Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER CRACK TALE FROM JULIAN STOCKWIN
CARIBBEE is the fourteenth chapter in the life of Captain Thomas Kydd, is another master stroke from the pen of English novelist Julian Stockwin, whose splendid saga places him alongside preeminent naval fiction writers dating back to Captain Frederick Marryat. Stockwin's fine sense of the sea and the men who sailed Britain's "wooden walls" in its wars against...
Published 13 months ago by Quarterdeck

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A poor outing
A poor outing by Mr Stockwin. Most of the plot was so obvious it was painful to read. It read like a cut and paste job from previous books in the series with some new names but the same situations/plots. I hope his next book improves or I will conclude he has run out of ideas.
Published 13 months ago by Ronald Turnbull


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER CRACK TALE FROM JULIAN STOCKWIN, 12 Nov 2013
This review is from: Caribbee (Thomas Kydd) (Hardcover)
CARIBBEE is the fourteenth chapter in the life of Captain Thomas Kydd, is another master stroke from the pen of English novelist Julian Stockwin, whose splendid saga places him alongside preeminent naval fiction writers dating back to Captain Frederick Marryat. Stockwin's fine sense of the sea and the men who sailed Britain's "wooden walls" in its wars against Revolutionary and Napoleonic France, spliced with a brace of captivating characters in Kydd and Nicholas Renzi, engenders first-rate high adventure.

Dispatched aboard the frigate L'Aurore to the Caribbean by Commodore Popham, Kydd and Nicholas Renzi return to the "beguiling transparent jade water" and "dazzling white beaches" they had experienced some years earlier as Jack Tars aboard the cutter Seaflower. Arriving in Barbados, with orders to request reinforcements from the Leeward Islands Squadron for Popham's expedition off Buenos Aires, Kydd and L'Aurore instead are taken under the command of Admiral Thomas Cochrane in defense of the strategically critical sugar islands. Although initially delighted with the turn of events, Kydd unexpectedly encounters a black-hearted figure from his past, an unwelcome threat to his career. Despite this powder keg that may blow up at any moment, duty carries him forward. Napoleon, seeking revenge after Trafalgar, decrees that all "commerce and correspondence with the British islands are prohibited" and that all English subjects "who shall be found in the countries occupied by our troops, or by those of our allies, shall be made a prisoner of war." Terror sweeps through the islands, while the Royal Navy struggles to protect merchant shipping laden with "sweet gold" bound for European markets. There is action aplenty for Captain Kydd and L'Aurore, a staple in the Kydd novels, but always within the broader context of actual history. Intrigue ensues, as well, when Renzi's efforts to locate a mysterious enemy base harboring merchant raiders are turned against him, tarnishing his reputation as a sometime intelligence agent. And during a clandestine mission to right matters, Kydd is thought to have murdered a fellow naval officer.

Stockwin's ability to describe intricate bits of seamanship augments his crisp prose by placing readers smack in the midst of authentic and believable circumstances. In CARIBBEE, for instance, he describes L'Aurore getting under-way, "close-hauled across a [a] busy roadstead," while attempting to bring an "infernal lubber" inboard from a cutter, which is initially moving on another tack. The dramatic scene quickens the pulse, as the frigate gains momentum, navigating through a harbor bristling with working vessels. Thomas Kydd's unfinished biography, as told in Julian Stockwin's authoritative literary voice and style, is a captivating journey back in time to the days of Nelson.

CARIBBEE is another crack tale by one of the best storytellers of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 14 books in and this series shows no signs of flagging, 24 Oct 2013
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Caribbee (Thomas Kydd) (Hardcover)
Review

I have been a huge fan of this series since 2001, i stumbled across Kydd, i had no real love of sea going tales, and while i love the sight smell and sound of the sea, i get sea sick on a bus, so sailing is well and truly out for me. These books are the closest i can ever get to sailing the seas. The power of the sea and a storm always fascinates me, and i love the beach in a storm more than a sunny day. Its this that captured me at first, then the brilliantly woven characters, I was almost put off by the initial sea shanty style speech, but then i quickly came to love that part of the book, enjoying the musical quality it wove through the book.

Since then Kydd has improved himself, and this has sadly removed this lilting speech. What has remained though is an amazing fictional partnership between unlikely friends, Kydd and Renzi, two men who attack adversity rather than run from it, who live in a time of real men, hero;s both sung and unsung, or honour and action, Written by a man with salt water in his veins. Even someone as landlocked as me can feel the passion for the sea in every line.

14 books in and this series shows no signs of flagging, in fact it grows and improves with every book

as usual, very highly recommended and already purchased for other family members for xmas

(Parm)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever!, 10 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee: Thomas Kydd 14 (Kindle Edition)
Being addicted to "fighting sail" novels I have read them nearly all! Mr. Stockwins books are all well researched and among the best. His latest "Caribbee" is as good as ever with interesting characters and situations and an enjoyable read. I highly recommend this book and indeed the whole "Thomas Kydd" series to my fellow addicts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stockwin writes a good story, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee: Thomas Kydd 14 (Kindle Edition)
I've read all the series. I've also read many of the recognised authors of historical novels - Hornblower, O'Brian, Flashman, as well as Cornwell and Iggulden - Julian Stockwin gets better with each book and writes an excellently researched novel. He compares favourably and deserves recognition as a fine writer in tis genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
By 
Christopher A. Swan "Chrisa" (surrey UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee (Thomas Kydd) (Hardcover)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thomas Kydd, 5 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee: Thomas Kydd 14 (Kindle Edition)
Another excellent story from Julian Stockwin about the glorious days of the fighting sail.
Each story is as good as the last. He seems to have an inexaustable supply
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ad expected!, 19 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee (Thomas Kydd) (Hardcover)
A rip roaring tale of the seas every bit as good as all previous Julian Stockwyn books. Thomas Kydd rides again! Certainly would recommend..Can't wait until next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars latest (2104) saga in the Kydd series, 4 Mar 2014
By 
Andrew Paton "Andy Paton" (South of France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee (Thomas Kydd) (Hardcover)
I loved the yarn here, but then I have all the others also.Thomas Kydd excels himself and is recalled...... well you read the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great story about the Royal Navy in the 19th Century, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee: Thomas Kydd 14 (Kindle Edition)
I am a sucker for historical fiction anyway so I suppose I am a bit biased when it comes to this genre. However it is never a bad thing to read about someone even though he is fictional who triumphs against all the odds. It is also great to lose yourself in a world we can only imagine and try and put yourself in to the shoes of an observer witnessing the events of the time Stockwin manages to transport me there with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Entertainment at it's best., 18 Dec 2013
By 
R. N. Boulton (Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Caribbee: Thomas Kydd 14 (Kindle Edition)
Excellent sea yarn wonderfully written. Could not put it down - beautifully descriptive of the Caribbean and life in the Royal Navy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Caribbee: Thomas Kydd 14
Caribbee: Thomas Kydd 14 by Julian Stockwin
£4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews