Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good image quality given the zoom range, but not the best for video
I ditched my Canon EOS DSLR a year or so ago and have been using Lumix G cameras ever since; the idea of DSLR performance and handling in a body two-thirds the size and weight is very compelling, and I've not been disappointed by any of the G-series bodies or lenses I have used.

This is a replacement for the original 14-140mm Lumix lens (equivalent to 28-280mm...
Published 18 months ago by S. P. Long

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So - So
Good from 100 and up to 140. Only 5.3 and 5.6 F in that area. But very easy and light weight.
Published 2 months ago by Dan Sall


Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good image quality given the zoom range, but not the best for video, 27 Jun 2013
By 
S. P. Long "Simon Long" (Cambridge) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic H-FS14140E-K 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH Compact and Stylish High Zoom Digital Interchangeable Lens (Accessory)
I ditched my Canon EOS DSLR a year or so ago and have been using Lumix G cameras ever since; the idea of DSLR performance and handling in a body two-thirds the size and weight is very compelling, and I've not been disappointed by any of the G-series bodies or lenses I have used.

This is a replacement for the original 14-140mm Lumix lens (equivalent to 28-280mm on a 35mm camera). The main difference is the size and weight - the new version is slightly smaller, but more importantly, it is half the weight of the old version. The old lens felt very large and heavy when paired with a lightweight Lumix body; the new one is a much better match and handling and balance is much improved as a result.

In addition to the physical changes, the lens is very slightly faster throughout the focal range; only by half a stop or so, but worth having. It also includes Panasonic's Power OIS stabilisation technology, which is supposed to be superior to the Mega OIS system fitted to the old lens.

So - lighter, smaller, faster - there must be a catch, right? There is, but it's not the one I had feared. The old version of this lens, while producing very acceptable images given the large zoom range, was never going to be as sharp as a fixed focal length lens, and this was indeed the case. It's pretty good on wide-angle, but pixel-peeping at a zoomed images reveals a bit of softness around the edges. I'd assumed the new lens would be worse in this regard, and while it is indeed slightly worse, it really isn't a significant difference. If you zoom in on an image to the point at which pixels are visible, you can see that the new lens is very slightly less sharp, but the difference is very small. If you were happy with the image quality of the old lens, you won't be disappointed with this one.

So what's the problem? It's that Power OIS system. While it is indeed efficient at reducing camera shake, it generates quite a lot of mechanical noise as it does so - it's a sort of mechanical grumbling from the lens. (For reference, I own 5 other Lumix lenses with IS, and this one is far noisier than any of the others.) For stills, this isn't an issue, but given the proximity of the microphones on the camera to the lens, it is potentially an issue when shooting video. Panasonic seem to have spotted this, and once you start capturing a video, the noise of the stabilisation drops dramatically, but it doesn't go completely silent, and you can make out the noise on video soundtracks when the background level is low. It's certainly not dreadful, but it's not perfect either.

If you shoot a lot of video, you may be better off with the older version of this lens; it's heavier, but the IS is a lot quieter. But if you mainly shoot stills, this lens is an excellent compromise between size, zoom range and quality, and it will be the lens that lives on the front of my G5 from now on. One star docked for the IS noise, but an excellent product otherwise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sharp as a pin, 17 Sep 2013
By 
C. J. Elliott (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic H-FS14140E-K 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH Compact and Stylish High Zoom Digital Interchangeable Lens (Accessory)
I've got an Olympus P-5 that I use to back up a Canon 1DX. I'm used to pin sharp images from lenses such as the Canon 70-200 2..8 IS II. This rivals it. The interesting bit is that on my other Panny lenses that I put on the Oly, I leave both the in camera/body stabilisation, and the lens stabilisation on. In this case you have to switch off one or the other as they fight against each other. Bloody expensive lens, but worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great sharpness for a zoom, 18 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic H-FS14140E-K 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH Compact and Stylish High Zoom Digital Interchangeable Lens (Accessory)
I was nervous about the sharpness coming from good primes (panny 25mm, oly 45mm, slr magic 12mm), but this lens is sharp, quick and reasonably bright. It's not meant for extensive indoor shooting like the panny 25mm, but the ois is great and the versatility with framing is awesome. Dof is ok, not great, but all in all this is a great lens throughout the focal range. Would recommend, and if I had to do it again, this would probably be my 1st m43 lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Lens, 9 Dec 2014
This review is from: Panasonic H-FS14140E-K 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH Compact and Stylish High Zoom Digital Interchangeable Lens (Accessory)
A superb lens. It's weight is great, the build is good and the zoom range excellent for the size (equivalent to 28-280mm on a 35mm SLR). Image quality amazed me given this is effectively a super zoom - and I am used to using professional Canon kit !! It's size on my GX7 is good. Not too big and it sits really well on the camera.

Focusing is ok in low light and better than I expected. It is bright enough and colour reproduction is good. It zooms smoothly and everything about this lens is just simply good !

I was looking at buying the 12-35 f2.8 and 35-100 f2.8 but got this first having read good reviews. I am not disappointed in any way ay all. The aperture gets smaller (as in f number increases) quite quickly when you zoom from 14 upwards. At 35 it is f4.5 which obviously can't compete with the constant aperture of the f2.8 lenses. The thing to remember is the relative cost of this lens versus the f2.8 counterparts.

This lens fills an interesting slot for an everyday carry around lens - it fits this role brilliantly. Low light issues it will have but most people will not be buying it for that.

I have had no image stabilisation issues - I have only read that in one place but have not personally found it an issue.

This a good quality product at a reasonable price for the size, weight and quality on offer. M43 kit is as far as I am concerned the way forward for me - I can have decent quality pictures with kit that does not take up huge amounts of space or weigh a ton ... unlike my Canon 5D III and L series heavy zooms (superb though this kit it).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great lens!, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic H-FS14140E-K 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH Compact and Stylish High Zoom Digital Interchangeable Lens (Accessory)
I've been really pleased with the results from this lens. It is also very compact and lightweight, and is the ideal travel-companion lens for the micro-four-thirds system. Of course, if you want a smaller zoom range, or larger aperture, other lenses are available, but this would be my one lens to take with me. The quality (with the built-in camera correction) is really good, at least matching up to other large-range zooms (e.g. Canon or Nikon for their APS-C cameras). I would not hesitate to recommend this lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for holidays - like 2 lenses in 1, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic H-FS14140E-K 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH Compact and Stylish High Zoom Digital Interchangeable Lens (Accessory)
Bought this to take on holiday to avoid switching between normal and telephoto lenses, and it did the job brilliantly. It made the camera a little heavy, but didn't affect the balance, and the pictures are great. Really happy with this lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight versatility, 7 Oct 2014
This review is from: Panasonic H-FS14140E-K 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH Compact and Stylish High Zoom Digital Interchangeable Lens (Accessory)
I bought this lens recently as a bit of an impulse buy and used it on my EM5 at a wedding with spectacular results. Pictures were sharp and colours beautiful. I just left the lens on the camera all day and it allowed me to catch everything from portraits to group photos and wideangles of the venue with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic H-FS14140E-K 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH Compact and Stylish High Zoom Digital Interchangeable Lens (Accessory)
Excellent versatile lens, fast focusing and produces sharp images on Panasonic G5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So - So, 3 Oct 2014
By 
Dan Sall (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic H-FS14140E-K 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH Compact and Stylish High Zoom Digital Interchangeable Lens (Accessory)
Good from 100 and up to 140. Only 5.3 and 5.6 F in that area. But very easy and light weight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a lens intended to be sold separately!?, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic H-FS14140E-K 14-140mm F3.5-5.6 ASPH Compact and Stylish High Zoom Digital Interchangeable Lens (Accessory)
I didn't realise that this was a lens that was essentially taken from a new camera and sold on. Only suspected this as I bought two lenses at the same time; one which came in a Lumix box, with paperwork and a storage bag and this which comes in a plain brown box with no paper work or storage bag. That said I have decided to keep it as this lens will likely be the one which will now stay on my GX7 camera as the default lens, so storage bag is less important. Just hope nothing is/goes wrong with it.

I've not had a chance to use the lens yet; it being the wettest January on record, since it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews