Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent showcase by one of the masters of hiphop who mostly works for others.
Excellent showcase by one of the masters of hiphop who mostly works for others. He should have more commercial success for himself, even though he can cry all the way to the bank because he is a frequent brain behind the work of others, and of course not the least, like JayZ, Kanye West, Beyoncé. He is one of the designers of the 'wall of sound' in a lot of hiphop...
Published 15 months ago by J. A. C. Linden

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars upsettingly bad sleaze :(
I can not tell you how much I hate giving this 1 star, but I feel any Dream fan needs to know this. This is very unlike any Dream album :(

There is nothing here but dirt. There is no signature super production, no fantastic hooks, and no sensitive considerate lyrics. All the production is very tribal/minimal and every song is sleaze. As the hook goes in the...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. Tom A. Clement


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent showcase by one of the masters of hiphop who mostly works for others., 11 Sep 2013
By 
J. A. C. Linden "Neil" (Amsterdam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IV Play (Audio CD)
Excellent showcase by one of the masters of hiphop who mostly works for others. He should have more commercial success for himself, even though he can cry all the way to the bank because he is a frequent brain behind the work of others, and of course not the least, like JayZ, Kanye West, Beyoncé. He is one of the designers of the 'wall of sound' in a lot of hiphop and R&B of today, In some pieces he also becomes wonderfully intimate and personal, like in his cooperation with masterguitarist Gary Clarke Jr., in which The-Dream proves he can also handle the blues and turn it into a creative signature song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not his usual work but good never the less !, 20 Jun 2013
By 
D. Richards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IV Play (Audio CD)
Now this is different from his pervious albums have an open mind on this one his new sound is really a warm welcome I enjoyed this album a lot the worst songs on this album are turnt and tron they should never made this album the highlights are new Orleans,Michael,equestrian,y'all,ivplay, I would recommend this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IVPLAY, 12 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IV Play (Audio CD)
High Art - 8/10
IV Play - 10/10
Equestrian - 10/10
Pussy - 9/10
Turnt - 4.5/10 where have you been 8.5/10
Too Early - 9/10
Michael - 9/10
Loving You/Crazy - 7.5/10
New Orleans - 10/10
Self-Conscious - 9.5/10
Holy Love - 9.5/10
Divine - 9/10
Y'all - 10/10
Tron - 1/10
Psycho 8/10

Overall very good well worth it won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IV PLAY, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IV Play (Audio CD)
The release of IV PLAY signals a departure from the LOVE TRILOGY, and the debut of a new sound. Ignoring the recurring themes of bedroom fun and grandeur, IV PLAY is indicative of a more mature and influential Terius.

EQUESTRIAN | One of my favourite songs of his. Recalling Ginuwine's PONY, the theme of riding horses as an allegory for 'bedroom adult activities' is uncanny. Again, smooth vocals and dramatic bass make this song fine-wine-refined. We're also treated to Terius' beat-boxing skills, which adds several layers of musicality.

WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN | After hearing DIRTY LAUNDRY, I knew this song would be soft-sounding since Kelly's voice is also soft-sounding. It definitely worked. The best feature on the album (sorry Beyoncé), this duet serves us with ethereal piano keys, a driven delicate bass, and near-perfect vocals from both artists. It's not my standout song, but it is definitely underrated, much like Love King's TURNT OUT or Love Hate's PURPLE KISSES. I look forward to any future duets these two have, because their chemistry is wonderful.

TOO EARLY | I admit, before listening to this, I had no clue who Gary Clark Jr was. It only took a couple of videos to realise that Terius made a great choice including his guitar riffs. Despite being auto-tuned to death, he utilises the vocoder wonderfully, and Terius' haunting vocals are a precursor to how far he has come in this industry (watch his A O L Sessions). The song gives me a visual image of Zorro and a modern 2013 Sam Cooke. Terius calls it his favourite song, and I'm not surprised. It's clearly different to anything he's ever done in the past and on this album, and maybe this is the direction he sees himself heading towards.

HOLY LOVE | Perhaps the darkest song, the accompanying heavy-drumming and melancholic instrumental allows Terius to air his grievances (He has sacrificed his love life for music, which is a part of his soul). It's more soft rock as opposed to R&B, which, once again is indicative of the new music he's making. Ending with piano keys, it's the most diverse song on the album in terms of genre, and I highly doubt we've heard the last of this sound (It begins with a transition from SELF-CONSCIOUS and ends with a transition into OUTRO). A gem, and if not for Y'ALL, it would've been the perfect ending to any album.

DIVINE | The opening alone lets us know we're about to witness greatness, the applause and motion picture instrumental. Breath-taking. Superbly crafted. Divine takes us on a journey to beautiful islands with spouses on yachts and private jets, enjoying the finer things in a bourgeois life. FANCY Part 2, his vocals are sensual, mysterious, and I cannot believe this is a deluxe edition bonus track. A special song.

Although this album is far from perfect, it's cohesive and highlights the growth and maturity of Terius Nash. We'll all have different thoughts with regards to it; no one has the same musical taste. But it's great to finally hear new material after 2 years - some of his best work and finest production is on this album, which can't be disputed. It would be accurate to say that IV PLAY is an amalgamation of all his previous albums merged into one, attributing to a somewhat dark album. The overall score reflects this.

8.2/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Dream's Dream, 26 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IV Play (Audio CD)
this is a gawd album by the dream what stops it being a 5* is the repetitiveness of the lyrics and themes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars upsettingly bad sleaze :(, 13 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Tom A. Clement "averagewhitetac" (Newmarket, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IV Play (Audio CD)
I can not tell you how much I hate giving this 1 star, but I feel any Dream fan needs to know this. This is very unlike any Dream album :(

There is nothing here but dirt. There is no signature super production, no fantastic hooks, and no sensitive considerate lyrics. All the production is very tribal/minimal and every song is sleaze. As the hook goes in the second song: 'I don't give a fcuk about the four play, I want it now. I'm talking straight sex. Stop fcuking around' - that basically sums up the whole album....no romance, no getting to know the girl or enjoying a relationship...just sex, sleaze, and sex.

There are no memorable choruses here. The best hook is 'Why, why-ah-hy dudda dud da dye, sound like Michael don't it' - and that's it! Some of the rhythm is lazy, the 'chorus' rhythm to 'High ART' and 'P*ssy' is near exactly the same and it's lazy to repeat a melody on the same album

There are no thoughtful intelligent lyrics here and the only 'Deam-like' hit is the one with Kelly Rowland......on Twitter recently Nash wrote - "if one album has 2 hits and sells 10 million, those 2 hits make him 200 thousand, so he's happy" - and you really feel that's been his approach to this album: put out an album of trash but with 2 hits - that will make him happy :(

His second album was his best production and most thoughtful R&B, then he slipped a bit with his third. Please don't consider this as his forth and instead go for his Nash 1977 mix tape. It's so much better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

IV Play
IV Play by The-Dream (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews