Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
43
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 October 2001
This is pure saucy seaside fun. The foreign accents are spoken in true British 70's style i.e. terrible. The story lines are totally unbelievable, but fun. Gabriel Drake's accent is probably one of the worst. But she looks absolutely adorable as always. There is a lot of full frontal nudity, but it's not done sleazily. It's just a fun sexy film not to be taken seriously but enjoyed for what it is.
0Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Only two words were needed to make me buy this, Gabrielle Drake.
She was Lt. Gay Ellis in UFO, and the sister of late folk singer Nick Drake.
Imagine a "Carry On" film but with a little more sauce, well that's what this is like.
11 comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2002
A very silly and predictable fim, along the line of the Confession series but still good fun. I mainly bought this title for the appearance of Gabrielle Drake, I was not disappointed. She is here in all her Glory.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2007
A quartet of sexy ladies (from Sweden, Denmark, China and Germany) travel to London to work as au pairs and end up in various saucy situations involving a great deal of gratuitous clothes-shedding. That's all there is to it really.

On the plus side the ladies are very attractive and look good with or without their togs on - especially the beautiful and shapely Gabrielle Drake (who also starred in UFO and Crossroads). Just think though, they are probably all drawing their pension nowadays.

The film's director Val Guest made his name in the field of sci-fi and horror and his directing credits include 'The Quatermass Experiment', 'Quatermass 2', 'The Abominable Snowman' and 'The Day The Earth Caught Fire'. In the 1970s, as well as directing 'Au Pair Girls', he also directed 'Confessions Of A Window Cleaner' so his career definitely headed in a more lewd and crude direction.

If you are a fan of the 'Confessions' films or some of the bawdier 'Carry Ons' then you will probably enjoy this movie.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
This is just one of a number of sexy comedies that came out of Britain in the seventies with the relaxation of some of the BBFC's rules. Like the Confessions films, these carried on where the Carry-On films left off. In this film, four au pairs arrive in England and are soon shedding their clothes and inhibitions. It's all good bawdy fun. Most people buy this film for the lovely Gabrielle Drake - and I agree, but the other girls are beauties too. All in all, a feast for the red-blooded male.

There may be some good news for UK buyers. I have the Region A Blu-ray disc and I have found that it plays OK in my Region B Blu-ray player (Toshiba BDX1250KB) even though the blurb on the Blu-ray cover states Region A. I also have the Region 1 DVD and comparing the two, the Blu-ray is definitely the one to go for. The DVD picture is 4:3 ratio with matted sides but the Blu-ray is taken from an original print and matted slightly top and bottom giving a ratio of 1.66:1 and a better picture. The run time of the Blu-ray is 84mins 30secs approx and not the 90mins quoted on the cover. There are no extras on the Blu-ray but the DVD boasts restored footage, stills gallery and various artwork from video covers, cinema posters etc.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2008
Excellent print of a now cult classic film. Great music and filled with many familiar faces. The girls, including Gabrielle Drake are just as gorgeous with or without clothes. Richard O'Sullivan, Trevor Bannister and Geoffrey Bayldon all have fun with their roles. A must have for collectors of 70s films.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
I must admit I bought this DVD because I wanted to see Gabrielle Drake naked.
Of course there are several other girls in this film, but she is the pretty by a long way. OK so the story line is silly & is soft porn by todays standard.
But who cares, I for one do not
77 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
What can you say about a film like this? In absolute terms it is utter rubbish, and all the better for that! British through and through, camp saucy humour, copious female nudity, a sprinkling of 1970's British TV stars and a dogged refusal to take itself seriously. Great stuff, very 1970's and the likes (sadly) of which we will never see again in today's hopelessly politically correct world. I must mention the superb music score by Roger Webb (who also wrote TV's 'Hammer House of Horror' theme) - a jaunty and absolutely unforgettable title song which will be running through your mind for ages, but also some subtle and quite lovely cues throughout the film.

A great nostalgic and fun film it also evokes a certain sadness in me for a Britain that is long gone. I love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
this is what 70's skin flicks was all about.very saucey,ribald comedy with lots of naked women thrown for good measure.gabrielle drake was and still is a very ravishing lass and her acting is brilliant in this flick.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
A throw back to the 70s I remember watching this at the cinema when I was young and it stands the test of time and was as I remember it probably not a film for younger viewers but helped me relive my youth
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)