Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better that expected
After the success of previous Petrenko/Liverpool Shostakovich recordings I was counting the days to getting hold of this one, probably one of the most iconic of symphonies. Imagine the loudspeakers belting it out at the German Army across Leningrad, telling them the Russian Spirit will never be broken!
Petrenko has moulded the forces of the RLPO into a powerhouse...
Published 14 months ago by David Allsopp

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Petrenko Doesn't Quite Take-off, Sadly
I approached the new Petrenko interpretation of this Shostakovitch seventh with high expectations. It certainly has a fabulous recording, if at a slightly lower sound level than, say, the tenth symphony (an extraordinary issue on all levels); I found myself having to turn the sound up higher than usual for this one. As for the work, it needs to be said that this is one of...
Published 13 months ago by Fox


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better that expected, 30 April 2013
By 
David Allsopp "philologus" (Leighton Buzzard, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7, "Leningrad" (MP3 Download)
After the success of previous Petrenko/Liverpool Shostakovich recordings I was counting the days to getting hold of this one, probably one of the most iconic of symphonies. Imagine the loudspeakers belting it out at the German Army across Leningrad, telling them the Russian Spirit will never be broken!
Petrenko has moulded the forces of the RLPO into a powerhouse that has the ability and arsenal to bring it off without sounding at all stretched.
I wasn't disappointed - from the very first theme right up to the final mega-crescendo chord the musicians are completely in control and know precisely what they are stating. Every change in dynamic, every new colour and timbre is part of a unified message that comes from deep down inside the soul of this most Russian of Shostakovich's symphonies.
Recording quality is at the very top quality.
I am only missing 4, 13 and 14 and then I will own the definitive cycle of the symphonies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another triumph for a Great British Regional Orchestra in the hands of an inspired conductor!, 8 May 2013
By 
D. S. CROWE "Music Lover" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Never in my long experience has the quality of British Regional Orchestras been so astonishingly high. We take the London orchestras for granted, and indeed all the " Big Four"- and the ROH orchestra- are in superb form, but they no longer eclipse the Hallé, CBSO, Bournemouth and RSNO-and the RLPO as is evidenced on this recording yet again is a world class band in the hands of Petrenko.
I had the pleasure of hearing them deliver a thrilling performance of the original scoring of Petrouchka in the excellent acoustic of our Nottingham Royal Concert Hall in April 2013, and I can attest to the weight of tone and brilliance of execution captured here in this latest instalment of their Shostakovich cycle.
I've discussed the background of this work in other reviews, so I'll simply repeat that I am delighted that it now enjoys the reputation it deserves as one of the composer's finest works, and is now second only to the 5th in widespread popularity. My own allegiance to the 4th as his masterpiece remains unshaken, but I have always loved this work which I came to out of curiosity to hear what it was that Bartok so cruelly (and cleverly) lampooned.

Recordings made live in their Liverpool home venue do not produce quite the perfect results for the RLPO that the Birmingham Symphony Hall does for the CBSO, and there is a slightly "airless" feel about the recorded sound, but this is a hyper niggle and by any standards the recorded sound on this latest is release is stunning-almost to an excess, as the dynamic range is VERY wide and setting the volume to hear for example the entry of the snare drum at the commencement of the famous/infamous repetitive theme that depicts the German onslaught will later on result in the possible destruction of your speakers, and possibly even eardrums unless an intervention is made!

Petrenko's approach can be described as broad-79 minutes, just short of Bernstein-and an astonishing 6 minutes slower than the recent superb Nelsons/CBSO recording.
This more measured, weighty approach certainly conveys the inexorable grind of the military advance, and passages such as the depiction of the air raid sirens in the fist movement are almost excruciatingly painful in their horrific impact, and of course the slower pace in the first movements allows for more expression. There is a slight sacrifice of excitement compensated for by oppressive weight, a perfectly valid view.
However, where I expected the Adagio to be drawn out and wringing out the last vestige of intensity and pathos, it is in fact full of forward momentum, actually swifter than Nelsons by over a minute. It is very powerful, and the Liverpool strings can stand comparison with those of the Chicago, SPPO, Maryinsky and CBSO in the beauty, weight and perfection execution of their playing.
The final movement is simply brilliant and stunning! The augmented brass and massive percussive effects make the hair stand on end.
The beautiful packaging, the excellent notes, the artistry, the recording-and the price above all!-make this a top recommendation.
If I'm honest, I marginally prefer the recordings by Nelsons, Temirkanov (Signum) and Bernstein-but it IS a slim margin and when cost is factored in, this new recording comes out as a clear winner! What an asset Petrenko is!
5 Stars. Stewart Crowe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A landmark recording for the RLPO, 1 May 2013
By 
Mondoro (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following their highly acclaimed performance of the `Leningrad' at the Philharmonic Hall in January 2012, Petrenko and the Phil recorded this eagerly awaited CD a few months later. Their spacious (79' 15") account is remarkable for its dynamic range, from the barely audible drum taps that launch the `war machine' section of the first movement to the magnificent conclusion, with an augmented brass section proclaiming faith in ultimate victory.

Picking out orchestral sections/soloists for particular mention is difficult as the RLPO give us a truly excellent performance, but I would point out such less noticeable features like the bass clarinet musings that end the Adagio. Other high points in these middle movements are the warm string tone that follows the woodwind announcement of the opening theme in that movement, and the headlong, very Mahlerian outburst of passion in the middle of the otherwise staid and reflective second movement.

Petrenko makes a powerful case for the finale, too often dismissed as a mere exercise in bombast. After the initial, over-rhetorical introduction, he builds up the music from the intensity of the `sarabande' passage (at 6'), thence to the passacaglia, with its major/minor ambiguity, to reach the apotheosis in the major chord that ends the symphony in a blaze of glory. Above all, he convinces listeners that the `Leningrad', structurally one of the more uneven Shostakovich symphonies, is a great work.

Excellent analytical notes provided, as always, by Naxos. Don't hesitate; this is yet another landmark performance by the RLPO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Petrenko Doesn't Quite Take-off, Sadly, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I approached the new Petrenko interpretation of this Shostakovitch seventh with high expectations. It certainly has a fabulous recording, if at a slightly lower sound level than, say, the tenth symphony (an extraordinary issue on all levels); I found myself having to turn the sound up higher than usual for this one. As for the work, it needs to be said that this is one of the least characteristically 'Shostakovitch' of the fifteen symphonies, sharing similarities with the eleventh and twelfth. The three together represented 'official' Soviet music which the composer was compelled to produce from time to time. But I believe the seventh to be a substantial and powerful work with the right conductor, despite the frequent snobbery regarding it. You'd imagine that Petrenko would be ideal, but I found the first movement under-powered, beginning on the slow side and never really exciting me. The other movements fare better, and I found myself later more convinced, especially with the final allegro. But this performance never really takes off for me, and seems a little pedestrian as an interpretation. Yes, its well-played, but I suspect this is not the symphony that interests Petrenko in particular. You get the sense that he wants to get this one out of the way, and move on. I would recommend the Haitink version with the London Philharmonic (Decca), which grips you from beginning to end. In the hands of that great conductor, this really does come across as a considerable work. Petrenko's account is not 'bad' as such, just below par compared with his other fine Shostakovitch offerings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent account of this powerful work, 28 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7, "Leningrad" (MP3 Download)
While not quite as sinister as Berglund's, or as exciting as Bernstein's, this new Naxos recording by the Vasily Petrenko and the RLPO of Shostakovich's much-recorded war symphony has a lot going for it. The recording is both weighty and, when needed, shrill (there's much work for piccolos and first violins in their highest register). The wind soloists play beautifully throughout (special mention for the oboe and the E flat clarinet, each in the second movement). While the overall pace is slow, perhaps a little too slow in the first movement, there's still a stark, relentless quality to the rhythmic structure everywhere except the final few bars, where the last (perhaps triumphant?) climax is played as if it were a Tchaikovsky slow movement, molto rubato. I'm not sure about that, though I think I see what Petrenko means.

At any event, as others have said this is a very good recording of an excellent work, and it's very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making The Best Case for the "Leningrad", 23 May 2013
By 
Mr. A. R. Boyes "Alan Boyes" (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7, "Leningrad" (MP3 Download)
I can't pretend that I find the Leningrad to be one of Shostakovich's best symphonies but it certainly served its purpose at the time and came, as so often with his works, a more subversive sub text. With the need to sound patriotic and immediately accessible tight symphonic argument is often replaced by bluster and bombast along with a fair bit of note spinning but so what if it did the job. The back story was remarkable but that doesn't necessarily make a great work.

In its favour there is still plenty of fine and memorable music along the way, particularly the requiem like third movement and the more famous opening movement.

The first movement is particularly well served by Petrenko and the Liverpool Philharmonic because the opening music often sounds a little rushed a bland characterisation of contentment. Here it is much slower and sounds spacious and pastoral, you really want to wallow in it. This makes the monothematic march all the more painful when it takes over. There are two views as to what this march depicts: the original view of it being the Nazi forces has been challenged by the lengthy debate around Shostakovich's subtexts. This alternative view was that it depicted Stalinist uniformity and conformity. Whichever way you take it depicts something ugly and brutal and that's enough.

When the pastoral theme returns there is a faint echo the Beethoven fate theme, which sounds uncannily like Mahler's irregular heartbeat theme from his Ninth Symphony. Quite what the reasoning was for that I don't know but it doesn't sound like an accidental reference.

The middle movements present contrasts between a call to arms and mourning for the dead: all superbly presented here.

The finale feels less like triumph and more like relief at the end with the return of the opening theme holding more weight after being so well presented at the beginning. Like the Eleventh the final chords are rather static and suggest more a sense of protest and rage unresolved.

As mentioned the third movement is particularly effective and Petrenko, as he does in all the symphonies in this Naxos cycle, makes you aware of the work's architecture. With orchestra in top form and very fine sound engineering this must be one of the very finest versions of this flawed but still memorable symphony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good performace let down by recording, 8 May 2013
By 
Mr. E. Mace - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Be careful not to listen to this addition to Petrenko's cycle after listening to Bernstein or Ancerl - you might be disappointed as these vintage recordings have a white heat that Petrenko has trouble replicating. Having said that, Petrenko does have a lot to say.
However, the Naxos balance with its extreme dynamic range does test your ears and as mine are older (my way of explaining why I have trouble hearing the really quiet passages) I struggled to enjoy the performance as I should have. I am using Linn seperates with high end speakers so those with more modest set ups might also encounter difficulties.
So a qualified welcome to this recording. It will be interesting to see what the professional reviewers have to say as I often buy based on their recommendations and then find myself living with disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Performance 5*/Recording 3* = Net 4*, 17 May 2013
By 
I've asked Amazon many times to allow a dual rating on CD's/DVD's/Blu Ray's but they just ignore my e-mails so I'll just have to do it myself!

I originally purchased this performance from i-tunes and thought there must have been a glitch with the download but I have now borrowed a copy and, sadly, the fault is with Naxos's recording. The dynamic range is so extreem that, without repeatedly having to adjust amplifer output, it is difficult to listen to. The introduction and development of the so called 'Invasion theme' March in the first movement will amply demonstrate this to anyone who wants to check for themselves. It goes from 'silence' to deafening, which maybe what the engineers were aiming for but does not make for a pleasant listening experience.

This is very sad as the Petrenko's conducting and pacing of the symphony makes it one of the best and a worthy successor artistically to previous releases in his cycle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear, sensitive performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A top recommendation, 4 April 2014
It must be said straight away that the orchestral playing on display in this latest instalment of Petrenko’s Shostakovich cycle is an absolute triumph. The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic is in fabulous shape at the moment and the playing is truly world class. I have many happy memories of attending numerous concerts given by Sir Charles Groves and the orchestra in the late 1970s but the execution in those days never reached the extraordinary standard to be heard in this magnificent new recording of the Leningrad.

The very opening bars of the first movement set out the stall straight away - a drenched string tone and an incisive, forward momentum that immediately catches the attention. Personally, I’ve always disliked the long drawn out central march in this movement. Petrenko has almost converted me. The repetitive nature of the material is rather compelling in his hands and the range of dynamics and colour - with superb individual orchestral solo contributions - makes this an exciting experience. The control of the long crescendo is exemplary and the climax is shattering. Once the march has come to its conclusion we are treated to some ravishing string playing towards the end of the movement with the high, exposed first violins singing out gloriously and perfectly in tune. The whole 28 minute span of this epic movement never slackens for a moment.

The acoustic of the Philharmonic Hall is sweet and detailed. There are two minor criticisms to be made about what is, otherwise, state of the art recording quality. First of all, for a domestic setting, the dynamic range is huge. To hear the percussion clearly at the beginning of the march you really need to turn up the volume but in doing so the loud passages are likely to destroy your speakers. This is a problem regularly encountered in the digital age. Secondly, the loudest climaxes seem to be slightly cramped but that may be just the way the hall is captured by the microphones. Other than that, from a technical perspective, the sound is fabulous.

The second movement (an intermezzo rather than the usual scherzo) immediately demonstrates the excellence of the string section. The Liverpool orchestra has never sounded better than this. There is also a palpable sense of inspiration running through all the sections of the orchestra and the woodwind solos are full of character. At 5’40’’ the music bursts into life. Brass and percussion ring out before the movement collapses back into its shell and the strings bring the music to its conclusion.

The adagio conjures up the sound world of Mahler. Yet again, the strings are magnificent in the opening pages. The central section - a battle between strings and brass underpinned with more martial side drum effects - is awe inspiring. There is a tangible white heat to the playing. The Mahlerian string passage then returns and the movement finishes with an air of foreboding, beautifully delivered by the low winds.

Having always thought that the central movements contain the best music to be heard in the Leningrad I must say that the normally bombastic finale, not usually to my taste, isn’t the least bit bombastic as presented here. It’s thrilling and absorbing. Petrenko makes you hear the music anew and it really is edge of the seat stuff. The level of virtuosity at around 3’30’’ to 5’ 00’’ is amazing. It’s rhythmically tight, relentless, riveting and also incredibly poised. Nothing ever sounds rushed and the final triumphant bars bring the symphony to a hair raising conclusion.

The Leningrad is a somewhat uneven work and it can’t be viewed as one of the composer’s strongest symphonies. To make it work you need a conductor who totally believes in the piece and then inspires an orchestra to deliver the goods. Petrenko and his players are flawless. This is an absolute bargain and goes straight to the top of the list of recommendations. I’m not a huge fan of the Leningrad but I will certainly return regularly to this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7, "Leningrad"
Shostakovich: Symphony No. 7, "Leningrad" by Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Buy MP3 Album3.96
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews