Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s Kool Kat gets the 'Super Deluxe' treatment
Three record labels have in the past been responsible for reissuing Paul Young's back catalogue, and in truth I've been left rather frustrated by their efforts. (Sony managed to omit the extended version of 'Sex' on their 25th anniversary 2CD deluxe edition of 'No Parlez', although it had actually appeared on the original non-deluxe CD release! Also, a few of the album...
Published 23 months ago by Nick Hawkins

versus
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SLIGHTLY DISAPOINTING
REMIXES OK THE LIVE STUFF A BIT RUBBISH BUT OVERALL OK
RECORDINGS SOUND CRISP AND BRINGS BACK MEMORIES OVERALL OK
Published 21 months ago by Chris Philpott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80s Kool Kat gets the 'Super Deluxe' treatment, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes And Rarities (Audio CD)
Three record labels have in the past been responsible for reissuing Paul Young's back catalogue, and in truth I've been left rather frustrated by their efforts. (Sony managed to omit the extended version of 'Sex' on their 25th anniversary 2CD deluxe edition of 'No Parlez', although it had actually appeared on the original non-deluxe CD release! Also, a few of the album tracks were edits of the original LP version, which was somewhat annoying for the majority of fans who'd bought and knew the album so well from its representation on vinyl. Young's follow-up, 'The Secret Of Association', was licensed out to Edsel Records and they didn't do much better. They forgot to include the 12-inch extended mixes of 'Hot Fun' and 'I Was In Chains', which had appeared on the cassette version of the album in 1985, on their 2CD reissue of 2007. They also committed a cardinal sin by listing 'Every Time You Go Away' on the second disc as the "12-inch Mix" when it was actually the seven-inch radio version!)

Three cheers then for Cherry Red who for this 2CD 'Remixes and Rarities' collection have enlisted the help of Super Deluxe Edition blogger Paul Sinclair. He has ensured that no such mistakes are made with this release. Not only is the content first rate but the music is magnificently remastered too. I suppose, if you were picky, you could argue that it might have been better to have split the two versions of 'I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down' over the two discs, rather than put them both on Disc One. Also, I would have preferred the 12-inch version of 'Some People' over the Dub version which appears here, but the Dub's rarer and hasn't appeared on CD before. All in all, a real treat with all the big hits included here in their proper remix form as we remember them. Justice is finally served. A must for all Paul Young fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Completes our collection, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes And Rarities (Audio CD)
I heard Paul Young being interviewed on Radio 2's Simon Mayo programme. He was there to plug this album, which I had not heard about, nor have I heard about it since. So I ordered this album as soon as I could after the programme as it contains versions of his songs that we only had on 12" vinyl - and obviously can't play them any more. And as well as those there were live versions, and a couple of songs new to us. We're very happy with the album, and the speedy receipt of the cd. Thanks a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remixes And Rarities, 11 Aug. 2013
By 
Mr. David John Cole "capri30ghia" (Yateley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes And Rarities (Audio CD)
I bought this item after hearing Paul on Radio 2 being interviewd by Simon Mayo. They played several tracks and I had to have it!
Excellent album. If you are used to hearing the shorter 7 inch versions of any of these songs, you'll love the extended/ remixed versions. I recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, excellent service!, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes And Rarities (Audio CD)
Great quality, excellent service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes And Rarities (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes And Rarities (Audio CD)
Good stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Paul Young's 12 inch mixes remastered, 22 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes And Rarities (Audio CD)
I am a BIG Paul Young fan. The good news is that the 12 inch mixes on this CD set have been remastered very well indeed, so my vinyl can be stored safely away.

The most impressive track I have found is 'Wherever I lay My Hat...' which until now I have never really liked. It is however my favourite track now. If this does not sound good through your system then it's highly likely that the system needs upgrading! This was my conclusion when upgrading my hifi equipment.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paul young album, 24 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes And Rarities (Audio CD)
This is a great collection of his work, plus the remixes on disc 2. are great, The wait for this album was a good one .
If you can get a hold of this cd , go for it . DJ Dave London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product!, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes And Rarities (Audio CD)
As a collector and fan i have all re-editions in my collection, but this release really is a nice addition including great liner notes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good to hear full versions, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Remixes And Rarities (Audio CD)
in the absence of any new material it is good to be reminded of what a good voice paul young had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Remixes And Rarities
Remixes And Rarities by Paul Young (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews