Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why change a winning timeless formula?
wonderfully composed and thought out pieces from one of my favourite bands of all time. I'm already having "Everything you do is a balloon" played at my funeral, albeit for some time yet. The campfire headphase went slightly more acoustic for their last outing which was fine and is nice to experiment with your sounds. However, this instantly feels more like the Classic...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. A. J. Davis

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the BOC have turned into Zombies?
It just about works as background music, but if for you, as for me, MHTRTC and the early EPs shifted your whole perception of what music could aspire to it simply doesn't cut the mustard. But let's be fair - which artists do manage to sustain that level of genius 15 years on? The biggest problem for me is that they don't work hard enough to earn the sense of awe that the...
Published 18 months ago by Joe 90


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting Summer nightmares and dreamscapes of ambience, 22 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Tomorrow's Harvest (Audio CD)
It was worth the long wait for Boards of Canada's Tommorows Harvest. I Found this a superbly haunting collection of downtempoe electronica and ambience making the Geogadi album sound ordinary in comparrison!

Tommorows eccelectic collection of chilling shortcuts are on a dark somewhat macabre theme of synths , eerie gothic chants to medieval stone age tribal drums .The whole experience I found tense and atmospheric a roller coaster pleasent nightmare for a late summer night's sound track to a horror film that could be the future Excorcist theme to Hostel, yet cool enough for the crystal shores and lounges of Ibiza.
BOC's unique electronic downbeats are contempory and owe less to others of there genre such as Air and Zero 7 and more to the vintage electronic sounds of Vangelis and Jean Michelle Jarre. Void of broken beats, trip hop soulful neo vocals and hip hop breaks. All in all Tommorows Harvest is a mindblowing experience and along with the recent Bonobo release Northern Borders my album choice for 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent., 6 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Tomorrow's Harvest (Audio CD)
I've been a Boards of Canada fan for almost fifteen years now, have all their output, and I've waited a long time to review this album. That is not a reflection on it's quality, merely that I have come to consider this their most profound album to date and it's taken me a while to realise this. There has been a clear progression with this album, away from the nostalgia-laden tracks of their early work and into a more progressive, mature, serious, and altogether darker aural landscape, one that befits their years of development and contemplation.

Several of the tracks on here are somewhat abrasive but are complimented by others that are simply transcendent and soar beautifully across a terrain of abandoned machinery, dying circuitry and the final breath of the human-machine interface. The album has at its essence a sense of foreboding that I find deeply affecting, a portent of things to come.

Magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the BOC have turned into Zombies?, 23 Oct. 2013
By 
Joe 90 (nr Silbury) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow's Harvest (Audio CD)
It just about works as background music, but if for you, as for me, MHTRTC and the early EPs shifted your whole perception of what music could aspire to it simply doesn't cut the mustard. But let's be fair - which artists do manage to sustain that level of genius 15 years on? The biggest problem for me is that they don't work hard enough to earn the sense of awe that the tracks are trying to achieve. Most of the tracks start with a nice enough synth pad, the trademark BOC beats amble in, and just as you are expecting things to get interesting the track fades out. The classic old school BOC tracks were actually compositions - and crucially they had an element of surprise at around the 3 to 4 minute mark which was like sunlight and a rainbow breaking through the clouds. Especially noticeable is the decline in BOC's drum programming - they used to be deeply weird, with all sorts of sounds being used and now they sound distinctly off-the-peg. I know they wanted to get a zombie flick vibe for this album, and it works to some extent, but the results are fairly drab. Maybe they should spend less time planning promotional gimmicks and focus more on the music?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of 2013 so far...no contest, 11 Jun. 2013
By 
This review is from: Tomorrow's Harvest (Audio CD)
Well thank gawd they did'nt retire as they'd gone to ground for so long because this album is just the mutts nuts as far as I'm concerned. Love it right from the off and I've played it through 4 times already and I only bought it yesterday. There's enough of a progression for them to not be accused of offering the same old stuff but there's still enough of the familiar trademark sounds not to make you think 'WTF are they playing at' as has been the case with Massive Attack's 'Heligoland' and Groove Armada's 'Black Light'. This is the best release from Warp in aeons. Great cover pic as well. Welcome back fellas, it's been worth the wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Boards, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow's Harvest (Audio CD)
Classic Boards albums, BOC back to there best , what a comeback
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A top Notcher, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow's Harvest [VINYL] (Vinyl)
BsOC have been around for some time, but this is definitely their best album yet; it mixes elements of deep folk, ambience, quietude, and longitude to produce an effect that is sublimity itself. A cosmic album, that is very down to earth at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic LP, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow's Harvest [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I love Boards of Canada and this is just brilliant from start to finish. I play it through my audio technica LP-240 vinyl player and it sounds incredible. One of BOC's most accessible albums as well. Would highly recommend for ambient IDM music lovers. (Autechre /Four Tet and Aphex Twin fans will love this)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great return from the Scots, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow's Harvest (Audio CD)
This is probably one of their finest work. Great atmospheres from start to finish, pure ambient style. My favourite track being "reach for the dead" where it makes you feel like you just landed in an unknown dead and desertic planet. It just feels like you're lost for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure BoC goodness, 30 Aug. 2013
This review is from: Tomorrow's Harvest (Audio CD)
I'll make this review brief. This is a brilliant, if stripped back album by BOC. These tracks are definatly more simple than their previous album tracks. Some people I think are finding that hard to wrap their heads around. But for me the simplicity works in their favour.

There are always people complaining about something but I'd suggest you have patience and give some time to this album and ignore the frankly immature and stupid one star ratings. If you click on Geogaddi you'll find fools giving that one star ratings too. Lol

FACT:BOC still rule in 2013
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A positive grower - comforting for these times we live in..., 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tomorrow's Harvest (Audio CD)
This album is empowering for the times we live in, it actually feels like a pre apocalyptice piece, then takes you through the upheavel and beyond and provides hope and safely hidden recesses here and there. The skits are like dissarrayed transmissions from some underground bunker that just about has the resources to communicate - the vibe of this album is like surviving on whatever resources are available - it may not make sense to all, but I think some of you will understand this album and its beautifully crafted struggle that provides relation to and hope for these uneasy and unsure times we live in, where the future outcomes remain a mystery - though its not difficult to feel that we may have to go through something immense to get to where we wanna be, a better place - tomorrows harvest.... and this album is the soundtrack........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tomorrow's Harvest
Tomorrow's Harvest by Boards Of Canada (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews