Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars52
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2013
Too much wafflin'. The Savages hark back to a different age, for sure, but they do not sound like Wire. Not sparse enough.They, the band, do not sound like The Banshees, although the singer does pass resemblance to Siouxsie, vocally. They do however, come pretty close to the sound of The Sound. Or Joy Division. That's good enough for me, alone, but they infuse it with their own identity.
One thing, though. Do not listen to this on your standard IPad speaker or low quality 'phones. Stick it on a decent system and feel the power. Recommended.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
I bought this blind, and while the sound and attitude can be traced back to the late 70s through most of the artists mentioned on the previous reviews, "Silence Yourself" is one of the more thrilling releases of the year so far. Jehnny Beth has a fantastic voice and while Siousxie Sioux is an obvious comparison, I sense the DNA of Patti Smith and Polly Harvey. Somewhat perversely my favourite track is the atypical closing number Marshal Dear featuring a beguiling clarinet (not saxophone as mentioned elsewhere) that sounds like Louis Sclavis has wandered into the wrong studio and hints to the ability to produce a second album which avoids the pitfalls of mere repetition through dilution. And finally, the limited edition clear vinyl with download is a gorgeous product on a visual and tactile basis alone. Enjoy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
To be honest The Au Pairs, The Raincoats, The Slits and The Gang of Four did this sort of stuff years before this. Lots of shouty non tunes masquerading as heirs to the Kings new clothes. I lay the blame solely on rags like the NME for giving stuff like this [ and others...too many ] drooling praise week in week out { they have to sell papers after all ]. I wish the Savages well, but this is just the petulant squeaks of infants unable to find a language.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2013
Yes, this has been hyped. Does it always measure up? Perhaps not buy it's one of the better albums released this far this year. They wear their influences (siouxsie, wire, joy division) on their sleeves and they are a great blend of the specific 80's brand of depression and power of Siouxsie and Joy Division but with the noise and aggression of Fugazi and the spirit of punk rock on there. Definitely worth buying.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 August 2014
I like Siouxie and the Banshees, but this is far too like them, more like a really good tribute band who are bored with playing the known standards. I won't get rid - but neither will I get beyond their derivative sound.

The girls can play. Do they have any ideas?
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2016
Thanks Great Vinyl
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
If you've got anything by PJ Harvey you don't need this. If you haven't, get Polly Jean instead. There is nothing new here, but they get the PR build up and hype. They're still at it...on Front Row on BBC yesterday plugging their new album. They even sound bored and clueless when interviewed, though the lead singer and writer being French doesn't help. Stuff like this doesn't do any favours to women trying to be taken seriously in music. There is no substitute for real talent and this lot have very little.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
Superb!*****
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
I was young in 1979 - this made me remember how great that early post punk stuff was but is also dead good in its own right. No one else has said it but i can hear some early Bauhaus in there too, which makes it even better IMO!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2015
Awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)