Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, reliable mouse with some small niggles.
Got this mouse for Christmas in order to donate my existing Logitech G700 (non-S) to my wife as I had found the G700 to be a thoroughly reliable and comfortable mouse.

The Pro's:
1. Extremely comfortable grip with excellent robust build quality, solid, non-creaky feel, good texturing on the sides
2. Good button layout, allowing fast and responsive...
Published 6 months ago by David

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quaility
I have had two of these mice and both have developed the same issue in less than one year.
The left click button after some normal wear doesnt function as it should, you will not be able to click and hold to drag things around without the mouse thinking you stopped click+holding and dropping what you were dragging, also when you single click it will behave like you...
Published 5 months ago by Mike Oatey


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, reliable mouse with some small niggles., 6 Mar 2014
This review is from: Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Got this mouse for Christmas in order to donate my existing Logitech G700 (non-S) to my wife as I had found the G700 to be a thoroughly reliable and comfortable mouse.

The Pro's:
1. Extremely comfortable grip with excellent robust build quality, solid, non-creaky feel, good texturing on the sides
2. Good button layout, allowing fast and responsive access to main buttons, wheel and auxiliary buttons.
3. Extremely responsive in use, does not suffer from wireless "lag".
4. Uses a standard AA rechargeable battery, comes supplied with a top-quality Sanyo Eneloop battery.
5. Can be used as a wired USB mouse if necessary in order to charge the battery.
6. fairly surface agnostic, have successfully used the mouse on a range of surfaces but my preference is actually a good quality black cloth Steelseries QCK mousemat.

The Con's:
1. Some form of wireless interference with existing G700 mouse means that my wife is unable to use the old G700 in wireless mode when I am using the G700s wirelessly - have been unable to resolve this issue with a variety of internet recommended solutions. It's not a deal breaker and to be fair most people will not have more than one of these in the same household.
2. This thing eats batteries for breakfast, lunch & dinner. I have to replace the battery 2 or even 3 times over the course of a day of heavy gaming... by day I do mean 12-18+ hours though.
3. Using the G700s in wired mode is not overly pleasant - the wire is quite rigid as mouse wires go and it can impact on your movement/tracking ability.
4. Setting up the additional buttons for custom functionality can be a serious pain - by default they are defined for mouse related functions such as on-the-fly DPI changing and checking the battery charge level... I am loathe to use them for other functions so you end up with not as many buttons as you think you are going to have if you want to retain the ability to alter some mouse settings quickly.

In summary:
I liked the G700 enough to buy the G700s even though I could have had any mouse I wanted, at any price. It is still one of the most comfortable and well made mice around, even considering its flaws I would be reluctant to use a different mouse - and I have experience with several other high-end mice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars poor quaility, 3 April 2014
This review is from: Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
I have had two of these mice and both have developed the same issue in less than one year.
The left click button after some normal wear doesnt function as it should, you will not be able to click and hold to drag things around without the mouse thinking you stopped click+holding and dropping what you were dragging, also when you single click it will behave like you double click.
Not what I expect from a mouse of this price, it is a known issue with many that have bought the G700 as you can see from this thread in the logitech support forum [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT REPLACEMENT FOR OLD MX REVOLUTION, 13 July 2014
By 
Claudio Di Veroli (Bray, Rep. Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
For 6 years I used the "legendary best mouse of all time" Logitech MX Revolution. (It is so good that, years after it ceased production, a few unopened boxes appear for sale at ridiculous prices of hundreds of Pounds/euro/Dollars: a caveat is that their aged batteries, main issue of this model, are unlikely to perform.). After some years the MX battery started failing. It is not easy to get a replacement battery and to dismantle the unit and change it. Even worse, problems develop whereby the replaced battery after a short while starts having troubles and hardly recharges at all. The solution is to bang the unit flat against a table: after a while this manoeuvre is needed daily and eventually the unit breaks down. It was high time to ditch the old MX.

After much searching, I found that this was the recommended replacement and bought it from Amazon. Shape, size and weight are very similar indeed. After 4 days of use, this is my review:

CONS (all minor):

1. WHEEL MODE: The fast "inertia-wheel" in the MX Revolution had an electronic device that, if the user decided to activate it, shifted automatically from "clicking" to "free", or else this was done manually by the wheel button. In the G700s the automatic device is no more: a dedicated button located immediately below the wheel does the trick. Admittedly, a minor issue.

2. WHEEL BUTTON AND DOUBLE-CLICK: The wheel button is as before very hard to press (and many users claim that this strong spring fails after a while). This is a pity, because a common use for it is for double-clicking. There was a solution in the MX Revolution: using for double-click the Search button, located below the wheel where now is the non-programmable wheel-shift button. (Double-clicking with the Profiles button is not practical if you need manual profile switching, and besides this button is much nearer to the palm of the hand and requires curving the middle finger a lot: this is OK when changing programs, but not for a frequent action such as double-clicking).

PROS:

3. DPI: The MX Revolution had a 800dpi (dots per inch) resolution. Mouse speed change was software-controlled. The G700s has a variable resolution from 200 to a remarkable 8200dpi. These change the pointer's speed. The way you change the dpi is very convenient: for every profile you can set between 1 and 5 different resolutions. You move between them using two dedicated up-down-shaped index buttons. This is very practical for photo editing where you may need occasionally a very slow pointer movement for precision work. (If for a particular use you do not wish to change resolutions, you can program the buttons for any other action)

4. BATTERY TYPE: The MX Revolution had a rechargeable battery which, after its lifespan was gone (5-6 years) was (a) difficult to replace requiring disassembly, (b) expensive and (c) difficult to find and no longer available after some years. The G700s uses a common AA rechargeable NiMH battery. If need be, you can have outside the mouse a recharged spare ready to use, and if the battery in the mouse goes it is very easy and inexpensive to replace it.

5. RECHARGER: The MX Revolution recharged the battery by placing the unit in a cradle (wired to a charger plugged to the mains). Thus, while recharging you could not use the unit: a serious hindrance. The G700s recharges its battery by means of a special USB cable (this requires a 2nd USB port, a 1st USB port being used, as with the MX, for the wireless receiver). To require a 2nd USB port (ideally not in a USB hub) is a minor issue, but it has the huge advantage that this USB recharging cable doubles as data cable: while the mouse recharges the battery, the wireless is automatically disconnected and the mouse becomes wired. In other words, if the battery runs low you just plug the cable and keep using the mouse: a great advantage over the MX Revolution.

6. COATING: The MX Revolution had an upper glossy coating and lateral rubber surfaces. They both became easily soiled and were difficult to clean. Now the upper glossy coating is dirt-repellent, and the sides have a texturised finish that allows a very firm grip. It really feels better.

7. WIRELESS RANGE: The MX Revolution exhibited a minimal "wireless lag", fractions of second between mouse action and effect on the PC, and the wireless range was a few meters. The G700s exhibits no wireless lag at all and the unit has a 10m range (thus with suitably large mouse arrows and back-forward buttons it can double as a remote control in slide projection).

NEUTRAL:

8. BATTERY ECONOMY: The MX Revolution's battery, when new, lasted a few days. We cannot expect this in the G700s if you use it for intensive gaming with high DPI: users (see other reviews here) have reported that if so the battery will hardly last a full day of use. However, most users only run action games a small proportion of their time at the PC, and they do not care if the mouse is slow to respond after minutes of not being use: if so they can set the unit to "Power Save" mode and it will easily last for 4 days. Anyway, with the new recharging-while-using system the battery duration is no longer a problem.

9. PROFILE ASSIGNMENT: The MX Revolution used the SetPoint software, where one could assign every button different actions according to which program is running in the active Windows window. Thus you go, say, from a Internet browser window, where two thumb buttons perform "back" "forward" to a Picture editor window, and the same buttons automatically perform "zoom out" and "zoom in". The G700s uses instead the Logitech Gaming Software (LGS) where something similar can be performed setting the mouse to "Game Detection Mode", which detects which applications have been launched. Some users are not happy with this and prefer the "On-Board Memory" mode, where the Profiles (up to 5) are stored in the mouse and you cycle among them manually with a specific button (2nd one below the wheel): if you press it the 3 lights (green for battery test) glow orange showing the profile in use with a very intuitive coding (1: --X, 2: -XX, 3: XXX, 4: XX-, 5: X--) . I am happy with 3 profiles: 1 for general use, 2 for picture editing and drawing and 3 for flight simulators.

10. THUMB WHEEL VS BUTTONS: The MX Revolution had 2 thumb buttons and, below them, a thumb wheel which actually performed as three buttons: these were not practical for anything that required a fast reaction. The G700s has dispensed with the thumb wheel and there are instead 2 further thumb buttons below the original ones. This feels more practical. Problem is, now all the 4 thumb buttons have a very feeble soft low-feedback click.

I have read complaints about long-term duration of this unit and will post here any significant change. For the time being, however, I am very happy with this mouse and find it a very worthy successor of the good-ol' MX Revolution.

Joe C. Di Veroli, Rep. Ireland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
That mouse is a MONSTER. It's eating any shop batteries for breakfast (Duracells especially) :) So, if you're planning to use it, then better buy rechargeable batteries with higher power capacity (the one included wasn't very solid).

As I'm using mouse wireless all the time I barely used USB cable to charge battery, but it's working and is quite efficient.

Mouse itself is outstandingly well designed and fits hand very well. All buttons are nicely positioned...well, maybe without the most first one button on top. For short fingers hand could be hard do reach without some training ;)

I'm using it to play with Guild Wars 2 especially. Provided drivers are very good and easy to manage so I didn't have a problem t o setup my shortcuts. Also mouse have nice possibilities to optimize battery usage which that I found very recently.

I had Razor Naga (cabled version) which was really nice, but... I wouldn't back to it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Mouse, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Can't complain with this device, it exceeded my expectations. No wireless lag at all, it performs the same wirelessly as it does with a cable.

I bought this mouse because I am a professional engineer that works from home and I wanted something robust and comfortable to use, I also do a moderate amount of gaming with it. It gets about 9 hours use a day, easy. The battery hasn't run down once yet, I generally leave it charging overnight.

The cable that comes with it is very stiff, but thats fine, you can replace it with any other micro usb cable and it's just fine. The socket won't take any significant damage unless the cable is pulled to tight, I have lots of slack so there is no tension.

I can confirm that this mouse works flawlessly with a passive KVM including profiles stored on the mouse. The only gotcha being the mouse always defaults to the lowest sensitivity when you swap with the KVM...not really a problem, but might annoy some of the more pedantic people out there.

The mouse also works nicely with Linux, but you will need to configure your profiles with the tool on a Windows box. This will likely be a one off thing though as there are way too many variables to tweak! Get it the way you like it, then leave it.

Profiles will work within Linux, just remember to select the right profile after you swap over (there is a key on the mouse for this).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Battery dies too quick, 23 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
I had an MX518 for around 8 years and I loved it. So I decided to replaced it with a G700s. I now wish I got a G500s instead though. I don't play games like I used to, and I mainly use my PC for work. However I wanted to get something just in case a friend challenges me online in one of my old skool games (Unreal Tournament / Quake).

Some of the reasons I don't like this mouse are;

1) The battery dies too quick and I have to plug the cable in too often to use the mouse.

2) You can't just leave the mouse's "on" button switched on and use it like a normal mouse. If you boot the computer and the mouse is switched on, you will need to turn the mouse off, then on again for it to work. I haven't tested it on another computer, but it works like that for my Asus motherboard and Intel i5 config. It's quite annoying.

3) The plugin charge cable is very think compared the regular mice and has more of a drag feeling than regular mice.

If the battery didn't die so quick, I would have liked this mouse. Other wireless mice switch themselves off when there is no movement, but because this is a gaming mouse. It's always tracking. That's why the battery dies so quick. I have set the mouse settings for long battery life, but it doesn't really help much. If you're not a hardcore gamer, my advice would be to avoid this mouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect if you're right handed, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Adam Newell (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Brilliant mouse, easily the best wireless mouse I've ever owned as it can be plugged in on the fly when you inevitably forget to charge it and it just keeps going.
Lots of buttons if your into that although I don't use them all (left and right, click able mouse wheel that can tilt left and right also, 3 extra buttons on left of the left mouse button, 4 buttons near the thumb position and 1 behind the wheel although it is next to a button which is used to allow the mouse wheel to spin freely so isn't that useful even if you wanted to use it).
The only downside I can think of is that like a lot of logitech mice is very right hand orientated so if your left handed and want to use the mouse in your left hand then this isn't the mouse for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The replacement works fine but the click action on right scroll is definitely ..., 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Had to send the first one back as the middle mouse click operated the right scroll more than half the time. The replacement works fine but the click action on right scroll is definitely different to the left scroll click. The middle mouse button click doesn't feel quite right some how and having read reports of failing mmb, I would say this is the weakest part. This was brought to replace a 4 year old g700 where the mmb failed after just over 3 years. Despite the little moan, I'm happy the mouse. Logitech would have a great mouse if they upgraded the scroll wheel assembly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
I needed a new good mouse and I got a perfect one ... still I need a new monitor becouse the mouse is soo quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good product, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Quality design products. I can only recommend to other customers. I am very excited. Very good product. Shipping without any problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Logitech G700s Rechargeable Gaming Mouse
£49.99
In stock on September 25, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews