Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars17
4.2 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
9
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2012
This book is the perfect introduction to those wanting to understand what really happened during the Siege of Leningrad. It really is the history of the Siege of Leningrad in an hour.

Colley has succeeded in writing a perfectly concise and factually correct historical analysis, whilst also revealing the true stories of just some of those unlucky enough to be caught in the blockade. His use of diary extracts brings this brutal piece of history to life- making his small account very moving and equally as gripping.

If you have a spare hour- this is a must read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This is the second History in an hour book I have purchased. At the price it cannot be beaten and it gives a great overview on the subject. The key players bios and timeline feature prove very useful. I needed to get a quick overall picture for a study group I belong to and this was just the start I needed. Could recommend them to readers in a similar position.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2016
Pretty basic account of the three year siege. Excellent for anyone interested in one of the longest sieges in history. One million civillians died: some from German bombs and shells, but most from hunger and disease. A good introduction to this tragedy, but further reading would be required for the student.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2014
Concise, clear, almost all-encompassing. I was enthralled and was spurred to read up on several more accounts of the same subject. Briefly, Mr Colley has managed to put across all the necessary elements in this heroically tragic chapter in our recent history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
Found this a superb read indeed. It whetted my appetite for more and I immediately ordered Leningrad: Tragedy of a City under Siege. A great book and it certainly connected me with a fascinating and moving theme in history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2012
Love the history in an hour books, informative and quick to read. If you like to read history this is a simple and effective way to get started and highlights which parts interest you most
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
There is so much research one needs to do when visiting the Baltic capitals and this summary was just enough for me to feel I knew about the siege. Very easy to read and very informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2014
not knowing a lot about the siege I was expecting more detail, however the book does give you a generic overview and I would recommend to anyone looking for base knowledge on the subject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Balance of gripping, journalistic narrative with historical considerations. Littered with typos though, hence only 4 stars. All in all great for getting to know the overall story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
Brings to life the brutalization that was shown by the major country that won the second World War. Unfortunately not enough people know the truth about what went on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)