colour theme. There are 5 photographic images of Carole King. I have enjoyed all the CDs and found something familiar on each as well as songs new to me and so I can recommend this to collectors. This is another excellent addition to the Not Now Music catalogue that offers many tracks for a most reasonable outlay whilst maintaining the sound quality.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Carole King alone and also with Gerry Goffin has written so many classic pop song in the Fifties through to the Seventies. Not all were successful as this triple cd set shows, as it does also include some less than great numbers, but it is still overall an excellent collection. Ms King wrote in a variety of styles, so for the layman over the years one could not hear a number and know that was a Carole King song. These are songs of the Fifties and Sixties, which is why I bought it. And I am so glad I did so. I am now starting to read her autobiography which is compelling. It would be, she wrote it.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
At the price I paid I cant grumble. This is a 3 cd set and covers mainly her pre Tapestry era but shows the sheer volume of songs she wrote that became hits for other artists. Not all of the songs are brilliant and given that some are almost 50 years old seem rather dated and old fashioned, but if you want an overall insight in to the songs of this genius this is then album for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)