Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing
This is one of the best live shows I have seen in a long time; by anyone. 160 minutes of music mastery.
You don't need to be a Dream Theater fan in order to enjoy this, but if you are then whack up the volume.
The sound and audio for the Blu Ray are second to none and with bonus tracks, behind the scenes and a documentary as extras this is a music for any music...
Published 13 months ago by Dan

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concert, disappointing mix.
As an ex-recording engineer with a very decent sound system, I know when a recording is mixed well. This isn't. John Petrucci's guitar dominates the sound stage to the extent that the other musicians are muffled at times. And then there's the rapid-fire editing of the camera shots. Most seem to last between one or two seconds before we have another shot. Longer shots...
Published 13 months ago by ngaio1


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
This is one of the best live shows I have seen in a long time; by anyone. 160 minutes of music mastery.
You don't need to be a Dream Theater fan in order to enjoy this, but if you are then whack up the volume.
The sound and audio for the Blu Ray are second to none and with bonus tracks, behind the scenes and a documentary as extras this is a music for any music lover and every Dream Theater fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great filmimg --- shame about the audio!, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
First the positives. The band seemed to be playing better then ever. Virtuoso musicians every one of them. However I still miss Mike Portnoy but appreciate what a difficult role it is for Mike Mangini even though he is a brilliant drummer.
Song selection was varied and great to see the latest album songs (at the time of the concert) interspersed with some absolute classics. My only beef was that there no songs from Black Clouds Silver Linings album. There was one of the tracks playing in the background of the documentary. I just love that album and wonder if omitting all tracks for inclusion in the concert was a bit of a snub to Mike Portnoy??
The main negative which has been voiced by many is that the audio when played on 5.1 or 7.1 is thin and has hardly any bass on it. The sub woofer is redundant! Very disappointing. HOWEVER! If you play it in Stereo mode the bass returns and the sound quality is good. I assure you I am not making this up and has been voiced by others. Don't let this put you off from buying. It is a brilliant concert in your own home!! I am going to see D.T. at Wembley on the 14th and hopefully they will play as well as they did in Argentina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 5 Dec 2013
By 
J. Morgan (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I had previously watched Live At Budokan which showcased what an incredibly talent act Dream Theater are, but this shows just how far they've come. Every member of the band is amazing at what they do. After watching the G3 concerts on dvd with Satriani, Vai etc. I always loved Petrucci's clean but precise and lightning fast playing, but this is just another level. All of these guitarists are just absolutely phenomenal!!

I have come to the conclusion they are by far my favourite band now. There's something about the sincerity in the lyrics, their personas and the mind blowing talent that just gets me every time. I literally sat watching the bluray with a big smile that kept appearing on my face!

And now to Mr. Mangini...

Ever since I saw that drum solo on Youtube of him at a Vai gig, I absolutely LOVED him! He is SO good, any musician worth their salt would appreciate what this guy is capable of. When I saw the auditions happening for him to be in Dream Theater, I got so excited! I kept searching for more news all the time and the dream came true!!

His drum solo on this is even better than the Youtube one. He truly is world class. I would say the best drummer in the world. There are some drum parts that Portnoy would play of their old songs he just wipes the floor with, like it's second nature to him. I could watch it a thousand times and not get bored. Just incredible!! sometimes playing with just one hand.

All the other members are superb, Rudess is just a powerhouse.

BUY IT! BUY IT NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing performance, bad audio mix, 20 Aug 2014
By 
Amir Ronen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I Find it hard to believe that a production at this level releases a product with an audio mix so bad. this is not about taste or small imbalance. jordan is so low in the mix that most of the time you can't hear him at all!. the base guitar and bass frequencies in general are also low. i have a good 5.1 sound system and the problem is in both 5.1 and stereo mix. i gave it 4 stars because the musical performance and picture quality are amazing and make this blu ray still worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of their game, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Who would have thought it - without Mike P they are even better.Interesting interviews , good picture quality and great sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concert, disappointing mix., 15 Nov 2013
By 
ngaio1 (Wellington New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
As an ex-recording engineer with a very decent sound system, I know when a recording is mixed well. This isn't. John Petrucci's guitar dominates the sound stage to the extent that the other musicians are muffled at times. And then there's the rapid-fire editing of the camera shots. Most seem to last between one or two seconds before we have another shot. Longer shots would be more relaxing and involving, surely.
The doco is great though, as is the concert. Just don't expect a well-mixed sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... they remember all this music the guitarist is the best in the world and i think this is the ..., 12 Nov 2014
By 
Marc Bouhana (FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
they really are incredible
how can they remember all this music
the guitarist is the best in the world and i think this is the best band ever
the solos are completely fantastic fabulous they play like gods
the quality of the bluray is top sublime picture and sound is in top
in bonus we have more songs in same quality
so why are they on bonus ???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A+ Love DT - best DVD so far, 6 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Stephen Hall "Steve Hall" (Brackley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love DT so would rate any product highly. They are unsurpassed as a band over the years, and now with Mr. Mangini in charge of the drums are preparing to embark to another level as the guys now have a different input to face off against. And he is clearly taking this responsibility very seriously (BTW I also loved Mr. Portnoy and would have been just as happy if he had decided to carry on, but not the band's decision).
If you liked ADTOE as a album + some quality re-cuts of older tracks this is for you.
Get it, get it on the largest screen you can find with the best sound system, turn it up and annoy the neighbours as no-one else will understand you (execpt me of course)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OUTSTANDING!!!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
OUTSTANDING!!!
That one word pretty much says it all.
Dream Theater at its finest!
There aren't enough words to describe it, just get this and watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Very good option to a Dream Theater Fan.
It has all the good new stuff from the band.
The unique song isn't there is HOME, one of my favourite.

Continue the Good Work.
From Portugal.
JL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013]
Live At Luna Park [Blu-ray] [2013] by Dream Theater (Blu-ray - 2013)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews