Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars58
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2009
Brilliant! Diaries of a season are too often bland accounts, but Jenson's story of his championship winning season is intimate, insightful and a fascinating 'time-capsule' account of what has turned out to be a historic one-off year for a small independent team, Brawn GP, prior to its buy-out by Mercedes.

The opening section, detailing Jenson's dismay at Honda's withdrawal and the prospect that he may never fulfill his Formula One dreams, is a real page-turner. You get a real sense of what he's like: driven, emotional, a dedicated athlete. The race-by-race chapters make you feel like part of Jenson's gang. He relates what he does off the track as well as in the car, and includes text messages from friends and family. I was amazed by how cool he is, even when the pressure turned up. With technical updates and strategy summaries for the petrolheads, this is a brilliant, meaty read and a great Christmas present for Formula One fans of all ages. Highly recommended.
0Comment|45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2009
While everyone was losing their heads as Jenson Button's lead in the 2009 world championship was slowly eaten away, the man at the wheel was keeping his. There was little doubt in his mind that after six wins in the first seven races he would make it to the finish line - and land the title. Button's race-by-race diary of the greatest season of his life allows us to see things from his perspective. If we'd known what he was thinking at the time we wouldn't have been so jittery!

The book charts the unlikely rise from the ashes of the Brawn team through the eyes of the man destined to be world champion. With the technical stuff for the real petrolheads, alongside personal messages of support from friends and family, a superb array of photographs, plus Button's fascinating insight, it is a book that will appeal to anyone interested in life in the fast lane.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
Many of these championship diary books are very disappointing, however, this is a good effort. Much better than 2008 champion Lewis Hamilton's 'My Story'.

A good insight into the period between Honda's withdrawal at the end of 2008, and birth of Brawn, and the emotions involved.

The inclusion of the text messages from famly and friends after each race was a nice touch.

Would recommend !
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
I was some what sceptical that this would be a very rushed book cashing in on Jenson's success at winning the F1 Driver's Championship in 2009.

I was pleasantly surprised. It is almost a diary of an incredible year, but it gets well into the tensions and emotions of an amazing year for Brawn GP and JB. I would have liked a bit more detail on some of the updates that were bought to the car throughout the year, and probably fewer copies of the text messages Jenson received before and after each race, but this book captures the thoughts of Jenson, the team, Ross Brawn, the Bridgestone tyre people and many of Jenson's friends and supporters as they prepare and go through each race weekend, practice, qualifying & the race.

A lively tale of an amazing season. Makes you want to get onto the next race as quickly as possible.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2012
It takes the story from Honda's shock withdrawal 12 months before to Button and Brawn's double championship triumph. Remarks on the future are conspicuously absent (hence Button's switch to McLaren etc....).

The book adds a twist to the usual season review by narrating it in diary form and including some of the many messages exchanged between Button and his family and friends - from his mum to the tabloids' new favourite Jessica Michibata.

By far the most interesting passages are the opening chapter which covers the aftermath of Honda's shock withdrawal - and the second where Button describes his excitement at discovering how potent the BGP 001 was.

In other places it feels a bit by-the-numbers and lapses into the kind of prose you expect to find in a press release.

But it's generously illustrated and as such is likely to sell very well.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
Once my husband started reading this book he couldn't put it down. He said it was the best book he has read and highly recommends this book for all you petrolheads.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
..yet not that stunning to read about in this book. Written in a concise and pleasant style, but I really was hoping for more "nitty gritty" information.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
This book was a great insight to Button (& Brawn's) championship winning year.
I've only recently joined the following of F1 since the 2012 year, so I thought I'd read up on a previous year to at least get a feel of the recent history of the sport.

And what better season than a team's one and only racing season (under Brawn's name) in the sport?
From the downer that was Honda leaving F1, to the climax of Brazil and Jenson's championship deciding race, this book is hugely insightful and entertaining.

It's not so much a story as a set of per-race-stories that tell of great detail each weekend, including radio contact between Button and the team, hotel stays, inter-team dramas, race dramas, and all manner of otherwise entertaining events.

It's really good if you are a fan of Mr Button (of course, there is no greater fan than the great John Button) or merely if you just want to know how a year of racing at the pinnacle of motorsport can pan out.

Either way, it's a great read and I can do naught but highly recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2014
I'll be honest, I really like Jenson as a driver and respect him as a gentleman. I also love Formula 1, so this book should be a brilliant combination of the two - and it is. It's really a blow-by-blow account of each race throughout 2009, but it's a fascinating insight into the mindset of an F1 driver, how they prepare for a race, how they deal with ups and the downs, the excitement and the disappointment.

It follows Jenson from the end of 2008 when he received the news that Honda was pulling out of F1 to the final moments of the last race of 2009 when he was champion. It details how he approached each race, both mentally and technically, and how he coped with the wins and the DNFs.

Ultimately, it's not an autobiography, it's a look at a specific period of time in his career. It cuts to the chase and focuses on the racing more than anything else. As a Jenson and F1 fan, that's all I want. An interesting, exciting and honest read that I totally recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2009
This book is a really perfect overview of the Championship Year of Jenson Button. I'm Dutch, but this book reads very easy. It's written by Button himself and it's funny to read how he experienced the 2009 F1-season from beginning to the end. Button tells everything. Also you can read some text-messages he received every race.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)