Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Review
Ok..enough has been said about this film without me giving my five eggs worth. Needless to say: I love it.

It's the blu-ray you may care about. It looks and sound absolutely incredible. The back says it's had a 4k restoration and it certainly looks amazing.

There's a couple of Streisand 'fluff' featurettes on there too. And a UV Copy...
Published 22 months ago by Pantheon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Received this is a funny film.
Published 1 month ago by Hetty H.


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Review, 4 Jun. 2013
By 
Pantheon (Boston, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Funny Girl [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Ok..enough has been said about this film without me giving my five eggs worth. Needless to say: I love it.

It's the blu-ray you may care about. It looks and sound absolutely incredible. The back says it's had a 4k restoration and it certainly looks amazing.

There's a couple of Streisand 'fluff' featurettes on there too. And a UV Copy.

Audio and subtitles are:
English DTS-HD Master 5.0
French, German, Italian, Spanish Dolby Digital 5.0

Subtitles: English, English (HOH), Arabic, Chinese (Mandarin Simplified), Chinese (Mandarin Traditional), French, German, Hindi, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Spanish, Thai and Turkish.

If you love this film then I can highly recommend the upgrade to blu-ray!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 20 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Girl [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
How else could a musical fanatic respond to this great bluray treasure.
Thank you so much for the care put into this transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfection, 13 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Girl [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant, gorgeous and beautiful film. Barbara is magnificent and her voice is just the best. I'd recommend this to any lover of musicals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray Picture Perfect, 11 July 2013
By 
David E. Mitchell (Sydney, NSW) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Girl [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
It was well worth the wait. Columbia has done a 4-bit restoration and it is nearly perfect. I have given it only 4 stars as the sound is 5.0 DTS and not 5.1. It is a shame that the sub-woofer doesn't get a go. Apart from that I have no other issues with the restoration. Barbara won the Best Actress Oscar for her role in Funny Girl and well deserved. 1968 the only time in Best Actress history where there was a tie! The other joint winner was Katherine Hepburn for The Lion in Winter. Amazon.co.uk has Funny Girl at the moment as a Two for 10 pounds special - so be quick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Barbra Streisand At Her Best, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
C. Price (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Girl [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
If you like musicals this is a must. The blue ray quality is excellent as is the sound. Barbra Striesand makes a great Fanny Brice a girl determined to make it in show business and with Omar Sharif as her carming gambling husband makes for a great combination. This film is colourful and entertaining with some good songs. To sum up. This is a good old musical comedy with an excellent blue ray picture and really good 5 channel sound and a good storeyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny Girl dvd 1968, 26 Oct. 2013
By 
Ms. Jacqueline Dover "Bookworm" (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Girl [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
A must have for any collection of musicals. Barbra Streisand has never been better and Omar Sharif is an excellent Nick Arnstein.
The movie is a lovely blend of humour and pathos which really engages its audience. The songs are wonderful and the set piece production numbers fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You cant not love it!, 8 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Funny Girl [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
Its a classic and she is great - if not the best of all of her roles in this. This is the true Streisand! I love her performance here especially the first half! The songs are not my type - never been. But steel a few good ones: People, Id rather be blue: which you must love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Streisand at her best!, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Girl [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
What a pleasure it was watching my favourite film in superb Blu-ray. The clarity of the picture and quality of sound is wonderful, a must for any fan of this film or Ms Streisand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely memories of 1968, 8 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Rousen (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Girl [Blu-ray] [1968] (Blu-ray)
i choose the rating because the movie was one of my favourites,now my 10yr old grandaughter has been sing one of the songs i decided to buy her the actual movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 1 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Funny Girl [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Loved the movie and delivery time was very quick.

I would recommend the movie the songs are very catchy and the acting is also good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Funny Girl [Blu-ray] [1968]
Funny Girl [Blu-ray] [1968] by William Wyler (Blu-ray - 2013)
£9.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews