Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD
A nice compilation of Carol King songs, it is just amazing how many different songs and artists she has been associated with over the years, this CD has 74 tracks, good value for money. Would recommend to buy
Published 17 months ago by mnp

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!
Great for a trip down memory lane - some tracks poorer quality but overall great value for money - her choices of other artists are quality choices
Published 8 months ago by corri


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice compilation of Carol King songs, it is just amazing how many different songs and artists she has been associated with over the years, this CD has 74 tracks, good value for money. Would recommend to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carole King CD, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good introduction to the early work of Carole King. I would have liked to have a few more sleeve notes with more info on the singers and the songs and would also question why it needed 3 different versions of the same song "When my little girl is smiling", 2 versions of the songs "Up on the roof", "Go away little girl", & "Halfway to paradise" yet no versions of some of her other great songs such as "Hey girl". A volume 2 perhaps may find its inclusion with other gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 74 compositions plus Carole King singles...great composer and a big hit number for her too, 1 Mar 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Carole King born 1942, singles 1958 to 1962. First major hit under own name It Might as Well RAin Until September CD1 track 1 and this got to number 22 on the Billboard chart; number 3 in the uk and number 12 in Canada.

CD1 runs for 59.28 and has 25 tracks from 1959 to 1962. Listen out for Take Good Care of My Baby sung by Bobby Vee CD1/4. Up on the Roof a top10 hit for The Drifters CD1/2; Little Eva, The Loco-Motion CD1/3; Go Away Little Girl from Steve Lawrence CD1/6 and many more easily recognisable songs.

CD2 covers 1958 to 1962 and has 25. Tracks and a running time of 59.52 and CD3 covers 1959 to 1963 and has 24 tracks and runs for 57.57. All in all there are 74 songs across the 3 CD and the liner notes are by Not Now Music regular Michael Heatley. The credits are original record release numbers, composers and year of recording. All very useful stuff to have.

CD1 includes songs from The Cookies; the R&B girl group recording in the 1950s and 1960s formerly backing vocalists for Ray Charles and their 1962 hit Chains CD1/5. Also, Paul Peterson and his Colpix 1962 release Keep Your Love Locked CD1/13that reached number 58 in the USA. Plus Vinnie Monte CD1/19 Follow that Girl originally released on Jubilee 5403 June 1961. A great first CD with some nostalgic sounds and great performances.

CD2 has Teddy Randazzo singing Echoes CD2/6; Kenny Lynch Up on the Roof a number 10 hit in the UK for him in 1962 CD2/18. the Crystals CD2/25 who were active 1960 to 1967 sing He Hit Me(It Felt Like a Kiss) with Barbara Alston on lead vocals. Loved all of these.

CD3 has Barbara Lyons singing Dear Buddy CD3/5. Tina Rubin sings Dear Mr D J on CD3/15 and Ernie Sheldon Billy's Ridin' on CD3/20. Great sounds from an era gone but definitely not forgotten.

Carole King can be heard throughout the set but it is the first song of the collection that is her most memorable performance. Her writing is heard performed on both sides of the Atlantic and it is interesting to hear Go Away Little Girl sung by American Steve Lawrence and the British pop star Mark Wynter. Like wise Half Way to Paradise gets the Tony Orlando American touch as well as Brit pop idol Billy Fury's take on the number which was a big hit for him.

Sound transfers are excellent and the collection is one of the best available covering this timespan. The set is attractively packaged with silver being the main colour theme. There are 5 photographic images of Carole King. I have enjoyed all the CDs and found something familiar on each as well as songs new to me and so I can recommend this to collectors. This is another excellent addition to the Not Now Music catalogue that offers many tracks for a most reasonable outlay whilst maintaining the sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Memory lane, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seventy five tracks from the pen of Carol Kings early days.Some song are repeated by various artists,but a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good purchase, exactly what I paid for..., 27 Feb 2013
By 
Walter James (Aby, Lincolnshire) - See all my reviews
Really enjoyed this, some great tracks, some I'd never heard before. True the sound quality can be hit and not such a hit but nevertheless a great selection. Not sure I agree with the other reviewers comments, since when did Major Labels become such saints. I'm more than happy to pay for this. Highly recommemded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peanuts price., 14 Jun 2013
By 
Alan Hindley (daventry, northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Songs of Carole King (MP3 Download)
Peanuts price for a seminal work. Carol King and Gerry Goffin's wrote the soundtrack to the live's of many over 60's and a good few younger. The were for many years the benchmark and torchbearers for teen angst and early rock songwriting. Carol had/has a second career as a performer. Astonishing value - chuck-out what you can't take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Carole King:Queen of singer songwriters, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Carole King alone and also with Gerry Goffin has written so many classic pop song in the Fifties through to the Seventies. Not all were successful as this triple cd set shows, as it does also include some less than great numbers, but it is still overall an excellent collection. Ms King wrote in a variety of styles, so for the layman over the years one could not hear a number and know that was a Carole King song. These are songs of the Fifties and Sixties, which is why I bought it. And I am so glad I did so. I am now starting to read her autobiography which is compelling. It would be, she wrote it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection For The Fans, 22 Feb 2013
I have been a fan of Carole King's music for many years. I personally think Not Now Music should be applauded for putting together such a great collection of her early compositions. Yes, the sound quality does vary a bit on some of the really rare tracks, but it is mostly excellent throughout. Many of the songs here are not available on CD anywhere else at the moment, so it is nice to see them reissued. It is wonderful that the European Public Domain law has allowed a British company to make these recordings available to the public, when the majors are just sitting on their backsides doing nothing with the material. Some of the other reviewers seem to forget that this is a 100% legitimate European release, and that Carole King will receive songwriters' royalties on all these recordings, which she would not have done had they remained unavailable on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Collection Of Carole King Songs, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Carole King Fan loved the CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection, 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a fantastic compilation is this !!. Almost all are great songs, but in particular the hidden gem is Kenny Karen’s “The Light in Your Window”, in CD for the first time so far... Highly recommemded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Songs of Carole King
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews