Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best western movies for all ages - MUST see
When I first saw this movie...many years ago on TV I loved it. I was so excited with the story, the scenery, the gunfights...I loved that smiling, black-dressed cowboy (Burt Lancaster) even though I didn't know who he was. The story goes as follows:
Gary Cooper (playing a decent, honest, gentleman cowboy) and Burt Lancaster (a selfish-antihero cowboy) portray...
Published on 24 May 2002

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good film but...
Vera Cruz is a very good western but this is an awful DVD transfer. The film has been transferred at the wrong ratio (losing a good 20% of the image) and the image itself is dull and hazy, with colours blurring outside their lines. A film of this quality (just as a film I'd give it four stars) deserves a much better DVD release. I'd say only buy this if you are desperate...
Published on 12 Aug 2009 by Lawrence Sutcliffe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Western and Latino Spectacular!, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera Cruz [DVD] (DVD)
Oh,I cant believe the 2 and 3 star ratings for this,theres even a 1.The production values are all present and correct.A kind of western road movie with blood and bullets!Youve got an epic movie that shouldve run for 140mins,that runs for 88minutes which is brilliant.Burt Lancaster sharing billing with Gary Cooper.The story.An awkward friendship,spaniards,prussians,confederates,yankees and cowboys,what more could you ask of a movie.Ill tell you.Charles Bronson,Ernest Borgnine,Casar Romero and Jack Elam,plus,explosions,gunfire,fistfights,duels,romance,double crosses and twists,plus shot in glorious colour which for 1954 was pretty rare.Being though you can see this is big budget,black and white wouldve been wasted on this,this movie has it all,even for non western fans.TERRIFIC STUFF.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vera Cruz DVD, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera Cruz [DVD] (DVD)
As a western fan this film does not dissapoint. This is Burt Lancaster at his best,with his toothy grins and comic dialogues.Gary Cooper plays his part in this top class western story and ending with the usual shootout. As this is an old film the picture quality is not quite as good as a new film would be, but quite acceptable. Highly recommended. N.H.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Vera Cruz, 19 Nov 2011
By 
John Graham - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great spectacular western shot in south America.
The 1950's pace of the film is a little slower than today's films but the acting and actors are first class.
Although the film does not appear to be restored,it's still the best available at the moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cooper and lancaster are sizzling., 20 Aug 2011
This review is from: Vera Cruz [DVD] (DVD)
yet again a superb western directed by burt lancaster's film company, it's a mixture of action and humour by both stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific, fun, 'Western-noir', 5 Feb 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vera Cruz (DVD)
Excellent, fun, dark western-noir. Gary Cooper, and especially Burt Lancaster are terrific. Lots of good plot twists, double dealing, action sequences, and murky morality in the best Robert Aldrich tradition.

Both men are mercenaries working for the highest bidder in the Mexican revolution, while planning to steal a fortune in gold from both their employers and from each other.

Not quite powerful enough a to be a great film, but fun enough to be enjoyable even on 2nd viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A terrific, fun, 'Western-noir', 13 Jun 2010
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vera Cruz [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent, fun, dark western-noir. Gary Cooper, and especially Burt Lancaster are terrific. Lots of good plot twists, double dealing, action sequences, and murky morality in the best Robert Aldrich tradition.

Both men are mercenaries working for the highest bidder in the Mexican revolution, while planning to steal a fortune in gold from their employers and from each other.

Not quite powerful enough a to be a great film, but fun enough to be enjoyable even on 2nd viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars vera cruz dvd 1954, 3 April 2009
By 
Kathleen Houston (Northern Ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera Cruz [DVD] (DVD)
husband loved it, sometime we forget about the older films, because we see so many new films and can,t wait to buy them. but hey never forget there is many of the old films that are very good to watch and they didn't need blood and Gorey bits to enjoy them, so try the older films for a change you might be impress. or treat some western lovers with this good film.with burt landcaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as good as they claim, 5 Jun 2008
By 
T. King (Portadown, Armagh United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vera Cruz [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this film for my collection on the strength of the other reviews. Bad mistake. The quality of the transfer is poor and getting to the end of the movie was a challenge. NOT one for the collection imho.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Western, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera Cruz [Blu-ray] [1954] (Blu-ray)
I have always loved this film and had it on DVD but always wanted it on Blu-ray. Sadly some of the print transfer is not that good but doesn't detract from the excellent storyline. Could have done with some better extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Vera Cruz on DVD, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vera Cruz [DVD] (DVD)
what happened to the colour
may have been the full version but poor quality "print"
a shame to spoil such a classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vera Cruz [Blu-ray] [1954]
Vera Cruz [Blu-ray] [1954] by Robert Aldrich (Blu-ray - 2013)
8.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews