Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When It's a Jar
"This ... is a jar. A jar being a jar. Therefore it's not a door."

When I read Doughnut, the previously published book by Tom Holt, I thought at the time that he was really back on form; the old wit and delightful nuttiness of a Tom Holt book was back in this one. And When It's a Jar is even better. If you haven't read Doughnut, you are likely to want to,...
Published 9 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate
Tom Holt books usually have a nice idea behind them, this does, but not always well executed and sometimes confusing.
Published 6 months ago by DR PAUL E HELLIWELL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When it's ajar, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
What a great read. Should have more than 5 star. Couldn't put it down. Need more. Very funny, clever and witty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Paperback)
very good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars My brain hurts..., 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
I have read lots of Tom Holt books but maybe as a get older I just can't keep up with the multi layered time shifting circular strata of this. My brain hurt trying to remember who was who and why, eventually i didn't care which parallel universe they were in as long as it wasn't mine!

I remember his books simpler and funnier....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Holt on good form, and stranger than ever! (No Spoilers here), 18 May 2014
By 
Big Ben "fly_mo" (Bedford, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Paperback)
I found the all-new cast and context this a -little- bit slow to get going - but I cannot remember a Tom Holt romp that I did not enjoy thoroughly, so I kept reading despite a feeling of puzzlement, at first.
Well, it was puzzling for me! (As time goes by, this happens more often....).
But it gradually moves up a gear or two, and the separate threads start to weave into a rather-more-than-usually complex plot that kept me intrigued until (all too soon) it was over.
This is vintage Tom Holt - with a new twist that certainly pleased me. All the wry humour is there, as well as the light touch that makes him such a pleasure to read.
Recommended for all Tom Holt fans, as well as readers new to this excellent author, since this book is set in a fresh context.
(If this is your first Tom Holt, you have many other treats in store for you)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing Tom Holt, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Paperback)
In the past I have enjoyed all Holt's previous novels but not this one. The text was confused, dodging about from one place to another and never seemed to get going with a proper theme. I managed to finish reading it but it was hard going.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ... was part of our book club - my friend's recommended this author and I thought the title sounded cool ..., 5 Aug 2014
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Paperback)
This was part of our book club - my friend's recommended this author and I thought the title sounded cool so I bought it. Really weird story... too fantastical for me, I couldn't get into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as Good, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
I am not sure Tom has really got the hang of Youspace and the Multiverse, both this and Doughnut are too disconnected and all over the place to be fluent. I think Tom should return to more stories from J.W. Wells and leave Youspace alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars jarring too much, 6 Jan 2014
By 
Heebee (Highlands, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Paperback)
I hope it was just me in the wrong mood for a Holt, but I found this unfunny, tedious and verbose,
which is a pity because I've been reading him since the first book, and I'd hate to think the touch has been lost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Never finished., 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
Having read and enjoyed other Tom Holt books I was excited to see that a new one had been written.
It started off well but somewhere around the middle I just got bored of it all. This is the first time I have not finished a Holt book. I just didn't care where or how the story ended as I did not feel connected or invested in the characters at all. It just seemed to go on and on about nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When It's A Jar
When It's A Jar by Tom Holt
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews