Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to DVD?
I watched this series about a year ago and enjoyed it enormously. It is very surprising that it has not made it to British TV, or indeed a second series. I understand that a second series was planned but was dropped at the last moment. The show typifies the best of Scandinavian crime drama with multiple layers of interest combining romantic, political and social...
Published 24 months ago by peter Willett

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
It was to "earthy" for me to watch, so I gave up on it.
Published 1 month ago by smudge


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight to DVD?, 2 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Anno 1790 [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series about a year ago and enjoyed it enormously. It is very surprising that it has not made it to British TV, or indeed a second series. I understand that a second series was planned but was dropped at the last moment. The show typifies the best of Scandinavian crime drama with multiple layers of interest combining romantic, political and social commentary within the plots . Although set in the late 18th century amongst the political turmoil following the French revolution its still can be enjoyed as crime drama. However,it captures the different approach a detective would have to take in an era where it did not seem to matter who was convicted of a murder so long as somebody was. SVT went to a lot of trouble creating superb sets and location shots and the show really deserves the widest audience possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like nothing you've ever seen, 29 Aug. 2013
By 
Steve Paradis (Davison, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Anno 1790 [DVD] (DVD)
Seriously--the attention to period detail of "Barry Lyndon" with the attention to plot and mystery of a taut thriller. Add to that the novel, unfamiliar setting of Stockholm in the age of revolution. (If a title comes up with "Edinburgh 1790", you can bet you'll hear or see Robert Burns in the next half hour--no such foreknowledge here.)
Great to have 10 episodes of this--think of it as a very long, good movie--and criminal to think that the second season was put on hiatus. They were clearly building up to the literally operatic assassination of King Gustav (the basis for Verdi's Un Ballo in Maschera) and the turmoil that followed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your New Favourite Scandinavian Show, 16 May 2013
This review is from: Anno 1790 [DVD] (DVD)
Arrow Films bold decision to expand its Nordic Noir range beyond what is being screened by BBC Four has led to Scandinavian TV archives being dusted down and some high quality shows being given a DVD release. Already this year we've been treated to The Protectors, Unit One, and Van Veeteren - stunning shows that not only stand comparison with Borgen, The Bridge, and The Killing but are also equal to any American series currently being produced.
The latest series from Arrow's Nordic Noir label, Anno 1790, boasts some of the most spectacular production values from any show released as part of this range. Set in the year 1790, The Killing is mashed up with Borgen in a tale that encompasses political intrigue, murder, the battle to suppress science and maintain the church's influence over society - all set against a backdrop of a Europe in fear of imminent revolution.

As the Russo-Swedish war draw to a close naval surgeon Johan Gustav Dåådh trades the battlefields for palaces and inner city slums. Death makes no distinction between politician and manual worker. In the era prior to the discovery of Penicillin life was snuffed out all too easily. This is an age when a person might be flogged to death for stealing an apple or murdered by an ambitious political rival.
Knowledge of human anatomy was limited in 1790. For most doctors the only way to gain access a corpse was to obtain the services of grave robbers but our hero travels a very different path. In private conversation with a city official Dåådh admits to wanting to further his knowledge unaware that he will soon have ample opportunity to do so as he is forced to perform an autopsy on a local dignitary found dead in a woman's boudoir.

No expense has been spared on the costumes or set dressing. This is quality drama that deserves to hold the rank of your new favourite Scandinavian series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliantly atmospheric, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anno 1790 [DVD] (DVD)
Just what is it that the Scandinavians are doing to make their detective thrillers so interesting. There's nothing like this on British TV - very well acted and great story lines. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 4 Feb. 2014
This review is from: Anno 1790 [DVD] (DVD)
I love period and good detective TV. This combines both perfectly. Fairly graphic, but probably quite realistic for the period. I have to admit that I found it looking for more 'Nordic Noir' but very glad I did. My only gripe is that there is no sign of a season 2.

I can never understand why people buy boxed sets as I never watch anything twice - I will make an exception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeded my expectations, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anno 1790 [DVD] (DVD)
Great screenplay, direction, actors and costumes.
Peter Eggers's performance was fantastic in the role of Dåådh... He is a real breath of fresh air!
What a shame that the 2nd series has never been produced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A GEM OF A SERIES, DESERVING A WIDER AUDIENCE, 5 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. D. L. Rees "LEE DAVID" (DORSET) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Anno 1790 [DVD] (DVD)
Revolutionary times, Sweden's King determined the country will not go the way of France. Any hint of sedition must be ruthlessly suppressed. Chief of Police Wahlstedt is keen to oblige, and appoints Daadh as the new District Commissioner. This surprises Daadh, a surgeon eager to return to sea. It infuriates devious jailer Nordin, who was after the post.

Ten episodes, each almost an hour. Visually a treat. Much elegance when in the homes of the rich. No holding back on the squalor when with the poor. (Somebody did a particularly good job casting the latter lot - faces reflecting the struggle to cope, ever mindful a word out of place may have painful, even fatal, consequences.)

There is much to admire. Intriguing murder cases, the identity of the culprit often a surprise. Peter Eggers excels as the resourceful, if unwilling, detective. Daadh secretly sympathizes with the revolutionaries' ideals, but not with their methods. Particularly enjoyed is the chemistry between him and his batman Freund (Joel Spira), who is determined his master will not stray. (This is a real worry, for Wahlsted's wife is very beautiful....)

Undercurrents abound. What to do, for example, when the villain is a member of the Establishment - exposure likely to fuel the country's agitators? What about that truly loathsome, manipulative pastor? Surely he cannot be allowed to get away with such deeds? Daadh has to tread a very careful path, especially with odious (often spitting) Nordin actively plotting his downfall.

Immensely enjoyable, the English subtitles surprisingly soon no distraction.

Sadly no second season. Savour then all the more what there is here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dåådh good, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anno 1790 [DVD] (DVD)
We get to know the five main characters quite quickly: Dåådh the investigator (observant, thoughtful, intrepid, closet democrat), his boss (conservative, imperious, hasty, disdainful), his rival (evil, ambitious, scheming, stupidly cunning), his servant (faithful, religious, alcoholic, sulky) and his boss's wife (dutiful, beautiful, demure, closet neo-democrat). They don't develop much across the series, though their stories entwine more and more.

Each episode is a story in itself. They are, to be honest, rather pedestrian and formulaic (several follow, broadly, the line: murder, someone caught red-handed, arrested and tortured, Dåådh suspects the real criminal, but has an ethical and political problem to resolve if he is to reveal him). Still, they are satisfying in the way Inspector Morse or an Agatha Christie story is satisfying - you know that the truth will out and Dåådh will triumph.

The decor and the costumes are extremely impressive. The models of the roofs of Stockholm are a little unconvincing, and it's not obvious why the director decided to use them, particularly in that the street scenes really seem to plunge the viewer into what every-day life might have been like a couple of hundred years ago. The glimpse into the mores of the time (particularly in the unpleasant views early in the series of what prisons were like, or the toe-curling way in which Dåådh's boss condescends to his wife) are well-drawn and persuasive. In general, violence is off-screen, but there's quite a lot of it. The whole thing knits together to give us what feels like a good first approximation to life in 1790 Stockholm.

All in all, a very agreeable way of passing an evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Detective series set against revolutionary Europe, 16 Jun. 2014
By 
Josh "The Claw" (Wherever I'm needed) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anno 1790 [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent TV series about a doctor who gets roped in to law enforcement in late 1700's Sweden, bringing enlightened thinking to the previously crude methods of investigation (formerly they just tortured the first obvious suspect into confessing). Fairly well done series that may however, good as it is, have been wisely dropped when it was. Many series long outstay their welcome in my opinion, and this tale had explored about all it could in the relationships and historical events of the setting. A change of scene would have been required to extend the doctor's story. Norse Noir for the historians amongst us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only one minor flaw!, 16 Nov. 2013
By 
Johnnie Thunman (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am going to keep this review short 'cuz the other reviewers has done a good job.This is a very good watch if you like crime series and/or period dramas.There is only one minor flaw.The soundtrack.Why not Mozart or some other contemporary ( maybe Kraus,just to have some of our own swedish composers? ;-)).This would surely get You in a mood suitable for the time it should portray.Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anno 1790 [DVD]
Anno 1790 [DVD] by Kristina Humle (DVD - 2013)
£13.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews