Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Brilliant, 10 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We need to all lift the lid on 2000 or so years of exciting and scarey and frequently tragic, but very laughable history of Christian believers. What has often been intolerably boring , dusty books for scholars with most Christians only going as far as gormless looking saints looking out from stained glass windows that we can just about remember the names of , or when a church magazine boringly announces predictably announces that next Tuesday is the feast of St Ethelred the very unready, and we don't even share a slice of buttered toast in their memory. What kind of a feast is that! .
Nick Page in this wonderful action packed book helps us to see something of the real mix up of heroes and villains, the struggles conflicts and disputes of passionate believers against people using and abusing power inside and outside churches. . So much of the story is about when when dominance of a church helped dominance by a king or baron or bishop of the people for their own agenda. Using material like this is just brilliant. Should be compulsory reading for all church leaders . I have a bit of a dream that the BBC would one day offer to commission Nick Page to do a TV series based on this! Or at least it would be great to explore cartoons or a powerpoint presentation to help us share some of the material with people who do not normally do books.
In the meantime what are your favorite bits?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Mar 2014
This review is from: A Nearly Infallible History of Christianity (Kindle Edition)
I love history, however not all authors in the genre is engaging. You cannot accuse Mr Page of this sin, no sir! He is sharp, witty (sometimes actually downright funny) and drawing you into story, whilst staying factual. Very good read...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, informative and great fun, 31 May 2014
By 
P. N. Green "Paul Green" (Rayne, Braintree, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seldom is a book about Christian history entertaining as well as informing but Nick Page pulls off both in this brilliant synthesis of a huge swathe of history. I have been so impressed that I have given away several copies and each person has actually read them (which says everything really!)
I am studying for a masters degree in Kingdom Theology and it surprised me how many times I have referred back to this book to get a perspective on issues such as: the creeds, the early church, the mystics, monasticism, etc. Nick links geography and social perspectives covering 2,000 years of confusing turmoil, strange terminology, and some very odd theological concepts to provide a wonderful big picture of God at work in the world.
Highly commended, whether you are a scholar or just vaguely interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really captivating read, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Nearly Infallible History of Christianity (Kindle Edition)
The insight that this book gives to the way we think or have our views shaped was interesting - take the time to get into it and the conclusion is really challenging
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Page-turner triumph!, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Come on Nick Page, when are you going to turn out a middle of the road, volume of work with boring bits and whole areas that I disagree with? Come on Page? Are you perfect or what?
It pains me to say that this is again another triumph for Mr Page and that this is too good for you to not buy right now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Religion can be fun!, 29 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amusing and informative. Well researched and full of fascinating facts. Two friends who looked at my copy have already bought it for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's simply brilliant!, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Nearly Infallible History of Christianity (Kindle Edition)
If you have a sense of humour coupled with a desire to find out things you may not have known before, read this book! It's wonderful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug 2014
By 
R. A. Mckeown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic - a perfect blend of fact and humour. Be prepared for very tongue-in-cheek comments and pictures. Super writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 21 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Nearly Infallible History of Christianity (Kindle Edition)
Interesting, well written with some humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant book., 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nick Page is a superb writer. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews