Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth seeing
White Elephant is a very impressive film about a slum in Buenos Aires where tensions between gangs constantly threaten to erupt. Into this massive community, situated around and in the part-built hospital called the White Elephant, we follow two priests in their daily work, trying to help the communities and negotiating with building contractors and politicians. Played by...
Published 12 months ago by schumann_bg

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
disappointed did not realize it was in Spanish with subtitles probably should have read the blurb more closely having said that I have a hearing problem and use subtitles a lot but in this instant felt much was being said but missed!!
Published 28 days ago by Mabely


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well worth seeing, 11 Aug 2013
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Elephant [DVD] (DVD)
White Elephant is a very impressive film about a slum in Buenos Aires where tensions between gangs constantly threaten to erupt. Into this massive community, situated around and in the part-built hospital called the White Elephant, we follow two priests in their daily work, trying to help the communities and negotiating with building contractors and politicians. Played by Ricardo Darin and Jeremie Renier, they act as a superb centre to a film about life and the spirit, and about lives spent in the service of others, with their crises of faith and self-doubt, and more earthly temptations also in the form of a rather beautiful social worker. I have a particular liking for Renier and this role has all the emotional intensity that has become his hallmark - there is surely no better actor currently working in films anywhere. Their discussions with youth groups make for lively viewing, while the Church is not presented in a whitewashed way, but rather as taking a questionable line at times. Conflicts with the police are also quite a persistent theme, and it is occasionally hard to watch. Inspired by the life of a real-life priest, the film has a lot of visual interest and is altogether a noble statement from director Pablo Trapero. Playing a bit like a cross between La Haine (but less hip) and Of Gods And Men (with more action and panache), it strikes me as one of the most memorable pieces of world cinema of recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Moving Argentinean Film, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: White Elephant [DVD] (DVD)
This is the latest from acclaimed Argentinean director Pablo Traper (`Carancho', and `Lion's Den') and he has teamed up with Ricardo Darin again who starred in `Carancho' but has graced some classics. This is about the work the Catholic Church does in deprived areas. Set in the slums of Buenos Aires in a place known as `Villa Virgin'; where they have been trying to build a community hospital since 1937.

Father Julian (Darin) is working with his long time friend father Nicolas (Jeremie Renier -`The kid with a bike', `My Way' and `In Bruges'); they are helped by volunteers one of which is an atheist social worker in it for socialist reasons. They have to deal with the drug gangs and turf wars, a police force that is as violent as the gangs and grinding poverty. We also have questions of faith and Sainthood and the inevitability that action for change will always lead to conflict.

This is one of those films that unashamedly pulls on your heart strings, and it certainly got mine. The musical score is excellent as well as is the soundtrack. All of the acting is par excellence and it is obvious that for some of the cast they had never been in front of a camera before. Darin is a tour de force as always but Jeremie Renier has genuine on screen chemistry with Martina Gusman playing the social worker Luciana (she too was in `Carancho'and `Lion's Den'). The issues it tackles it does so in a grown up way but as I said it is very hard to remain detached when you see what is taking place. This is in Spanish with a touch of French all translated well and runs for 105 minutes and I was left very moved by the end and can only recommend thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Main story fascinating, 8 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Elephant [DVD] (DVD)
The main story - the work of the priest in this huge slum building in Buenos Aires - was fascinating and very well told. I could have done without the love interest involving two of the other characters, which I felt distracted from the rest of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another side of Buenos Aires..., 31 Mar 2014
By 
Boudewyn Van Dyck "Bo" (Beaujolais, France.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Elephant [DVD] (DVD)
Very well acted, very credible story, or how humans can make life of other humans unbearable... a movie with a true message !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 1 Aug 2014
This review is from: White Elephant (DVD)
disappointed did not realize it was in Spanish with subtitles probably should have read the blurb more closely having said that I have a hearing problem and use subtitles a lot but in this instant felt much was being said but missed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Relentlessly Bleak, 3 April 2014
This review is from: White Elephant (DVD)
Bleak tale delivered with some great acting and cinematography. Held our interest to the end, but, we then asked ourselves whether it had been worth it? We were not moved by the plight of the low-lifes, or the self-centered attitudes of the priests involved.
I'm confident many will find the film involving, but, corporate superstition, corrupt politicians and grinding poverty fail to engage us.
As a piece of film making it is superb but for us it was just not worth the effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elefante blanco, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Elephant [DVD] (DVD)
I found this hard to watch as it is very disturbing film. Another with the excellent Ricardo Darin. Try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar Nominee, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Elephant [DVD] (DVD)
Ricardo Darin can do no wrong - even in this film. Completely mesmerising performances by all and a thoroughly original plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 Oct 2013
By 
mike (LONDON.NEW YORK ,EDINBURGH) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White Elephant [DVD] (DVD)
quck posting great dvd , cheers many many thanks, could not ask for better or more, would use again, thanks again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White Elephant [DVD]
White Elephant [DVD] by Pablo Trapero (DVD - 2013)
5.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews