Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When It's a Jar
"This ... is a jar. A jar being a jar. Therefore it's not a door."

When I read Doughnut, the previously published book by Tom Holt, I thought at the time that he was really back on form; the old wit and delightful nuttiness of a Tom Holt book was back in this one. And When It's a Jar is even better. If you haven't read Doughnut, you are likely to want to,...
Published 9 months ago by Keen Reader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate
Tom Holt books usually have a nice idea behind them, this does, but not always well executed and sometimes confusing.
Published 5 months ago by DR PAUL E HELLIWELL


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When It's a Jar, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Paperback)
"This ... is a jar. A jar being a jar. Therefore it's not a door."

When I read Doughnut, the previously published book by Tom Holt, I thought at the time that he was really back on form; the old wit and delightful nuttiness of a Tom Holt book was back in this one. And When It's a Jar is even better. If you haven't read Doughnut, you are likely to want to, before reading this. Otherwise you may find this book a rather more mind-bending experience than Tom Holt novels generally are.

This book follows on in a fashion from Doughnut; that is, the multiverse theory, and Theo Bernstein and his legacy from Professor van Goyen are referenced, and a whole new series of misadventures result. Maurice Katz finds himself an unwitting `hero', and as he's not sure what that even means, killing a dragon that has appeared in his bedroom seems to be the least of his worries.

This is a wonderfully witty and funny book; I enjoyed it even more than Doughnut - I think When It's a Jar has a more coherent narrative and has found its feet in the multiverse whereas Doughnut was still laying down the credentials. When It's a Jar has a delightful cast of characters, of whom Maurice is a great example of a chap whose life goes so far off course that he feels like his brain is leaking out his ears when he tries to make sense of it.

I complained in my review of Doughnut that the cover picture of the gloriously sugary doughnut kept making me hungry; the lovely rich jar of jam on the cover of this one didn't help any - now I just keep thinking of jam doughnuts ...

Wholeheartedly recommended, although you should definitely read Doughnut before tackling this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
Yet another triumph for Tom Holt. Well written, a little off the wall as you'd expect, but so well constructed with characters who come to life as the story develops. Looking forward to whatever's next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Adequate, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Paperback)
Tom Holt books usually have a nice idea behind them, this does, but not always well executed and sometimes confusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars VERY VERY Weird, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
Definitely one of the weirdest books I've ever read (and I've read quite a lot of weird books!) but also very good. Funny in places, confusing in others, but it all comes together and works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Holt at his lunatic best, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
I read this book before I realised that it was actually a sort of sequel to Tom Holt's previous book 'Doughnut' but it didn't matter, it can be read on it's own without knowledge of any of his other books. I've never read a Tom Holt book that I didn't like and this is no exception. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When its A Jar its a Hoot, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Sonia (RYE, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
Tom Holt on his best form, clever, witty and engaging.
A must for established fans.
If you are new to Holt read the Portable Door
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comedic writing at his best, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
Tom Holt is another brilliant SF author. His stories are lighthearted and
extremely funny. This book is comic genius at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a Jar, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Paperback)
Took a while to get into the story, , once a few chapters in it got better. Maybe not as good as past Tom Holt books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars god read, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed reading this book, which I bought for my kindle. Engrossed from the beginning I compled it in a couple of days. Liked its so much I the bought "doughnut" which, on reflection, i should have read first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and seemingly unique., 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When It's A Jar (Kindle Edition)
If only sliders had been as entertaining as this book it may have lasted longer.

Would love to see this and doughnut made into films by a creative director they could be great. Perhaps Terry Gilliam or someone with his vision.

My only criticism of the story is that the female character is sort of absence not sure if she could have had more impact.
I realise that these books work best from one characters perspective, though it may have been nice to understand what George was up to as realities never seem to make that clear and Stephanie seemed like great character though never clear in my mind.

Every one that likes to be entertained should read these books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When It's A Jar
When It's A Jar by Tom Holt
£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews