Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mouse in a spin...
I should admit up-front that I'm something of a part-time gamer - but I do use a gaming mouse full-time, they're my preferred control method because of the high accuracy and sensitivity (great for graphic and creative work) and because I like having multiple programmable buttons, which I can customise for use in different apps. I'm also a long-time Logitech user although...
Published 11 months ago by techpuppy

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid mouse, disappointing fault
When it came to replacing my G5 (the side buttons had started to come loose after a couple of years of being mashed) I initially went for a cyborg rat; which was a terrible idea as the mouse was a horrible shape and the main buttons felt really flimsy. After that fail I decided to play it safe and go for another Logitech mouse.

I ended up with the g500s, the...
Published 11 months ago by James Drake


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid mouse, disappointing fault, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
When it came to replacing my G5 (the side buttons had started to come loose after a couple of years of being mashed) I initially went for a cyborg rat; which was a terrible idea as the mouse was a horrible shape and the main buttons felt really flimsy. After that fail I decided to play it safe and go for another Logitech mouse.

I ended up with the g500s, the grandson of the G5. After a couple of days I noticed that the high pitched whine I had been hearing (right on the edge of what I can hear) was actually coming from the mouse. Searching around it is apparently a common(-ish I haven't had this problem with my g5 or my previous mx518) complaint about with Logitech mice.

Whining noise aside it a great mouse; solid side buttons and a nice switchable mode scroll wheel. Also you can reassign the dpi switching buttons in this version of the software too; which is a nice upgrade from the previous version of the software. It's just a bit of a lottery; if you are unlucky enough to get one with a noisy capacitor like me you'll probably be less happy with your new mouse than you might otherwise be...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mouse in a spin..., 11 Sep 2013
By 
techpuppy "aka stylepuppy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I should admit up-front that I'm something of a part-time gamer - but I do use a gaming mouse full-time, they're my preferred control method because of the high accuracy and sensitivity (great for graphic and creative work) and because I like having multiple programmable buttons, which I can customise for use in different apps. I'm also a long-time Logitech user although I haven't always got along with Logitech's own drivers and software and in the past have used third-party utilities (for example USB Overdrive on Mac) to customise the controls and features. The newest version of Logitech's software is much better than before and I've been able to set up all the buttons, even the DPI adjustment buttons, the way I wanted. The Logitech app itself is a bit over-complex and hides some of its more useful options when they should be obvious (like how to include mouse-clicks in macros), but it's the first version of Logitech software I didn't uninstall and replace, so credit is due. This mouse can also store your personal configuration onboard, so if you move the mouse from one computer to another your personal setup moves with it - this is limited to a single configuration, but it's still very useful and it works cross-platform too, so you can move near-seamlessly from Windows to Mac and back again. Note that although the details say the mouse is Windows only it's also completely compatible with Mac, just download the latest software from Logitech's website - I'm using it mostly on Mac with no problems at all.

I've always imagined a scroll wheel which spins freely, like a flywheel, would be a great inclusion on a mouse because it would let you spin down to the bottom of a webpage in a single flick. Logitech have granted my wish and the G500s has exactly that - a free-wheeling scroll wheel which you can set spinning for up to 30 seconds with a single flick - it was Wednesday and I was bored and yes, I timed it. It does take quite a bit of getting used to, especially because it's very easy to nudge the wheel by mistake, but once you get the feel for it it's a fantastic way to fly up/down the screen with the greatest of ease. If you can't get used to it there's a switch to instantly re-engage the traditional click action of scroll wheels. Note the wheel also can be pushed left or right to nudge things onscreen left or right but this is quite slow to use, it only scrolls one line at a time and you have to keep tapping to keep things moving.

The extra weights which can be inserted into the mouse to achieve your preferred weight are a nice touch and do actually make more difference than you'd think - you can use them to control the overall momentum of the mouse as you slide it across your mouse pad and committed gamers or mouse-drivers like me will actually feel a difference. However, I ended up not using them at all, the mouse is nicely weighted for me straight out of the box.

Overall the mouse is extremely sensitive and highly accurate, just what I'd hope for and ideal for use with creative applications as well as in-depth gaming. The gritty texture on the side panels might take some getting used to, it does feel like your mouse got acne, but does improve grip a little. It takes a little time to configure all the buttons and settings to suit your work or play needs and the software doesn't always make it easy - but if you can open the origami-like packaging Logitech ship it in then you'll cope with all the configuration options. In the end the biggest compliment I can pay the G500s is to say it's proved itself a worthy replacement for my previous Logitech and is now my new full-time mouse of choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Responsive, comfortable and easily configurable, 20 July 2013
By 
K. Trebell (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This Logitech G500s Mouse is a wired (so no batteries or recharging but it does have a cable) mouse aimed at those wanting a high quality and responsive mouse so well suited to those who like gaming.

The mouse is very comfortable and ergonomically designed and fits well even for someone with small hands like me. It has a number of buttons including those that allow you to set the DPI up or down with a simple button press (thus speeding it up and slowing down) and also a button that switches the scroll wheel from a smooth scroll to one that gives you a slight click feel as you do it (which I prefer as I like the feedback).

There are also buttons on the side that allow you to move forwards and backwards in web pages and a configurable button for gaming (via the Logitech gaming software you can download at their site).

It also comes with a set of weights that fit inside allowing you to get set the weight of it to your own taste.

I haven't used a wired mouse for some time and wasn't sure if I'd find it annoying but happily it hasn't bothered me at all. This mouse feels quality, is very responsive and well featured and a pleasure to use. A very impressive mouse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A let down, 7 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
I'm a big fan of Logitech products but I have to say this is not one of them. I done quite a bit of research before buying this mouse and pretty much all the reviews were positive but I regret to say that after a month of use the G500s has not lived up to its reputation.

The first thing that bugged me about the G500s was how rough it is to mouse with on a hard surface. I bought the Logitech G440 hard mouse mat along with this and I found the G500s very rough and scratchy on it, so much so that I decided to buy some new feet/glides for it from another manufacturer. That solved the problem but I would've expected the logitech feet to be a lot better quality than they were. My old, much cheaper, Sharkoon fireglide mouse was far smoother than the G500s on the same surface.

The second problem I found, which has become the most annoying problem, is the mouse wheel, which has a number of defects as far as gaming is concerned. Scrolling with it is too free and there is very little definition between clicks, which makes it useless for changing weapons in an FPS for example. Then the middle mouse button is too rigid and it requires a lot more pressure to press than on any other mouse I've ever used. The combination of the loose wheel and the rigid MMB means that if you're using it in-game you're very likely to move the wheel and change weapons accidentally. For me I have always used the middle mouse button for secondary weapon which to me is the handiest for quickly getting out a handgun in a firefight but since I got the G500s it's anything but handy. Numerous times now I've been left cursing this mouse for giving me something other than what I wanted. I've tried changing the secondary weapon button to one on the side of the mouse but it seems like the twitch to press the MMB is hard wired into my brain at this stage, so I couldn't manage it.

The straw that has finally broken the camel's back for me with this mouse are the software problems that have continually cropped up. Quite a few times now over this past month, at least ten I'd say, the mouse has "forgotton" its presets for particular games. Usually restarting the game has solved the problem but once or twice I had to restart the computer to get it working properly again. It may not sound like much but it's quite a pain when in the middle of a multiplayer game your mouse suddenly stops doing what it's supposed to do, as you really don't want to restart the game to get the functions back again. Another recent problem that occurred was that the cursor started going completely haywire when I was playing Battlefield 3 and again the only solution was to exit and restart the game. This was a once-off but in my three years using my cheaper Sharkoon mouse I never got a similar problem like this and had far fewer software problems in general.

Things I like about the G500s are the ergonomics and the functionality of it. It has plenty of buttons and it has rather a convenient way of allowing you to program them to each individual game - if only they worked properly all the time. I also like the shape and feel of the mouse. Initially, I didn't like the "rough" surface but after a while I got comfortable with it and I actually prefer it now to my old rubberised Sharkoon. I also like the thumb rest design of the mouse which keeps your thumb off the mouse mat and reduces friction and stickiness.

Overall I have to say, despite its few redeeming features, for a Logitech product the G500s seems to be way below their usual high standards and for the price I would've expected much better quality regardless of the manufacturer. They seem to have set their sights high with good ergonomics and functionality but basic design problems let it down badly in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feeling, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Great tracking, very accurate brilliant free wheel and clutch device, especially for browsing. Good for gaming, nice software to setup mouse. What spoils it is the button placement for the side button and dpi they are just not comfortable or fully accessible whereas my Rat7 mouse is nicely laid out and better designed ergonomically but it isn't as accurate as the logitech500s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Gaming Mouse, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Full disclosure: I've always liked the Logitech gaming mouses. I used to
play with the wireless G7 and its wired brother the G5 for years.

I was looking for a good replacement of the G5 and the G500s
has the same look & feel. It also has the braided cable of the G5,
which keeps the cable straight & prevents it from becoming a tangled mess.

Furthermore the weight cartridge gives you some options to adjust the balance & weight
of the mouse, just like you could do with the good old G5. What has improved concerning
the G5?:

+ the surface has water resistant 'extra grip' coating that prevents the mouse
from getting greasy/moist when playing long hours
+ re-positioning of the DPI selector buttons to make them more accessible on the fly
+ dual mode mouse-wheel (very fast scrolling or normal)
+ increased DPI sensitivity (settings up to

- if you like 20 different programmable buttons on your mouse to do macro's, etc. then this mouse is not for you

My conclusion: If you are looking for a reliable, straight-forward gaming mouse then go ahead and buy this one.
The price should not be a deterrent, since this one will last you 4+ years. A worthy successor to the G5!

If you are looking for a mouse with lots of programmable buttons for macro's etc. (MMORPG-style) then there are better
options out there that cater to your needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "If it ain't broke don't fix it", almost the same as the G500, 28 Jun 2013
This review is from: Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
If you've used the G500, this is almost identical.

Lightweight, no batteries to recharge, braided cable, no hassle laser mouse. Still comes with the gimmicky and useless weight cartridge. Superb textured plastic grip and a comfortable right handed palm shape.

Main differences in G500s:
1) Corny paint job. Looks like something from the 1980s. The paint is meant to be dirt and sweat resistant but to me it feels the same as the G500.
2) Blue LEDs to go with said paint job.
3) Setpoint replaced with unified gaming software. The driver/settings combines other G series Logitech gaming peripherals into the same interface. For example, my G13 gamepad shows up with the G500s. Otherwise the same old programmable buttons and DPI settings etc.
4) Some other review websites have mentioned upgraded and more durable mouse switches on the new GXXXs models. I've had issues with mouse button switches failing on previous high end Logitech mice. I hope these turn out to be longer lasting.
5) A ridiculously high 8200 DPI sensor.

So, if it ain't broke don't fix it, as they say. The G500s itself is mouse perfection and warrants a 5/5 if it weren't for the price, but the older G500 is much cheaper for nearly the same performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfect., 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Honestly, apart from the slow delivery times from China (but who can help that?) I have only one slightly negative thing to say about this mouse.

The scroll wheel is sub-par. That's it. Because of the free-spinning button it can feel a little mushy, and I would prefer more positive clicks from it. The software is simple and intuitive but manages to be versatile, all the buttons on the mouse have no travel on them and are light to press, all in all an almost perfect mouse, in my opinion.

One thing I would say is that claw grippers might find this uncomfortable for long periods of time, I use a hybrid grip and the area of the mouse where my ring finger sits has kind of an edge to it, not a harsh edge but it could do with being more rounded. Nothing a bit of sandpaper and warranty-voiding courage can't fix though. I haven't done this because it's not that big of a deal, just shift your grip for a few minutes and it stops being uncomfortable. It's a very comfortable mouse for the palm grip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great mouse, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Fantastic mouse, I upgraded from my old G5 and the transition was seamless with similar weighting system and feel the same it was like I had the same old brilliant G5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse (Personal Computers)
Bought it to replace a G500 that died, basically the same mouse. One of the best ive used hence why I keep going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Logitech G500s Laser USB Gaming Mouse
48.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews