Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the genre
Mercy Taylor is the youngest member of Savanna's biggest Witch family's...they're the most powerful family in Savannah and they're kinda in charge. Mercy however was born without magic. Because of this, she is hated by Aunt Ginny the family's matriarch, and she's labelled as The Disappointment by her Uncle. Mercy's used to being second best to her minutes older twin...
Published 8 months ago by Alisha Bookseller

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Immature Main Characters Makes For an Unpleasant Read
A younger audience might appreciate this book more than a more mature one. This book would appeal to the 15 to 25 year old range while leaving most of the more mature readers a little cold or out in left field. The author has done a good job trying to reconcile the fact that his main protagonist is a very immature 21 year old, but her (Mercy Taylor, witch) attitudes and...
Published 8 months ago by Dianne E. Socci-Tetro


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Immature Main Characters Makes For an Unpleasant Read, 8 Feb 2014
A younger audience might appreciate this book more than a more mature one. This book would appeal to the 15 to 25 year old range while leaving most of the more mature readers a little cold or out in left field. The author has done a good job trying to reconcile the fact that his main protagonist is a very immature 21 year old, but her (Mercy Taylor, witch) attitudes and naiveté grated on my nerves. I am sure that in upcoming books in this series will show Mercys growth. This book reminded me very much of Charlaine Harris's early books about Sookie Stackhouse, before Sookie had a chance to grow. There is actually more wrong; things that bothered me about this book, than I described in this review.

Mercy is one of a pair of twins - one has gotten all the magic and Mercy is left without any. Or, so it seems on the surface. This book is filled with murder, backstabbing, lies upon lies and yes magic! We start out with a book that seems as if it is going to be a romance novel about a love triangle between one boy and the two sisters, but soon a murder is thrown into the equation and whole lot of other magical maneuverings, black-magic, more deaths, more violence and a whole lot of betrayal.

If the author can get Mercy and her kin over the hump, then this will most likely turn into a lively and likable series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the genre, 3 Feb 2014
This review is from: The Line (Witching Savannah Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Mercy Taylor is the youngest member of Savanna's biggest Witch family's...they're the most powerful family in Savannah and they're kinda in charge. Mercy however was born without magic. Because of this, she is hated by Aunt Ginny the family's matriarch, and she's labelled as The Disappointment by her Uncle. Mercy's used to being second best to her minutes older twin Maisie in everything, including the looks department. Maisie is the apple of the whole family's eye. Despite that, Mercy loves her sister, but she's also in love with Mercy's boyfriend Jackson, and goes to a Hoodoo root doctor for a spell to make her love her BFF Peter who's in love with her.

Aunt Ginny, who's also the family's anchor/defence to the bewitched Line which separates humankind from the demon's who once ruled our realm, the wouldn't approve, there's history between Ginny and the root doctor but that's all irrelevant when Mercy walks in on her aunt's brutally murdered body. Now the Line has been compromised a Demon invasion looms, but someone stands to gain from that.

Mercy must fight for her sisters trust while being entangled in a love spell that brings about a happy/bad consequence depending on how you look at it, and even though magicless she must tap in to the strength from being born as an outcast to protect a line she doesn't feel part of. As she becomes closer to the root doctor, the only person she trusts, some shocking family secrets are revealed. Who is Mercy and Maisie's father? Why did Ginny hate her? What sinister plot was Ginny up to? And who murdered her?

I have no idea what I was expecting but it wasn't this. It was amazing! I was intrigued from the first page, and happily settled down to immerse myself in the world that has been created, I do love the beginning and all of the stories told!

Right from the start The Line hooks you straight in, and the prose is so atmospheric you feel like you're there, you can picture exactly what everything looks like and what's going on. The world building was fantastic, the world created was so unique with the powers and the law of the Witche's powers as it where. I loved how the Hoodoo magic was included as well, and that our protagonist was an outcast.

Speaking of Mercy, the characters in the book where very well written, they had a lot of depth and a lot of hidden sides that where hidden so cleverly you never see half of the stuff coming. I loved Mercy so much, I connected with her straight away. I loved that she was an outcast, and she felt in the shadow of her sister, and didn't feel good enough sometimes. It was so real to how a lot of girls feel, she was so relate-able. Quite honestly I wanted to strangle certain family members for giving her such a miserable life, but Mercy doesn't let that make her a bitter person, she's so strong and truly a fantastic role model. Even the supporting characters where all full of depth and you learn more about them as you go along.

The introductions to each of the family members weren't mad a big deal of, and there wasn't pages of information about them, it was done in a laid back and casual way, with concise information that was added to as the book went on and seamlessly thrown in. Each family member was very different from the other, and each had different powers, there was no dump of information, you learn about them through interactions between the members. There was no overuse of Southern phrases and terms and the opportunity to go on and on about landmarks in the area was rejected, it could have been a travel brochure for it, especially at the beginning....but it wasn't. There was no useless information, no pages of descriptions about things unrelated to the story.

The story was a lot of different threads, and events all woven together to create a really complex, rich web of a plot. As I was reading I kept going "oh my God no way...NO" and being totally shocked. There's plenty of twists and turns in the plot, and as each twist/shocking secret is revealed about the past I never saw it coming. It was such an unpredictable book, I never knew what was going to happen or come out next. I loved how the puzzle pieces from the past where eked out slowly and not all given at once, it added a great quality to the book. I kind of suspected the thing with Mercy's magic but no way to that extent, the ending was just explosive, and I feel I need the next book like right now, because seriously, I can't cope with the wait for the next one!

The Line is fast paced, full of twists and turns, magic, romance and betrayal. You'll never see any of it coming. You'll feel strangely protective of Mercy because you can relate to her entirely. And you will be sucked right in to a world so atmospherically described you can feel the heat and the sun on your face. Full of intrigue and shocking family secrets, and a little bit of Hoodoo, it's a wondrous addition to the genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't live up to expectations, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Line (Witching Savannah Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
There is no depth to this book. The story has loads of potential and the characters are almost fully formed but never quite get there. They remain flat and stereotypical able to deal only with what's going on at the time and nothing more complex. When I read that the author had once been a financial analyst it made sense as this really does seem like a novel by numbers. At one point I felt sure this had actually been written by a computer program. it jerks along from one bit of the story to the next. Towards the end it became quite comical how the main character behaved. She's about to have her 21st birthday but spends most of the book acting like a 16 year old. I'm still not sure if this was meant to be a teen novel or for grown ups. I wouldn't bother with it if you're reading this. It's not awful (so it has a generous 3 stars)- I finished it and the plot was ok - but there are far better, more well written books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The line by j d horn, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Line (Witching Savannah Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
From the moment I started reading a sample of this book it had me captivated, I had to download the rest. I'm so sad I have finished it and can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good in theory, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Line (Witching Savannah Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
But very hurried, no real pacing to allow a connection with ANY of the characters or their relationships. I'm not waiting with baited breath for the next. I'd rather re-read 'A Discovery of Witches' 10 times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Witchery!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Line (Witching Savannah Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Somewhat different,liked it more as i got into it,so ordered book two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Line, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Line (Witching Savannah Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Refreshing book just when you think you know what going on, there is a twist and the plot leads you in another direction. Will be reading the second book in the series as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Line (Witching Savannah Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
super fab
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Witchy tale well written with a spellbinding plot!, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Line (Witching Savannah Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book from start to finish - a well-written story about a witch family in the Deep South of the USA. It's a murder mystery, family drama and fantasy tale of witches all rolled into one - and it works extremely well. I've already bought the second book in the series.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Line (Witching Savannah Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
fantastic really enjoyed this series more please
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews