Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read
I didn't really read thrillers until I was recommended integration by Stephen Edger last year. Now I'm a big fan and this book was a great introduction into some other great writers. Stephen has a unique way of writing and you will either love it or hate it, personally I love it. Keep up the great work Stephen and thanks for the introduction to a few other great authors.
Published 14 months ago by mrs h

versus
1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish
Absolute rubbish, would get refund if possible. Do not get it even though it is now free, still a rip-off
Published 10 months ago by mack


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Toll (Kindle Edition)
I didn't really read thrillers until I was recommended integration by Stephen Edger last year. Now I'm a big fan and this book was a great introduction into some other great writers. Stephen has a unique way of writing and you will either love it or hate it, personally I love it. Keep up the great work Stephen and thanks for the introduction to a few other great authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 30 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Toll (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading not just Stephens work, but other writers I don't normally read. Well written and a joy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and thought provoking, 24 July 2013
By 
Ian Barker (Bolton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Toll (Kindle Edition)
A range of short stories on the common theme of killing, this book will take you to a variety of locations and scenarios. From major league conspiracies in Afghanistan to small time burglaries in England.

The stories themselves are well written and thought provoking. The book is rather let down by its presentation with rather too many editing and formatting errors. Overall though a collection well worth exploring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stuff, 14 Jun 2013
By 
Kay (Cheshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Toll (Kindle Edition)
Death Toll Enjoyed this collection of macabre stories very much. Each just the right length and very individual in their approach. I'd find it hard to choose the best though the first, probably more because it was the first and so came as a surprise, has stuck in my mind the most. I can highly recommend this little collection of gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent line up of stories - variety and quality!, 14 May 2013
By 
J. N. Furr "philebus1972" (West Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Toll (Kindle Edition)
An anthology of different authors is always going to be a mixed bag and that can be a strength or a weakness - to be a strength it needs to be consistent in quality and keep its variety in its content. I'm happy to say that this one works nicely.

The two longest stories, which feel like the backbone of the book, are long enough to be short novellas.

The first of these, Donetsk Calling by Alex Shaw is part of his Hetman series of thrillers and although part of a series it stands alone very well - however, if you have read the other two novels (Hetman, and Cold Black (Hetman 2)) then you'll enjoy seeing the return of some familiar characters. Set in Kiev, in The Ukraine, this features Aiden Snow, former SAS and now SIS agent, seeking to help an old friend who would appear to have been kidnapped. Shaw knows the city well and understands its politics and underworld, making good use of this to weave a story with a little twist amongst the action to keep it interesting.

The second of these is by Liam Saville, a new author who is seeking to start a new series of his own with Predator Strike. Ex-Australian military, he again knows his stuff, introducing Sam Ryan a captain in the Military Police making a blend of the Military Thriller and Mystery genres. Like Shaw, Saville makes good use of his knowledge and experience to create a convincing thriller out of an entertaining premise, and again, giving us a little twist in the tale. I shall definitely be looking out for more offerings from this author.

There are two stories from Stephen Leather: Hiatus and Breaking In, both of which feature burglars (albeit very different in methods) who find their efforts taking very unexpected turns. Rather than being action pieces, these are stories about the grittier side of crime and murder and, as you might expect from this author, they make for entertaining reading and great additions to this mix.

Four other tales complete the line up...

The Assassin's Mistress, a hit-man finds his personal and professional lives on a collision.

In Best Served Cold, a man is awoken in the night to find himself the prime suspect in his wife's murder.

Goodbye Marian, Sorry, an ordinary Joe with a penchant for making right guesses finds help from the woman he kidnaps after awaking to find himself lying next to the body of his maid.

In Under Cover of Death, a Taliban soldier finds himself suspected of being a traitor and having to make an impossible choice.

All in all, this is great value for a good helping of varied entertainment - Five stars from me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Read, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Toll (Kindle Edition)
This is a great little collection by different authors. It is good to know that short stories haven’t died a death; quick tasty little bites for busy writers as well as readers. I enjoyed the diversity, the different styles and of course, lots of killing. Jack Ryan is my absolute hero! Naturally a few of the plots are better than others, with neat surprising endings. I definitely recommend this book and would suggest ignoring the editing (it only jarred at first) because the content is worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 6 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. R. Wainer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Toll (Kindle Edition)
A must read. Thrilling. Great story and so very typical of Steve Leathers stories. Excellent price and well recommended. 5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death Toll (Kindle Edition)
Absolute rubbish, would get refund if possible. Do not get it even though it is now free, still a rip-off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Death Toll
Death Toll by Howard Manson
1.53
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews