Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are having problems installing on steam read this.
This is not a games review but an aid to anyone having problems installing the game on steam.

The glitch seems to happen when you own the original game and then try to install the Legendary version. Every time I tried to load the disk it would only load the standard game not the downloadable content. You will know that there is a problem because it wont ask...
Published 20 months ago by Jonny515

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Steam makes it unplayable for some.
If you don't have Steam successfully installed on your PC already, it may be better to give this a miss. The first thing this software does is install Steam which then failed on my PC because I use anti virus software that interferes with it. They told me to turn off my anti-virus so I could run it, (yeah, that's gonna happen).

As a result, I can't even install...
Published 7 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are having problems installing on steam read this., 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is not a games review but an aid to anyone having problems installing the game on steam.

The glitch seems to happen when you own the original game and then try to install the Legendary version. Every time I tried to load the disk it would only load the standard game not the downloadable content. You will know that there is a problem because it wont ask for your activation code.

I spoke to Bethesda the game manufacturer and they have received a lot of calls about it. Listed below is how we sorted the problem.

1) If you find the extra content has not been installed uninstall the Skyrim game.
2) Open up the main Steam page by clicking the steam icon.
3) At the top left of the page to the left of "Help" is "Games" left click this and go down to "Activate a product on steam" start this process and input the activation code that came with the game.
4) Once the code has been accepted exit the setup this means that your new code has been accepted but the game has not been installed yet. If you don't cancel this setup it will try to download the whole game.
5) At the top left of the steam page is the word "Steam" left click this and go down to "exit" and left click it. It is important to shut the steam down.
6) Restart steam.
7) Open up the game disk. To do this in windows 7 left click the blue circular window icon and then lower left corner of you desktop click the "computer" icon. This should then bring up the drives on your machine.
8) Single left click not double click the drive that has your game is in and in the panel that pops up left click open.
9) Look through the files listed for the steam icon and double click it, this will load everything on your games disk including the extra content.

I hope that steam will sort the problem and none of this will be necessary.

I am sorry if this does not work for you. This advice is only give with best intensions to save you the phone calls & emails I had to make.

By the way the game is well worth the effort because it is amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another addictive page in TES (albeit stripped down from previous versions), 19 July 2013
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Internet Connection & Steam account required to activate.

Legendary Edition includes:
-The original Skyrim game.
-Official add-ons, Dawnguard, Hearthfire & Dragonborn (plus added features like combat cameras, mounted combat, Legendary difficulty & Legendary skills).

The first thing that hits me about Skyrim, with my previous TES game experience, is that they have differed quite a bit from one another in the way they appear & play i.e TES3:Morrowind -> TES4:Oblivion . But now with Skyrim we have a bit more uniformity(although there are changes), so the transition to Skyrim is more like an updated version of Oblivion(Oblivion Mk 2). Although IMO it also has some sprinkles of Morrowind in it, like the size/scale of objects, buildings & the more featured faces etc.. are a better balance between MW-OB & some of the in game items, like the lanterns & rolls of paper you see dotted around, just conjured up memories of MW. It's like meeting an old friend again. Yet in this edition we are greeted with the cold & snowy backdrop of the Nord homeland of Skyrim, welcome.

STEPPING OUT:
In Skyrim things start out quite directly, no FMV intro, but more a style we have seen with games like Far Cry 2 & Deus Ex: Human Revolution opening sequences. So, we wake up in the back of an open topped wagon/cart, our hands bound, and at this moment all we can do is move the mouse around to get a picture of whats happening, as the countryside passes us by & we learn what is going on via the fellow passengers. Skyrim is in a revolt against the Imperials/Empire & our character for as yet unkown reasons has been sentenced to death. we get a very early introduction to Dragons! During the end of the opening sequence, in true TES fashion, we are given the opportunity to create our character(note: we don't get a 2nd chance to change our race etc.. like in OB. Only way to change is via console command "showracemenu" read about it for the side effects) & play a tutorial before our reins are cut, and Skyrim is at our mercy to explore.

CHARACTER CUSTOMIZATION:
I found to actually be a lot easier & quicker this time, dunno why TBH, normally takes me an hour, but only took me half that if not less. But the drawback being with this, as i mentioned above, is that initially when you finish customization & see yourself in game & maybe you don't like something, there is no way to change it, unless you restart over again, big oversight((note: You can change character appearance via console command "showracemenu" read about it for the side effects)). Aesthetically, there are a few new option sliders on the list. Scars which can be placed on the face, as can War paint & there is also some new eye color options, that can male your character look even more evil or unique(Mwahaha!). Faces & bodies appear more realistic & make OB's in hindsight look like a cartoon.

LEVELING UP & SKILLS:
These are different, in that this time we don,t pick our skills from a list at the beginning. Instead what we do in the game i.e what skills we use the most, all 18 of them(yes, cut down again from Oblivion) add on experience levels to those skills until enough have increased to culminate in a Level Up. I do quite like this having tried it, as it molds itself to your play style, rather then being urged to pick skills at the start of the game. We now have Perks, one that we can add at each level up (or saved up & used later), similar to Fallout: New Vegas, which can be unlocked once you have achieved a requisite level in a skill tree. Picking your characters star sign is also done on the fly, as in game you come across various guardian stones that have the known star sign abilities on them i.e Warrior, Thief, Mage or The Lady etc... so you can change your sign as much as you like if you find the stone(s). Also from FNV, the kill cam appears for take downs/finishing moves when enemies health is low.

WHAT ELSE IS NEW:
Some more new stuff includes, working, you can work at some jobs & get paid, like cutting wood or picking vegetables etc..(nice for Role Play). Smithing, tanning, smelting & cooking appear, a bit Gothic like. Smithing can make your character God like with huge armor bonuses, i think Oblivion did smithing better where you fixed armor that deteriorated with use & could get a nice, yet not God like bonus to armor stats. Alchemy is done at specific tables now(like Enchantment), rather then carrying an alchemy set, so no more making potions on the go(shame, as we all know how useful that was at times). You can befriend people by helping them do tasks or hire people to help you, then they will follow you & you can command them to do different tasks, although their actions are assumed as your own(they steal, you get arrested etc..). Buying homes is in, children appear for the first time & and marriage is also possible (optional). You can fast travel using the map, like in Oblivion, but now if you want to fast travel but keep within role playing, there are carriages that will fast travel you from the major town's to other major towns. Basically the Skyrim version of silt striders in Morrowind.

GRAPHICS:
They are a much improved version of Oblivion's. They look really nice & more realistic then the previous game, although not that stunning it's an improvement, and in a few locations you cant help but be in awe of what lays in front of you. The scale of the people & buildings is a mixture between Morrowind & Oblivion, they aren't overly large, but maintain a slightly smaller scale, which reminds me of the niche MW style scale. The Presentation of weapons & magic is always refreshing, holding a new & realistic looking sword or spell crackling in your hand, try on that new robe or armor, or simply jump on that horse and ride!

UI:
One of the main new differences, and possible biggest flaws due to the game being a PC/console crossover, is the games user interface design & look. In that it is very obvious after a while of playing & interacting with characters & using conversation options, that the UI navigation is better suited for a console control pad than it is for a traditional mouse & keyboard, picking the right conversation option can be tiresome at times, as it selects the wrong option time & again. So those of us on PC have to grin & bare it sadly. Visually the UI has gone from the dusty scroll like appearance from OB/MW as we look through our inventory etc.. we now have a new modern, yet sterile design that doesn't aim to try & immerse you(oh well). What it does bring though, is a new way of presenting Objects we collect, this is a plus & really brings them to life, as we can rotate objects 360 degrees to see every mark, scratch & in some cases clues to solving a puzzle on an item(couldn't we have both ?).

QUESTS & SKYRIM:
These have been an interesting experience. There are your staple, basic fetch & carry quests, but there is more to questing than before. You can have quests thrust upon you via couriers or chance meetings, sometimes in caves/ruins you may find NPC's that need help or stumble across an expedition's notes, whom has fallen fowl to the inhabitants of the exploration site & reading about what happened to them etc...generally more of a feel that the game world is populated. But it seems improvements come with a small downside, in that guild's main quests are shorter & arguably not as good stories as the last game, albeit interesting, but not as memorable. Apart from the more open world, there are some other parts that try to make up for this.

Some of the quests do actually have puzzle elements to them, where you have to check special items in your inventory for clues, or use the paintings on the walls in caves for clues on how to open a door etc.. without setting off traps. I do really like some touches to the guilds, particularly the Thieves Guild's "shadowmarks", which when you join the guild & read the book of the same name, you'll see symbols placed outside shops & homes, that correspond to if the place is good to rob or under protection form the guild etc.. a nice touch i thought, one i am appreciating now 9 months after i first bought the game.

Skyrim itself is HUGE! and you can stand in one spot & see the land lead off & disappear into the vast distance, it's scale just simply feels like you ARE in another World & you'll be tempted to walk everywhere. I recommend this, as although it does feel huge when looking on the map or visually from the top of a mountain, when you travel by foot or horse yourself, you soon realize that places aren't that far apart form each other in reality. Plus, you can come across many discoveries by walking the plains of Skyrim.

AUDIO/AMBIENT/VOICE ACTING:
The music sounds excellent, i have it turned on most of the time now as it is so good, although i do prefer to listen to the ambiance of the world. The voice acting is excellent on the whole, although there are some critic's of the sound of the voices used of particular races, which i agree with some, like the Nord's sounding like Arnold Schwarzenegger & Dunmer... Dick Van Dyke British accents. It's nice to hear that there are are a wide, wide range of voice actors in on this, some i recognised from previous TES/Bethesda games, and i am sure i recognise the guy from the Thief games, the one who voices the guards ? taffer!!!. So this helps make each person that bit more unique when you encounter them(unlike with Oblivion's reused voice list, where it was a bit like talking to clones). Ambient sound is also excellent, if you close your eyes & listen to the running water, wind in the air, chatter of locals or crackling of fires, you'd actually believe you were there.

Overall I am very pleased with the game to date, although i do feel let down with the PC's UI navigation & a few dumbing down changes that have been made(i.e no more character screen, open lock spell, spell creation , hand to hand perk tree etc... and the fact that some skills like lockpicking are virtually useless due to how it easy it is), thus i am knocking off half a star due to these etc... Technically I haven't had any major problems running the game, now having played 100+ hours, a few random CTD(crash to desktop, so save regularly, F5's quciksave is your friend) and in game a few bugs/glitches. Patches & mods have helped a lot, i recommend SkyrimNexus for mod's, which iv'e been using as it fixes some aspects of the game, in some cases.

In conclusion, Skyrim is certainly worth getting into, with the new patches, many mods & DLC. Being an open ended game, it's no surprise you get good value for money considering the time you can lose yourself in it. Even though continued play gets boring after a while(and i'm talking serious amounts of time), it's a game that i go back to again after some short breaks & i always find that one new thing that makes it's worthwhile, but you can't shake that niggling feeling at times with missing pieces, like the omission of the hand to hand combat skill tree, that just makes you wonder what they were thinking in some aspects. 4.5/5 Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars UNDER A PERFECT SKY, ONE CAN FIGHT FOREVER (*), 8 Jun. 2013
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The ELDER SCROLLS series has given us a number of masterpieces over the years. Morrowind will always remain etched on my brain whereas Oblivion has offered a vast world I found myself immersed into for hours at no end. Following up on footsteps of such giants is never easy. And yet the 5th installment of the series, SKYRIM, still managed to impress and ensnare me.

INFINITE. INFINITE IN ALL DIRECTIONS.
For SKYRIM, Bethesda will only take up 6GB on your HDD and with that the game designers created a literally endless world, with extremely long drawing distances, high mountains, passing clouds, dark forests, foliage moving to the wind and water trickling in streams. Everything you see in the horizon is actually accessible. Now, compare that to the ...21GB RAGE takes up for a much, much more small and visually limited world to realize what was accomplished with SKYRIM. The world is absolutely huge - and it feels real.
The graphics are gorgeous, almost realistic. Sure, I could do with somewhat more detailed textures when it comes to clothing (they look much better in the inventory than when worn) as well as a more bold color palette (besides grasses, there are also colorful wildflowers, Bethesda); however, the imaginative design of the items and equipment, the natural movements of the characters and the way light and shadows play with each other all the time more than make up for these shortcomings. The game is as beautiful as it is deep and endless.

ALL SCHOOLS OF FIGHTING ARE WELCOME
Each hand has its own menu. You can go with sword and shield or spell and weapon, dual weapons or dual spells (yes, spells can be combined - and the spell effects are very impressive, especially the frost and thermal ones!). Ana always keep in mind: some Words have power beyond any comprehension.
The camera is very accommodating and both First-Person and Third-Person views are available. It will take some time before you settle into your own fighting style but once that is done the game mechanics will feel like second nature to you. Yes, the finishing moves reminded me of Fallout 3 however, it would not be fair to claim that SKYRIM is the mere cross between FALLOUT 3 and OBLIVION.
SKYRIM was much anticipated and its gameplay does not disappoint in any way.

USE OR LOSE IT
This is true to all living things and it also true in SKYRIM. In the beginning of the game you only get to choose what your hero looks like. How you then play the game will determine what class and what abilities your hero will acquire.
The skills you use the most are the ones you are actually getting better at. You can also increase your skills by skill training and reading a skill book. Leveling up heals your hero (health and magicka) and you can unlock a skill perk and increase one attribute reserve (health, stamina or magicka) by 10 points. Both the enemies you encounter and the loot you find level up with you, however there are areas designed to be almost impossible to lower level heroes. A word of advice: until you are powerful enough, avoid going up into the mountains. I had to learn this the hard way!
There are Achievement you earn but this is what I found beautiful: as you progress the game creates constellations corresponding to your skills and perks and, so, you can see your character make its mark, well, in the sky of SKYRIM.

KEEP YOUR EARS OPEN. IT PAYS
I usually do not pay attention to the sounds of a game. The less I notice them, the more natural they usually are. In SKYRIM both the ambient and action sounds are so well made that they stand out at first. After a while you take them form granted and blend into the background - yet they keep adding greatly to the total immersion. Draw a sword, deflect an arrow with your shield or walk in a narrow corridor and you will see what I mean.
Moreover, the background music, whenever cued, is also epic and majestic, like a medieval liturgy choir chanting about your deeds. One name should describe its impact: Jeremy Soule.
The towns are alive with people going about their daily chores - however, I have to admit that I found The Witcher II to be much better in this aspect. Nevertheless, paying attention to what NPCs have to say has its own rewards. Not only can you get lore and valuable information and even quests but you can even gain skill improvements out of this. Care has been taken to create a great number of NPC phrases in order to avoid having to endure the same phrase repeated over and over. Well, although not very pronounced, after some hours of gameplay this has not been avoided entirely. A minor annoyance. I can understand how town talk is much harder to run through the Creation Engine than items and quests.

THERE IS STEAM COMING OUT OF YOUR ARMOR
Recently we have all seen how bad a Digital Distribution system can be ([coughs!] ORIGIN!) so STEAM may seem pretty benign to some by now. Nevertheless, let's not lose perspective. This is still an OnLine DRM scheme. I usually deduct a full star from any game that withholds ownership of our games by tying it to a unique online account. So far I had made a single exception, with Shogun II. I decided SKYRIM to be the second.
I still have to warn the gamers who are careful with what DRM schemes they will allow to their computers since the game does require STEAM to run (yes, even the retail version). An informed decision can now be made. However, I could not bring myself to give this masterpiece anything less than a perfect score.

SKYRIM is a game that will draw you in its world, enchant you with its beauty, mesmerize you with its endless horizons, offer you a huge number of ever branching quests and, yet, leave you wanting for more. Each time you play it is unique and the paths not taken will keep bringing you back again and again. Even if they are uphill and narrow.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
(*) Ended relationships not included. May induce expulsion to couch for an indefinite period of time. Real gamers do not use skooma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new adventure every day., 7 July 2014
By 
Griesmayer (Wien, Österreich) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I remember the year 2006 when I first heard of the Elder Scrolls series a couple of months prior to the launch of the fourth title, Oblivion and it looked and sounded like no other game I had played before - it was THE best looking RPG back then and still a classic by today's standards. The fact that the game brought the medieval fantasy atmosphere so vibrantly to life paired with the fact that the game was so long and so diverse made me enjoy it for several years after that, especially because it was so moddable.

Now, more than 5 years later, this giant of a game got its official sequel: S K Y R I M.

Hoo boy, the internet was abuzz for months after its release. From arrow in the knee jokes to just how life ruiningly fun this game is, there was non stop chatter about Skyrim. Thankfully almost no spoilers at all, in stark contrast to the buzz about Mass Effect 3.

Anyways, when I first saw Skyrim's trailer I was actually a tad bit underwhelmed - the graphics, while definitely a big improvement over Oblivion, still didnt look THAT much better, you know? Oblivion already had set the tone for the series' current art style and Skyrim didnt alter this (also, the difference between Morrowind and Oblivion's graphics is far greater than the difference between Oblivion and Skyrim). A fully modded Oblivion can actually look better than a vanilla Skyrim, while the same can never be said between Morrowind and Oblivion.

In any case, I had indeed expected more - 2011 was already an age when games like Crysis 2, Killzone 2, Metro 2033, Battlefield 3 and the like were out and we had already been used to seeing fancy graphics. Thus, the long awaited Skyrim somewhat disappointed me and I didnt get it on day one. Instead, I chose to wait for the Legendary Edition that includes all three DLCs released so far: Hearthfire, Dragonborn and Dawnguard. I am happy that unlike Oblivion, Bethesda had the decency to not clutter us with micro transaction DLCs although a game as moddable as Skyrim (and especially due to it being tied to steam) was only begging to allow the company to monetize in this direction, so hats off to you, Bethesda.

So anyways, we're back in Tamriel and so I started playing Skyrim and have noticed that Bethesda has made a huge number of improvements over the years (and with their experience from Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas). Many of these improvements look like they were inspired by popular user made mods for previously released Bethesda games. For example, the fact that NPCs now carry torches in the dark was something that wasnt the case in Oblivion, but the content of a very popular mod made for that game. As is the fact that all kinds of fish swim in Skyrim's lakes. Or Dungeons no longer having silly doors that you need to interact with to get in or out. You can place your books on bookshelves, towns are illuminated at night, you can hear your heart pounding when low on health and on top of all this, there is horse combat now! Things, all of which had to be downloaded as mods for Oblivion come right out of the box in Skyrim.

Things like cooking, crafting (in Skyrim's case forging, smelting, tanning, sharpening etc.) have also been introduced, although far more dumbed down compared to the crafting in Fallout 3 and New Vegas - all you need in Skyrim is ore that can be smelted into ingots, which in turn are needed to create armor (that you can sell for more profit than the ingots required) or sharpen your weapons and improve your armor on the workbench. Likewise, buying ingots and crafting your armor yourself is cheaper than buying the armor directly from the blacksmith. And crafting is a process that takes 2 seconds once you have the 'ingredients', so it's not like you have to wait or anything. Of course, different armors need different types of ingots, like moonstone for Elvish and orichalcum for Orcish weapons and armor, paired with a higher required blacksmith skill. Unfortunately, weapons and armor no longer degrade after fighting, and repair hammers are thus non-existant in Skyrim. Yeah, the concept might have been tiresome/silly/mundane for folks playing Oblivion, but I kinda liked the mechanic (especially since it regularly bled your wallet dry and thus made looting dungeons more lucrative), so I am going to miss it dearly in Skyrim - you no longer need to head to the blacksmith to get all your gear repaired after doing a hard day's raiding anymore. On the other hand, we have even more newly implemented game mechanics, some of them utterly worthless, like the fact that you can now indefinitely cut your own wood and sell it to get rich (eventually) - for 5 gold a piece, while watching your character chop 3 pieces of wood (15 gold) already takes a half minute.

On the other hand, magic underwent a HUGE improvement. You can now cast spells with your left hand or your right hand, or even both simultaneously, allowing for a lot of flexibility. Destruction battlemage? Grab your sword in your right hand and cast spells with your left as you charge in for the kill. Resoration battlemage? Strike blows with your right while you have your left hand ready to heal yourself should your health bar start to drop at an alarming rate during the heat of combat. Defensive warlock? Grab your shield with your left hand to ward off enemies who get too close, and keep hurling spells with your right. Full-on spell caster? Hurl a torrent of deadly spells at your enemy using both hands!!! Obviously your mana pool should be appropriately large for this kind of warfare. The fact that staffs are now one-handed instead of two-handed is even more of a bonus for wizards as this allows them to cast spells using their mana while simultaneously casting spells from their staff that does not tap into their mana but uses up magical charge instead. Also, the utterly useless "touch" school of magic has been removed and the "on target" school of magic has been changed in that instead of hurling one spell after another at the enemy, you can now also launch a steady stream of magic at them. There's also some pretty new improvements like an illumination spell coming in the form of a glowing ball of light that either floats above your head or sticks to any surface you hurl it at. Very impressive!

Something that I consider a huge failed opportunity is that Skyrim does not come with an eat-drink-sleep mod the way the previous Bethesda game, Fallout New Vegas, did with its hardcore mode. Sure, there are plenty of massively endorsed eat-drink-sleep mods on Skyrim Nexus, but most of them (except "iNeed", which I am using) look pretty complicated and certainly not as easy as the one from New Vegas which showed you your hunger, thirst and sleep meters and you needed to periodically reduce them. Similarly, they could have implemented a hypothermia mod due to Skyrim's unique climate, but again they didnt (also available on Nexus). You can frolick around frozen mountaintops in the buff and continue to do so indefinitely. At least NPCs react to you being naked around them and refuse to sell things to you until you put some clothes on.

What I strongly dislike about Skyrim are its random enemy encounters. Bears and sabre cats literally jump at you from behind a pile of rocks, and it doesnt take much playing to realize this wasnt a nice effect of the immservie game world taking your carefree self by surprise, no, this was literally an enemy materializing out of thin air when your character gets into its scripted trigger zone. This is fun once or twice, but not being able to ride your horse for 5 minutes in one direction without being ambushed by such an unrealistic creature spawn is just plain ANNOYING! At least in previous Bethesda games you could see enemies already existing in the game world (and thus avoid them while travelling) instead of being created on the spot just to attack you.

Another thing that annoys me (ever since Fallout 3) is that Bethesda has gone overboard with companions. In Oblivion these were done masterfully - there were very few in the game and coming across them and/or earning their services was a very rare, but ultimately rewarding accomplishment (of course, this doesnt count for the Adoring Fan). Sure, Skyrim could have had a bit more characters than Oblivion did, but not this much... hell, Fallout New Vegas was the last Bethesda game where we got a bucketload of followers dumped on us, but at least each and every one of them actually had a unique story and quest of their own and PLENTY of interesting dialogue everytime you spoke to them, making them feel distinct and actually persuading you to download mods that let you have more than two at a time because you wanted to hear all their stories and do all their quests without having to keep sending them back. In Skyrim, not only are followers ridiculously easy to acquire (aka no searching or tough quest solving needed - you'll find most of them in taverns or assigned to you after becoming a Hold's Thane), but you are also given one almost immediately - in the first village you come across, Riverwood, there already are two potential followers waiting for you, with only a letter and some dialogue keeping you from acquiring either of them instantaneously. And not only that, but the followers themselves are very bland and you can only give them commands but not ask them about their own story. Sure, they do occasionally make some comments when you visit certain places such as "Wow, would you look at that" or "Don't like the looks of this", but thats that. Followers in New Vegas on the other hand had entire stories to tell when you visited certain locations with them in tow.

On the other hand Bethesda did improve in other aspects - for those of us who are a bit OCD and dont want to break immersion by fast traveling all the time (and yet dont have the time to run or ride from place A to B), Bethesda has implemented a nice little travel-by-carriage system that is a more immersive method of fast travel (but only limiting you to major settlements as destinations) compared to the actual fast travel method (also in the game) that leaves a lot more to the imagination. Another positive change is that when you are over encumbered, you can merely no longer run - Oblivion also prevented you from jumping or even walking, forcing you to drop excess loot on the spot and return to it later. In Skyrim you can also sprint by holding down the Alt key.

Regular combat has also undergone an improvement, the most noticeable of them all being the ability to dual wield weapons. Is this cool or what??? Another gameplay improvement I noticed is that archery has become a lot more rewarding. At least for me as an Oblivion player, I never bothered with the bow because it always seemed to take a lot more hits to down an enemy than your melee weapon would, and with them rushing at you, you would only have a couple of seconds before they were in your face anyway, so you would have to backtrack constantly and ultimately have less rewarding gameplay than just smashing your sword and shield in their face. However, with the implementation of a zoom-in and bullet time perk for archers, Skyrim has made this class very rewarding. Speaking of perks, these are introduced in Skyrim as you level up - with each level, you gain 1 point and can spend it to attain any useful perk on one of the various skill constellations.

Of course, just like in Oblivion you also get better at the things you do in Skyrim, and when one of your skills reaches 100, you can reset it to 15 and gain all the perk points back to spend it on other skills, which is a cool mechanic for people who get tired playing as the same sort of character and want to start using a different type of prowess - without having to create a new character!

Enchanting and Alchemy are also back, although the latter now also requires you to be in a place where there is an alchemy table instead of having a mobile lab in the form of a mortar & pestle and various retorts. You can buy alchemy recipes to get your potion brewing skills going, or you can just start experimenting on your own by tasting ingredients and learning their properties.

Most of the core game mechanics have been imported from Oblivion, though the user interface is wholly different. While it does look flashy, I actually think Oblivion's inventory system was better in that you could sort things and switch between lists easier than the clunkier interface in Skyrim that puts too much attention in showcasing a real, 360° rotatable model of every item instead of merely a small artwork pic. A very popular mod on the Nexus, "SkyUI", is here to fix this, but if you want to download this you better do so early on because after you get used to the new inventory system in Skyrim, SkyUI feels like a downgrade.

Of course, Skyrim is a cold and wintery place, but Bethesda has made sure that the game world isnt as monotonous as a Cyrodiil player new to Skyrim might think - you'll still find plenty of green forests and almost Cyrodilic pastures in Skyrim (e.g. around Falkreath or Riften), while the landscape still holds true to its icy hallmark the further north you go - from the cold craglands of the Reach over the frozen coast of northern Skyrim to the volcanic lands of Eastmarch very reminiscent of Yellowstone National Park, there is variety. It gets even better when it comes to dungeons - the hallmark and main selling point of every traditional fantasy RPG. In Oblivion each dungeon had a different layout, but the majority of them were largely generic (mine, cave, ayleid ruin and fort). In Skyrim on the other hand, while dungeons can indeed be divided into these same four types (though you'll have to replace ayleid ruin with ancient nord crypt), each dungeon literally feels like it was hand crafted to have its own unique and distinctive charm - each location has its own story to tell and it feels like its own, distinct mini-adventure when you embark on clearing out a dungeon in Skyrim. While there are several dungeons that are duds (aka just a large room inhabitied by two bears you're done clearing within a minute), the Dwemer Ruins are nothing short of fantastic that sometimes need more than an hour to clear as you keep working your way ever downward and marvel at the great cities of the dwarves now inhabited by foul goblinlike Falmer - I have had more than one breathtaking Moria moment while doing these ruins in Skyrim, let me tell you that!

While Cyrodiil had nine distinct cities (one of which was destroyed from the get-go), Skyrim only has five cities of such size and uniqueness. The other four are merely glorified villages, and even the largest city cannot match the amount of hours you spent in the Imperial City in the previous TES game. Perhaps to make up for this, Skyrim has completely gone overboard with quests. While Oblivion has 174 quests, Skyrim has 273. Of course, a great deal of them are fetch-quests, i.e. an NPC asks you to retrieve an item (or even several) for them from a ruin and bring it back for a reward - which can get quite tedious after a while, and these also get dumped in a new "Miscellaneous" section in your quest log, i.e. a section where each quest merely shows up as an objective instead of a logbook-like narration accompanying it, there still are enough thematic and characterful quests to easily give Oblivion a run for its money. Dont let anybody tell you otherwise! Skyrim isn't just made out of fetch quests - I daresay only the amount of quests Skyrim has over Oblivion are fetch-quests, no more than that.

Speaking of quests, unlike the Fallout games (or hell, even Oblivion) Skyrim's quests not only take you to literally almost every possible corner of the map, but also encourage a style of play where you can literally spend the first 100 hours without even bothering with the main quest. Yes, there's that much stuff to do - you never get bored. I can't speak of this kind of satisfying main-quest-avoidal in any previously released Bethesda game, not even the enticing Oblivion.

Something I really love is the world map - it is no longer a piece of parchment, but an actual, interactive bird's eye view over 3d terrain, including weather effects like clouds and fog. Speaking of clouds and volumetric fog, these tend to wrap around mountain peaks as well, making things look that much more realistic.

While Skyrim may be a bit smaller than Cyrodiil, everything feels more natural - Cyrodiil felt like a game world, Skyrim feels like it is real. The geography is so much more believable than the relatively even and flat, or predictable landscape progression in Cyrodiil which, at the end of the day, really did look like everything around you was designed in a game engine's editor. Dungeons were pretty much evenly spaced out and felt like they were purposefully placed there, instead of feeling like they were hewn into the actual landmass and thus part of its geography. In Skyrim you do not need fancy mods like Oblivion's "Unique Landscapes" series to find yourself navigating between breath-takingly beautiful rivers, rocks, bridges, forests, ravines and cliffsides. Everything feels like it has been shaped by the raw forces of nature rather than dragged and dropped in a game editor. Even without any mods I had more "wait...woah...just woah" moments while exploring Skyrim's natural beauty than I could count. Something that barely happened in Cyrodiil except the first few hours after you had left the tutorial dungeon. And lastly regarding the map, you also need to remember that a sizeable chunk of Cyrodiil's game world was devoted to large waterbodies such as Lake Rumare surrounding the Imperial City, and Niben Bay further downriver. Such waterbodies (and thus wasted gameworld space) do not exist in Skyrim, so I think things even out in the end. And while mountains and steep cliffs do tend to block your path and get in the way, Skyrim has a lot of verticality to it, so there are plenty of ruins hewn into the side of the mountain, making its acscension rewarding for any adventurer, rather than skirting around it.

Of course, storywise we have something fresh this time around - instead of a demonic invasion from hell *cough* open Oblivion gates *cough* (which got annoying real fast), we have a dragon invasion threatening a Skyrim that is already destabilized due to a civil war between separatist Stormcloaks under the leadership of Ulfric Stormcloak fighting for an independent Skyrim and Imperial soldiers continuing to keep the peace in Skyrim as it is one of the provinces of the Empire, after all, and the last thing they want is for it to break away, despite knowing full well that having knelt before the Aldmeri Dominion and its Thalmor ruling elite and signing that peace treaty banning Talos worship would cause unrest in the very province Tiber Septim, the founder of the Empire, originally hailed from. You get pulled into this conflict and after you put on your iconic horned Iron Helmet you'll realize you are the Dragonborn, and it is up to you to save Skyrim!

Skyrim is an immense game - every day you start playing Skyrim for a few hours, you plunge into a different adventure. You get the feeling this game simply has no end because no matter how much you play, no matter how many quests you complete, your quest log is still bursting at its seams with more quests. Everytime you conclude something, there's more waiting for you just around the corner. You can invest hours and hours into this game, thinking you'll complete it soon, but three weeks later you'll find yourself saying the same thing. Skyrim is probably the largest singleplayer game ever made in human history - sure, people have logged more hours into MMORPGs, RTS games and such, but I'm talking about just following the narrative story of a game and not doing anything repetetively - Skyrim comes out on top with almost FOUR HUNDRED hours of gameplay on average (i.e. exploring every single dungeon, reading most of the books, doing every single non-repetitive (non-radiant) quest, and both expansions). If you play this game for two hours everyday, you will be playing it for more than six months straight. I am not kidding. That's how big it is.

Dragonborn

While Hearthfire simply allows you to buy three plots of land in different Holds that originally didn't offer player homes and construct your very own house using lots of building materials, Dragonborn is an actual story expansion to the game. You start being chased by mysterious cult-like agents across Skyrim, who follow the orders of their master who resides on the island of Solstheim, far to Skyrim's north-east, almost above the northern borders of Morrowind. You must travel there and explore that island and uncover its mysteries. Dragonborn thus is like a mini Skyrim province of its own, netting you several dozen hours of new exploration and gameplay. Solstheim is a unique experience indeed, because the island's climate is split into North (being snow covered and very Skyrim-like) and South (volcanic ashland reminiscent of Morrowind). Furthermore, Solstheim comes with several pieces of music from TES III: Morrowind, which means that players who havent played Morrowind will be able to step into a new atmosphere and players who have will be drowned in nostalgia. A lot of Dark Elf culture is also prevalent on Solstheim, with flora and fauna, armor, food and drink bring that of Morrowind. There are three settlements on the island - the small Dunmer inhabited port of Raven Rock, Tel Mithryn (home to Telvanni wizard Neloth and his servants) and the Nord Skaal Village. There is also a new daedric plane of Oblivion for you to explore, borrowing many elements from Lovecraftian horror.

Dawnguard

While you get to explore Solstheim in Dragonborn, most of Dawnguard takes place within the borders of Skyrim. However, emphasis here lies on most - i.e, not all of it. Dawnguard still manages to take you to wondrous places outside of Skyrim you never thought you would travel to. It is a unique and thrilling experience that lasts you for hours and hours, as, operating out of Fort Dawnguard in the south-eastern tip of Skyrim, you basically traverse all corners of the land in search of Vampire hunters to gather, Vampires to slay and secrets to uncover regarding their sinister ambitions. You also gain a new companion who has a lot more character than any of the default Skyrim ones, and can finally get your hands on the Crossbow! The Dawnguard quest is so large and expansive that it literally feels like a 2nd main quest - except the antagonists this time around aren't dragons, but Vampires. And the best thing is, you can alternately decide to join the Vampires and experience the questline from their perspective instead! Definitely worth having.

All in all, the best thing about Skyrim is the game world itself. The quests are great, but people may say previous TES titles were more captivating in this regard. However, it is a FACT that no previous TES title has its gameworld as beautifully and captivatingly designed as Skyrim. If you think Oblivion planes and alternate dimensions are fictitious, think again. Once you play Skyrim, you really are transported into this province and your real life self will take a significant toll as you will spend so much time in this realm instead! Skyrim proves that it's not just MMOs that can drain your real life away and make you entirely hooked. 5, out of 5 stars for a singleplayer game so immersive, that you just want to keep playing, without even having spent a single minute online meeting other players.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, but gets a bit old after a while, 5 April 2014
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is the best game I have ever played! The lore and immersion is great and the storyline is one of the best in any game at the moment. The combat and overall game is brilliant, but after a while the game becomes a bit boring and repetitive. What annoys me is that most quests end up being; go into this dungeon/bandit fort/dragon peak mountain and kill lots of undead zombies and then find what we sent you for and at the end fight a tough opponent like a dragon priest and find a dragon word wall. There are still fun parts like the shouting and taking an arrow to the knee, but it does get repetitive as I said. Still, I'd say you have about 250 hours of gameplay before it gets boring. The add-ons are also exactly what the game needed - new content. But they were all finished in about 75 hours. N.B. Leave the civil war quest to the end of the game; 200 hours plus, by which time you should have over 100 level (if you make skills legendary). Then use console commands to use over 10 followers - SOOO FUN! Also, very rewarding when working on a house of your own in Hearthfire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic Game in the Elder Scrolls Series, 24 Jan. 2014
By 
Sophy's Mum (Buckinghamshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I am hooked on Skyrim. This edition (Legendary) also contains three other add-ons, and I only paid £16 delivered, so surprised to see it has risen in price now. Having played all the previous games in the Elder Scrolls series, I was anxious to get my hands on this latest one, but was initially put off by having to go through Steam. As my BB connection is less than reliable I was concerned I wouldn't get to play much. However,one of the gamers on Amazon told me you can play offline once registered, and the game loaded up a treat. I have been playing since it arrived, but only nibbled at the edges really, it is a real epic. If you've played Oblivion, Anniversary edition you'll know how beautiful PC gaming can be. Well, take a further leap forward with Skyrim - wonderful landscapes that make you want to ride your horse over to that distant horizon. The skies are wonderful too. Weather and time of day are faithfully rendered. Riding the horse seems to be a lot easier than in Oblivion, which means you can initially use them to get around quicker. You can also fast travel to places you have been before, saving a lot of slogging over old territory. The journal and map also make it easier to trace where you should be going. Ports have transport boats, and it is up to you what you want to tackle next. You can also mine various ores and use them to forge your own armour and weapons at the blacksmiths dotted around. If you really get stuck on a mission, just google it and you will usually find the answer. Can't wait to get back to tackling those dragons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game Better On Pc, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I've had this game on both xbox and pc and the latter is definitely better than xbox. the legendary bundle offers value for money and was cheaper than even steam. it's an amazing game and I would definitely recommend to gamers both boy and girl. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pure masterpiece, 6 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
The elder scrolls 5 has a strong place in my heart for one of THE best games I have ever played. The open world terrain and sand box features gives you and extreme area to adventure! Whether its slaying dragons or collecting ingredients skyrim always has a twist to its tail.
20000% repeatable! You could start of as a different race or join a different guild or group. You can choose your playing style and develop or change it over time whether its being a Mage using magic, being stealthy pick pocketing and using your bow for stealth or being a string warrior with the best armour and weapons in skyrim.

A must BUY! I'm level 60 and I still haven't seen a quarter of skyrim :) never ending fun, looks great, loads of story lines and twists and just pure awesome :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This is my first foray into the world of Skyrim and I am thoroughly enjoying the experience. Unlike many games today which seem to be geared up for multiplayers and be very short for the single player, Skyrim has provided me with hours of gameplay and I have only reached level 10! From the excellent guide, it seems I have many more levels to look forward to. This legendary edition is excellent value for money and I can see many more hours of enjoyment from this game with its brilliant graphics and storyline. If you are fed up with expensive games with only a few hours of single player action, this is the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome. And you can play offline., 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great game! I don't play many computer/video games these days (not much time) but this game makes you want to play again, great graphics and so atmospheric - you DO feel totally immersed in that world. And it's just MASSIVE! So many side quests as well as the main ones. Sometimes i do leave it for a while before picking it back up again but always a joy to come back to. The longevity therefore is very good as it are it's controls.
Being the PC version it does have to be played through the "Steam" program where you must have an account set-up with, a little annoying but that's the industry and software in general these days - you always have to register with everything which I dispise. That said the Steam portal allows you to save acheivements and see the game progress and allows updates. And, most thankfully, you CAN still play it offline so if you wish to play the game on holiday, like i was, where there is no Internet connection it is possible to do so :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim Legendary Edition (PC DVD)
£13.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews