Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year
If there is a better album then 'El Pistolero' this year then I'd like to hear it. Mick Brown is a real talent - he plays good guitar, has a great voice and is a fine songwriter. The album flows beautifully and successfully tells the story of the gunslinger (El Pistolero) who finally meets his match. My only slight criticism is that most of the really great songs come in...
Published 9 months ago by JohnRob

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potential!
This band are killer live! This set of tunes has grown on me but not as immediate as the previous set. Some interesting departures and I never tire of his voice. Old school grunge leanings can still be heard but the metal is pushing through and I found them even more metal live! Power trio making a massive noise, watch out the next offering could put them in another...
Published 8 months ago by Jonathan Hatchard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year, 16 July 2013
This review is from: El Pistolero (Audio CD)
If there is a better album then 'El Pistolero' this year then I'd like to hear it. Mick Brown is a real talent - he plays good guitar, has a great voice and is a fine songwriter. The album flows beautifully and successfully tells the story of the gunslinger (El Pistolero) who finally meets his match. My only slight criticism is that most of the really great songs come in the second half of the album, so it is a bit of a slow starter on the first few listens. Highlights for me are 'Dead Garden', the magnificent 'Scream in Silence', 'Hangman', the equally magnificent 'There's a Man', the poignant 'Until The War Is Won' and the pulsating climax 'Now I Ride'.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good modern old school rock album!, 12 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Pistolero (Audio CD)
Iblike the way they sound sometimes like Alice in Chains with a bit of Soundgarden vocally at times but still manages to sound current and fresh
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Potential!, 8 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Pistolero (Audio CD)
This band are killer live! This set of tunes has grown on me but not as immediate as the previous set. Some interesting departures and I never tire of his voice. Old school grunge leanings can still be heard but the metal is pushing through and I found them even more metal live! Power trio making a massive noise, watch out the next offering could put them in another bracket if they keep improving!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fine cd, 29 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Pistolero (Audio CD)
No frills, seventies-based rock. No more, no less. Naff lyrics at times, but hey, let's rock. Look forward to seeing this band live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get it NOW, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Pistolero (Audio CD)
You need this album !! It is one of the best cd's I've heard in ages. Not one bad track, it rocks from
begining to end. Have also seen them live and they are awesome.
The vocals,guitars are deep and amazing. Do yourself a favour,buy it, listen to it loud and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars El Pistolero, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Pistolero (Audio CD)
Tracer are one of the finest young rock bands out there at the moment and are building on the outstanding full album 'Spaces in Between' and the magnificent EP 'L.A.?'. They're on tour in the UK in June, my tickets are already booked!

The premise of writing an epic, 'themed' album is a brave one for the 'difficult second album' and Tracer, thanks mainly to more intelligent song-writing and some rocking guitars (Michael) and drums (Dre), almost pull off a classic.

My tiny issues with El Pistolero are that the bass (now that Leigh has left) seem to be too dominant & simplistic (session performer before Jett came on board?) and don't support the basic harmonies Tracer seemed to so effortlessly pull off with the first two releases. I also think that the album's theme perhaps limits the breadth that could have been explored without this Robert Rogruez's El Mariachi / cowboy spine running through and dictating mood.

In all though, Tracer's strength manages to prevent this becoming a novelty album and it is a very fine effort but for me, falls just a bit short of the first two...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic CD from one of the best live bands around, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Pistolero (Audio CD)
5 star rating because there isn't one bad song on this CD. All great songs! Try to catch this band live if you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars El Pistolero - Tracer, 29 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Pistolero (Audio CD)
I love this! I had never heard of Tracer until I saw them recently and was amazed at how good they were. For a relatively unknown band they rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album from a solid band, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Pistolero (Audio CD)
Great album from the Aussies, love the Desperado influences and good mix of musical styles. Some nice riffs and the vocals are brilliant too, this band deserve to be heard as much as possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesom, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Pistolero (Audio CD)
My one and only purchase from Tracer , let me re word that . " This is my first Purchase but not my last . Love it !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac6e59e4)

This product

El Pistolero
El Pistolero by Tracer
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews