Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book an Easy Read from The Easy Rider
I have just finished reading this book and thought it was brilliant. Like many people i loved watch the cycling at the Olympics and knew of Rob from press and TV. A great background to how cycling has changed in the UK over the past few years , all told in a very relaxed and easy to read style. Cycling fan or not I am sure everyone will enjoy the behind the scenes look...
Published 14 months ago by Neil Sands

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its honest!
Yes Rob Hayles is a very likeable man, no doubt about that, but the review is really about the book and not rob, although sometimes its hard to split the two. The book is easy to read and I think the writer has honestly captured the essence of Robs career. You cant help read this and think about Robs negative attitude which really permeates the read. I think if Rob had...
Published 14 months ago by E. Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book an Easy Read from The Easy Rider, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Rider: My Life on a Bike (Kindle Edition)
I have just finished reading this book and thought it was brilliant. Like many people i loved watch the cycling at the Olympics and knew of Rob from press and TV. A great background to how cycling has changed in the UK over the past few years , all told in a very relaxed and easy to read style. Cycling fan or not I am sure everyone will enjoy the behind the scenes look told honestly and with a nice bit of humour as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading, 22 April 2014
By 
M. G. Peck "muza" (new zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good warts and all account of his career, I was especially interested in his Corfidis days and the pro circuit, interesting reading on his relationship with David Millar & a young Cav. Easy reading and got through it in a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read about a guy racing bikes not so long ago., 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Rider: My Life on a Bike (Kindle Edition)
To be frank - I loved this book !
Read in three days whilst ill, layed out on a sun lounger
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big cheer for one of cycling's coolest customers, 29 Jun 2013
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book starts off a bit unpromisingly. Rob Hayles is one of the UK's most medalled track and road cyclists, with a completely appealing character - calm and laid back where others are uptight and fighty - hence the title 'Easy Rider'. But Hayles is so incapable of blowing his own trumpet or being melodramatic about ANYTHING, even winning medals, that sometimes you go, Jeez Rob, talk yourself up a bit will you?!

And I felt the ghostwriter did an unconvincing job of sufficiently allow Hayles to explain a lot of the story's early events. For example new characters were constantly being introduced without any background. (Were the publishers imagining that Rob Hayles' book would only appeal to readers who were already 'cognoscenti', needing no introductions? Well anyway, I bought it, and I needed more introduction!)

So it really got going for this reader, anyway, about half way through. Some highlights: There are wonderful allusions to the slightly grumpier side of Bradley Wiggins :-); there is a really interesting section on what it was like to go to Cofidis to ride alongside David Millar - if you've read Racing Through the Dark: The Fall and Rise of David Millar this is a great complement to that. (See the crazy Biarritz cycling scene from a different angle....)

It is also pretty fascinating when Hayles and his wife-to-be have to struggle through an Olympics where one of them is doing well and one hasn't been so fortunate. She is a swimmer and clearly found the less committed training regimes of cyclists (!) a bit annoying at times. All very interesting.

He's such a charming, likeable character, who has done so much good stuff, that you want to give the book five stars, but all in all I did feel there were some structural issues about where the book focused, and how the story was told, which i'm going to blame on the ghostwriter! It's not as immediately gripping as Millar's painful account, or Boy Racer, but it's nonetheless enjoyable. So 5 stars for Rob for being the best guy, and probably 3 for the ghostwriter, averaging out at a 4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Rider: My Life on a Bike (Kindle Edition)
Rob like so many others was there at the start of the British cycling revolution & did so much for the sport! Shame he's not received the same amount of recognition! Top bloke, top book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a gripping read!, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Rider: My Life on a Bike (Kindle Edition)
I echo what other reviewers have said about Rob Hayles, A self assured,modest,driven champion who deserved what he worked for and more.A good friend and confident to those around him and a genuinely nice guy! Would recommend to any biking nuts like me,I genuinely found it hard to put the book down even after taking so long in getting round to reading it! Made a lot of sense to the other books I have read recently about Cav,Wiggo and Dave Millar . A truly good read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good book with plenty of interesting details, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting book which gives a detailed insight into the author. Bought for my cyclist Son who is delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Rider: My Life on a Bike (Kindle Edition)
Modest and honest, Rob's career is as much a biography of British Cycling and a reminder of how far we've come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easy rider is an easy read, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rob was a great allround cyclist and a winner in all disciplines.
His entertaining book was difficult to put down as it was such a variety of cycling subjects from an inspiring fellow who is a great role model for developing riders.His personality makes him an excellent commentator so surely he will remain prominent within our sport.
Typically his last event was a hill climb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Old Style Goodness !, 5 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Rider: My Life on a Bike (Kindle Edition)
A book about cycling. A cycling book for the fans. When cycling was for cyclists and the masses looked on and wondered. Enough reading about drugs, read about cycling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Rider: My Life on a Bike
4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews