Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good game.
It isn't quite as hard as some other Megami Tensei games, but still puts up a lot of challenge even to experienced players and isn't afraid to punish you very heavily for your mistakes. I also found that the difficulty curve seemed more natural than some of the other MegaTen games that I have played, there wasn't any point that really represented a gigantic spike in...
Published 11 months ago by gngf123

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Expected a peoper remake
I was somewhat expecting this to be a proper remake, but it was more of a rerelease with added features, so it feels REALLY dated.
Published 4 months ago by Damian


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good game., 26 Nov 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
It isn't quite as hard as some other Megami Tensei games, but still puts up a lot of challenge even to experienced players and isn't afraid to punish you very heavily for your mistakes. I also found that the difficulty curve seemed more natural than some of the other MegaTen games that I have played, there wasn't any point that really represented a gigantic spike in difficulty.

While it has aged in the 16 years since the original Sega Saturn release, mechanically it is still extremely good. Demon negotiation and demon fusion is excellent just as it always is. The loyalty system is neat, but can cause frustration if you don't have it entirely under control.

The cyberpunk setting is interesting, and the cast likeable. Highly recommended to people who like SMT and other dungeon crawlers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard as ice!, 26 Oct 2013
By 
Msfalcke (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I know this would be hard because it is a atlus game but it very unforgiving.
if you like a dungeons crawlers and you like to be challenged its for you.
and pleases to not think you can just fly though this I died at the beginning and I consider my self as a strategists so be on your toes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good dungeon crawler, 20 Sep 2013
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers is a part of the Shin Megami Tensei series, and it has never been released outside Japan until now. The original game came out in the late 90s and it shows in some of the aspects of the game, like graphics and the difficulty level.

The story takes place in future and tells the story of a group of hackers obtaining the ability to summon demons and trying to uncover the truth behind a mystic society. While the story is interesting, most of SMT fun comes from battling and collecting demons. During the battle you will have an option to talk with a demon and, if your answers are satisfactory, the demon may join your ranks or give you an item. The battle is turn-based and the trick is to use the attacks the enemy is weak to. The rate of random encounters is very high and your party may get obliterated after 2-hours spent in a dungeon, so I would recommend using the 'Save anywhere' hack rather than relying on saving only in designated places, which can be difficult to locate when you are in a new dungeon.

If you are familiar with the series and/or like dungeon-crawlers, Soul Hackers is a fun game to play but if this is your first experience with the genre, I would recommend waiting for Shin Megami Tensei IV to come out in Europe because it is much more forgiving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally 16 years later we get to play this classic in JRPG english, 13 Oct 2013
By 
A. Vasilciu - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Firstly this game originally came out for the Sega Saturn in 1997 & never got released or translated for us over here.
This is a classic JRPG dungeon crawler. If you have played any SMT games you will know what to expect. Plays in a similar way to Shin Megami Tensei Strange Journey for the DS. Except auto mapping can be switched on. This is old style JRPG dungeon crawler with stats galore. Good story best bit is also has voice overs in english for most of the dialogue.
For 3ds version for this port some new demons all translated & the voice over in english. Also has a street pass function as well to swap coins to buy demons. This is the daddy of SMT games so this alone is worth it. That & the hours you can sink into the game as well.

with number 4 getting re released as well the 3ds is finally getting some good games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Expected a peoper remake, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I was somewhat expecting this to be a proper remake, but it was more of a rerelease with added features, so it feels REALLY dated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but dated and flawed, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I enjoy RPGs that have good mechanics and an engaging storyline.
This is quite an unforgiving game. Enemies can insta-kill you pretty much without warning so you must save and save often. You can save anywhere but only once you have picked up a certain item (it happens fairly early on but you have to do a few dungeons without it). The talking to demons mechanic is quite fun and original. You can get through large chunks of dungeon without fighting at all if you need to. And whilst sometimes the difficulty feels a bit unfair, I found I beat most bosses after 2 or 3 goes, so it was challenging, but the right strategies pay off and if I had more patience I probably could have found the right combinations of stuff for every dungeon.
The graphics are pretty poor, no bones about it. I think this would have looked pretty dated in its original incarnation on the Saturn, more like a port of a not very pretty 16 bit game with the occasional uninspiring FMV thrown in. Now it's just unforgivable. The enemies are sprites with no animation. Are graphics important in an RPG? Not necessarily but they sure do help.
Voice acting is actually very good. Music is fine but nothing special.
The story is quite good but it does have the odd incoherent element like I find JRPGs sometimes do. A principle character is clearly possessed by a demon throughout but none of her close friends notice, one of the bad guys has a quiff and electric guitar for no readily apparent reason, etc. It does have a curiously 1990s view of what the Internet would be like in the future which is quite cool.
By the end it was getting to be a bit of a repetitive slog through the dungeons. I played all the way through to see how the story worked out (spoiler alert: good guys win).

It's OK but remember it's very old and very Japanese and both this things show. And there are many older RPGs than this with better graphics, sound, mechanics and story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Jose Pontes (Mem Martins, Lisboa Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
A classic game with a great plot and complex battle system.
You can easily tell it is a classic by the looks of it (speaking of Graphical presentation), but it fits very well in the 3DS, the 3D is also good for a remake.
Recommended for fans of SMT and JRPG fans that want a good JRPG with a different style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Great game. Recommended for any one that likes the traditional turn based RPGs but with added features. Gives a nice twist to usual gameplay but make sure to save regularly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks., 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
The delivery was fast, item in good condition and playable. Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good chance to play a game that I missed when it first came out, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Like most JRPGs, it can get a little frustrating, but overall, I'm enjoying being able to play it. Good fun if you like the SMT games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS)
Devil Summoner: Soul Hackers (Nintendo 3DS) by NIS America (Nintendo 3DS)
£26.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews