Customer Reviews


227 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (30)
1 star:
 (55)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really? Only two-stars on average? Have you no sense of fun?
If you hate daft action adventure flicks with idiosyncratic stars, speaking in dodgy foreign accents, riding obscure motorcycles which happen to be on fire, then you will not enjoy this film.
I loved it. It's a romping yomp with Nic Cage twitching and blazing on board a V-Max; Idries Elba speaking in a most peculiar accent and kind-of riding a Ural, and Christopher...
Published 19 months ago by Rowena Hoseason

versus
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More coherent and fun than the first
This will be a pretty divisive film. Unfortunately Hollywood seems unwilling to bite the bullet and give us the Ghost Rider film we deserve - one where he's genuinely dark and dangerous, where the foes are appallingly vicious and lethal, and where the peril feels real.
Instead (maybe it's Cage, maybe it's the producers wimping out) what we get is a slightly better...
Published 22 months ago by Benminx


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More coherent and fun than the first, 3 Sep 2012
This will be a pretty divisive film. Unfortunately Hollywood seems unwilling to bite the bullet and give us the Ghost Rider film we deserve - one where he's genuinely dark and dangerous, where the foes are appallingly vicious and lethal, and where the peril feels real.
Instead (maybe it's Cage, maybe it's the producers wimping out) what we get is a slightly better movie than the first. A little darker and dirtier, this time we get a grungier Ghost Rider - covered in leather that's charred and flaking in the heat, and riding a bike that looks more dirty and beaten up, less 'Hollywood'. We also get Idris Elba's alcoholic warrior monk.
However we also get considerable predictability - a mum trying to save her kid (pretty ineptly), the devil trying to steal the kid for an evil prophecy, and some henchmen for the Rider to destroy. Cage is thankfully a tiny bit more reined-in this time, playing the soul torment angle better; and other improvements include the idea that his Rider will punish the seemingly innocent too ("Everybody's guilty of something") and the fact that this time his main opponents are tougher to kill - unlike in the first movie where he pretty much killed them the moment he got in range.
The effects are fun, the story is weak, the acting is patchy, the violence and threat could be better, and it's still not the film we all hoped.
Is it a disappointment? (Even to someone like me who's not a die-hard comic book fan)? Yes.
Is it still quite a lot of fun? Yes. Does it expand and improve on the original like a sequel should? Again, yes. Don't write it off. If you're looking for some decent entertainment, this Rider's still got a few miles left in the tank.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Absolute rubbish, 8 Sep 2012
By 
Mrs. M. J. Turner (England, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I loved the first film and had high hopes for this one. I was sadly disappointed with this. I found it boring, nothing like the first one. I won't recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Giving Up The Ghost, 7 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Positive.
The action is a little grittier than the original.

Negative.
Nicolas Cage is to old to play this part & takes hammy acting to a whole new level here.
The CGI Skull effects are rubbish & there's nowhere near as much Rider in this.
Edris Elba & Christopher Lambert are wasted in there supporting roles.

Trivia.
Look out for Buffy & Merlin actor Anthony Stewart Head at the beginning of this movie.
Strangely this this is more a re imaging than a sequel

Dvd Info.
Running Time 92 Minutes approx, Behind the scenes documentary.

Review.
Oh dear oh dear Crank Directors Mark Neveidine & Brian Tyler have got this movie so wrong from it's frenetic editing to a OTT performance from Nicolas Cage.

The wafer thin plot resolves around former motorbike Stuntman Johnny Blaze whom was tricked by the devil & sold his soul in return for his fathers life but was manipulated by the devil who took his fathers soul & bestowed a curse on Blaze transforming him into the Rider to claim rogue souls as a Bounty Hunter for the Devil.

But Blaze supressed his duty of being a pawn in the Devils bidding fleeing & hiding away to keep the Rider at bay.

When the devil needs the body of the chosen one a boy named Danny who's body is needed by the devil to take possession as his old body is slowly weakening.

Blaze is sent on a mission by Moreau to protect Danny & stop the Devils plans of ruling & reigning his vengeance on bringing Hell to earth.

But along the way Moreau helps finds a cure for Blaze's curse & on taking Moreau help the curse is finally lifted returning Johnny Blaze to being set free of the curses influence.

But when the Monks led by Methodius attempt to sacrifice Danny they are attacked by Carrigan who has been given the power of decay by the Devil as his right hand man slaughters the monk's decaying there body's & kidnapping Danny.

Johnny Blaze must choose to make the ultimate sacrifice let Danny be possessed or once again assume the curse of the Ghost Rider & attempt a rescue attempt to save Dannys soul & kill the Devil.

Lessons haven't been learned from the lacklustre original & this is worse as it's a lower budget movie than the original.

The acting is Hammy'R'Us as Nicolas Cage a former Oscar winner delivers such a OTT performance that it defys any credibility, How the mighty have fallen.

Actor's Idris Elba & former Highlander Christopher Lambert are very underused & Ciaran Hines casting as the Devil is awful lacking any fear or terror in a one note performance.

In fact nobody brings there "A" game to this movie which is a disappointment for fan's of this franchise as this film should have been so much better than it is.

The rights have now reverted back to Marvel so I'm hoping for a movie that's more of a faithful adaption in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really? Only two-stars on average? Have you no sense of fun?, 16 Dec 2012
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
If you hate daft action adventure flicks with idiosyncratic stars, speaking in dodgy foreign accents, riding obscure motorcycles which happen to be on fire, then you will not enjoy this film.
I loved it. It's a romping yomp with Nic Cage twitching and blazing on board a V-Max; Idries Elba speaking in a most peculiar accent and kind-of riding a Ural, and Christopher Lambert with a shaved head, tattoos and a big sword. Oh, and the devil, some trick riding stunts, lots of gunfire and flames, not too much reliance on cgi but some nifty sets and traditional FX, a dodgy script but a half-decent plot. And lots of fun.
Really, this film doesn't take itself too seriously, and it gave us an enjoyable couple of hours entertainment. The special features are unusually comprehensive and intelligent, too. I appreciate that enthisiasts of the original graphic compics will probably loathe and despise this interpretation. It's not art, but it kept me happy!
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fire up your sense of fun, and don't take it too seriously..., 18 April 2013
By 
Rowena Hoseason "Hooligween" (Kernow, Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
If you hate daft action adventure flicks with idiosyncratic stars, speaking in dodgy foreign accents, riding obscure motorcycles which happen to be on fire, then you will not enjoy this film.
I loved it. It's a romping yomp with Nic Cage twitching and blazing on board a V-Max; Idries Elba speaking in a most peculiar accent and kind-of riding a Ural, and Christopher Lambert with a shaved head, tattoos and a big sword. Oh, and the devil, some trick riding stunts, lots of gunfire and flames, not too much reliance on cgi but some nifty sets and traditional FX, a dodgy script but a half-decent plot. And lots of fun.

Really, this film doesn't take itself too seriously, and it gave us an enjoyable couple of hours entertainment. The special features are unusually comprehensive and intelligent, too. I appreciate that enthisiasts of the original graphic compics will probably loathe and despise this interpretation. It's not art, but it kept me happy!
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars How could it have gone so wrong???, 22 Oct 2012
By 
K. G. A. Alavi (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is so disappointing. I had high hopes for this film. I love Ghost Rider, and from what I saw on the preview this film was going to be a more action oriented version of the first film. The really sad part about this film is that it should have been great. They had a good story, they even had a good cast, but the actors really let themselves down, I don't know if they were working of other projects at the same time and though let's get this out of the way but NONE of them including Nick Cage brought their A game. This film is more a parody of the first film then a sequel. Even Ghost Rider himself look like a cheap imitation. I see matches with more flames on their heads. This film seems to have gotten the Highlander: the Source treatment, (no product link because I hate that film more than this one), of destroying a great franchise. The only thing I am happy about with this film is rented it from love films rather then buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Might taste good on a salad...., 14 Mar 2014
Johnny Blaze, a man who made a deal with the Devil who called himself Roarke at the time, is on the run trying to make sure no-one is harmed by his alter ego, The Ghost Rider.

He is approached by a Monk named Moreau who tells him that he can help be him free of the Rider, but first, he needs Johnny's help to protect a boy, whom Roarke has plans for.

I love the first GR movie, Cage was great, but it felt a little bit too safe for a movie about one of Marvels darkest heroes, who takes the souls of people who have done wrong.

So thank heavens for the directors of this movie, they have got Cage to be at his maniacal best. Something that only Herzog has gotten out of the man since 'Adaptation'.

The film may make no sense regarding continuity or hairstyles, but there is much nonsense to be enjoyed out of this, one of the most bizarre comic book movies ever.

The plot does seem a little like 'Terminator 2' and the bonding between Blaze and the boy reflects this a lot.

Set pieces are crazy, but entertaining, and despite this only being '12a' or 'pg-13', it's a very dark movie with a lot of connotations to the macabre.

Support is good, Especially from Hinds and Lambert. Elba is good, but he does spend the majority of he movie saying 'Bonjour' and drinking wine.

Visuals are stunning, and if you know the directors, strikingly original.

Bu this is Cages movie, and he hasn't been this good since he was in New Orleans.

Don't believe the negativity, it's a fun movie, pointless, but a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sequel film syndrome ~ Horrible!, 23 July 2012
First film was very good, so I was looking forward to watching this one.

Please don't waste your money ~ like me!

You have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "THERE IS NO SPIRIT", 10 July 2012
By 
Paul J. Jackson (UK , Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What is there to say about this film, well it makes the 1st look like THE DARK KNIGHT. The film has no feeling at all, poor story, poor acting, poor special fx, poor 3D. It was made on only half of the budget of the original which you can see, there is no PETER FONDA or EVA MENDES this time around "they were right to give this a miss". This is in total a big dissapointed & a failed attempt at what should of been a BLOCKBUSTER given the fact that NEVELDINE/TAYLOR the boys behind the CRANK films directed it.. "DONT BUY JUST RENT IT"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars poor story, 9 July 2012
after the first film i was expecting more, sorry i bought it, story seemed so disjointed, effects not as good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Rider: Spirit of Vengeance [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray]
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews