Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing cultural and culinary insights
This is an amazingly insightful series in terms of Mediterranean culture and food. Ottolenghi shows real enthusiasm for the places he visits, the ingredients and the food he prepares, as well as a respect for the people he meets during his travels. For detailed recipes, refer to his books, but if you want to be transported to some of the most exotic lands of the...
Published 11 months ago by The voice of reason

versus
4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Cooking DVD
The first DVD seemed and sounded promising. I found three interesting dishes according to the following approximate times (in minutes):

8.00 - Lamb
25.00 - Fish (minced balls - sardines/mackerel/...)
35.00 - Filo Pastry/Sweet

Good. But the second DVD was just full of touring, chat, chat and more chat whilst watching locals cook. I just gave...
Published 18 months ago by Delta Blues


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing cultural and culinary insights, 28 April 2014
This review is from: Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazingly insightful series in terms of Mediterranean culture and food. Ottolenghi shows real enthusiasm for the places he visits, the ingredients and the food he prepares, as well as a respect for the people he meets during his travels. For detailed recipes, refer to his books, but if you want to be transported to some of the most exotic lands of the Mediterranean without leaving your armchair, this DVD is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Journey of Discovery for the Best in Food, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD] (DVD)
Yotam Ottolenghi is just a pleasure to watch! He handles his ingredients with skill and passion and all his recipes are delicious. He shows the same warmth and respect to everyone he meets on his travels, whether he's learning from top chefs, food vendors or women in their own home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it,, 30 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD] (DVD)
I am an avid Ottolenghi fan, I love his books and have successfully followed a number of his recipes. Just like the books though, this series, is more than just about cooking or recipes. The people, the history, the places, the views all make them a lovely viewing experience,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great show beautifull food, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed the two TV series and was delighted to be able to buy them both together for a great price.

Really looking forward to the next DVD of his Mediterranean Island series. Nice man great fun programmes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent perspective to cuisine which I had never been exposed ..., 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent perspective to cuisine which I had never been exposed to. Having lived here in Europe for the past 30 years, this is the first time I have seen something so different. I simply love Mr. Ottolenghi's masterful preparation and artful presentation and introduction to land and food he loves. He crosses the religious divide, yet unites people together with his passion for good food. My wife has already purchased the book. I am glad I came across this DVD after my wife mentioned that her friends cook recipes from Mr. Ottolenghi. Looking forward to more of his travels and recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series., 13 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD] (DVD)
Yotam Ottolenghi is a brilliant cook. His recipes work, and they are packed with flavour.

This DVD sparkles. Yotam really imparts his knowledge and love for Mediterranean food. If you like Yotam then you will love this DVD.

This series was first shown on Channel 4 in 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ottolengh's Mediterranean Feast, 11 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD] (DVD)
What a joy to watch .... I have to say I have watched repeat after repeat but hey ! now I can watch when ever I want and it is so interesting and refreshing . It's like going on a guided tour in your armchair. Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkable set of programmes proferring some delicious recipes, 19 Oct. 2013
By 
Netherfield4348 (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD] (DVD)
I was enthralled with this set of programmes - such diverse uses of spices and ingredients - very tempting dishes all the way through each programme - a must buy DVD if you want to enjoy such sumptuous dishes to make yourself. Plus I bought his Ottolenghi 'The Cookbook' as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth getting, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent now want the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre Cooking DVD, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD] (DVD)
The first DVD seemed and sounded promising. I found three interesting dishes according to the following approximate times (in minutes):

8.00 - Lamb
25.00 - Fish (minced balls - sardines/mackerel/...)
35.00 - Filo Pastry/Sweet

Good. But the second DVD was just full of touring, chat, chat and more chat whilst watching locals cook. I just gave up on the second DVD. There is a big difference in watching a few seconds here and there in a restaurant and watching a chef (him) providing personal and required details in his cooking a dish - (eg. time, heat, measurements, etc). I found the second video quite boring. It was more predominated by boring chit-chat and never-ending social interaction rather than focusing on cooking individual dishes and it made me question this guy's culinary skills given that there was so little of his own input in the kitchen in both DVDs (particularly the second) given the duration of both DVDs. I understand he wants to bring an understanding of cultures into his cooking influences, but he needs to get the balance right in terms of time and focus on what the DVD should be about - (ie. watching him cook his favorite dishes) - and it should be more weighted towards his own specialist cooking rather than leaning upon watching others cook a bit of this and a bit of that.

Overall, a mediocre DVD needing far more focus on personal cooking throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ottolenghi's Mediterranean Feast/Jerusalem On A Plate [DVD]
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews