Customer Reviews


111 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
I just play this over and over, there isnt a duff track on the album. What a clever chap Mr Cullum is.
Published 13 months ago by P. J. Conquer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I can understand Jamie Cullum wanting to get away from his popular image and break new ground, but really, some of the songs on this album are mediocre to say the least and there is little variation in pace or volume. He can do (and has done) so much better!
Published 13 months ago by Tregolwyn


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 22 Jun 2013
By 
P. J. Conquer "Juniper Spice" (Fareham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
I just play this over and over, there isnt a duff track on the album. What a clever chap Mr Cullum is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No signs of a Momentum loss, 28 July 2013
By 
Dave van der Spank (Utrecht Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
Finally I got some time to listen more closely to Jamie Cullum's latest record: Momentum
Where almost all artists claim their last record is surely their best, Jamie would arguably have a point in doing so.
Love it or hate it, Momentum is a near perfect pop record. So fans of his more jazzy earlier records should maybe look elsewhere.
What Jamie does better each record is to load each song with strong hooks and memorable choruses. Each track could be a highlight if there would be only weaker songs on the album too. In fact there is one: "Love for sale" misses a strong melody and is not a very successfull attempt at doing rap I believe.
What stays on each album is Jamie's fantastic loose style of singing, and the wonderful organ and piano solo's on most songs (like the squeeking organ on "The Same Things", or the delicate tingling on "Pure Imagination" and "Sad Sad World").
The songs "The same things", "Anyway" (with an irresistable stumbling rhythm), "Everything you didn't do" and "When I get famous" are very catchy, while "Edge of Something" and the album closer "You're not the only one" have a more fully orchestrated sound. "You're not the only one" with its triumphant organ melody wouldn't even be out of place on a Coldplay record...
If I would have to mention one real highlight, then it would be "Pure Imagination" for me. During the piano solo I get a feel of the paradise Jamie is singing about. That's really as beautiful as music can get!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
I can understand Jamie Cullum wanting to get away from his popular image and break new ground, but really, some of the songs on this album are mediocre to say the least and there is little variation in pace or volume. He can do (and has done) so much better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not sure...., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
I need to listen to this a few more times, I can't say it has grown on me as yet ! I prefer the 'old' Jazzy Jamie and this is taking some getting used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!!!, 23 July 2013
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
This is Jamie's best CD yet. He is such an amazing artist. Fresh and creative, this CD is must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Favourite album of the year so far., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
Love love love it. Want to buy his earlier albums too now. His own songs and covers are just brilliant and uniquely performed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music to make everyone smile, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
Loved the music and different tempos on each track. Wonderfully uplifting. Jamie Cullum's energy and musicality really shines through. Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My kind of music, 18 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. B. Warman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
Another brilliant album from Jamie Cullum. The young master of jazz!
This CD shows off his diversity across the music spectrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Difficult to assess, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
Initial impression was of an underwhelming disk. We're big fans of Jamie and love his last album Pursuit.
However on subsequent plays its beginning to sound more interesting. Goodness knows what style to call this, Jazz it aint.
He does seem to have left his Jazz roots behind, which is a shame. However there is some good stuff going on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Momentum, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Momentum (Audio CD)
I only really liked one song, "everything I did not do", which was the one that made me buy the CD but I did not particularly enjoy the rest...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews