Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Necessary but a rip-off?
why necessary? well, if you wish to view blu-ray on your PC with windows 8, you'll need this. Windows 8 no longer provide a media centre as part of the Windows 8 home premium version, thus forcing you to buy the software separately. This software does all you need and more but it does carry a hefty price tag just to be able to view over-priced blu-ray movies. I need it, i...
Published 14 months ago by dougiemuir

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent movie player
This Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra is loaded with features, but the only noteworthy one is the movie player; the rest are half-hearted add-ons and are quite unnecessary. For example, the PowerDVD 13 plays music CDs, but the free Microsoft Media Player that comes with Windows not only plays them but also can rip them into audio tracks of various formats and organize them in...
Published 17 months ago by Alan Rivière


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Necessary but a rip-off?, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) (CD-ROM)
why necessary? well, if you wish to view blu-ray on your PC with windows 8, you'll need this. Windows 8 no longer provide a media centre as part of the Windows 8 home premium version, thus forcing you to buy the software separately. This software does all you need and more but it does carry a hefty price tag just to be able to view over-priced blu-ray movies. I need it, i like it, i didnt like the price. [in saying that, you'll find it much cheaper here than you will straight from Cyberlink]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent movie player, 4 July 2013
This review is from: Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) (CD-ROM)
This Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra is loaded with features, but the only noteworthy one is the movie player; the rest are half-hearted add-ons and are quite unnecessary. For example, the PowerDVD 13 plays music CDs, but the free Microsoft Media Player that comes with Windows not only plays them but also can rip them into audio tracks of various formats and organize them in a library with album arts. The PowerDVD 13 doesn't do that. The PowerDVD 13 reads picture files, but the picture reader of the Internet Explorer does it better with additional editing functions.

On the other hand, the PowerDVD 13 movie player is decent. It plays DVD, Blu-ray, 3-D DVD, and 3-D Blu-ray discs. It has a video enhancement and noise reduction function known as TrueTheater with noticeable improvements in DVD movies. It can even convert 2-D DVD into their 3-D versions. I am not a fan of 3-D movies. They give me headaches and nausea; so I leave them to other reviewers. The PowerDVD 13 movie player has a snapshot function in the DVD mode that works as a screen print. It captures fixed pictures of DVD movies and stores them in a file. It is cool. The movie window can be minimized and resized and the player has a resume function in the DVD mode that remembers the last location played even when the disc has been swapped previously. However, there is no resume, snapshot, or 3-D conversion function in the Blu-ray mode. Contrary to the DVD player, the PowerDVD 13 Blu-ray player is quite basic.

Before making the purchase, the shopper should realize that this PowerDVD software is only half of the equation; he must also have an optical drive that can read DVD and Blu-ray discs. Blu-ray discs are relative new; a lot of existing optical drives cannot read them. Furthermore, if he wants to play the latest HDCP-encrypted Blu-ray discs, his graphics card and monitor have to be HDCP compliant. Generally, if his computer video output and his monitor input are either DVI or HDMI, he will be okay. (See Note below). The price of this PowerDVD 13 at seventy pounds is a high for a DVD/Blu-ray player. I will give it one extra star if the price drops down to fifty.

Note: In short, don't buy this software to play Blu-ray movies unless: (1) you have a Blu-ray optical drive and (2) you have either DVI or HDMI connectors on your computer and monitor. Perhaps the best way to play Blu-ray discs is to purchase a stand-alone Blu-ray disc player. That will eliminate a lot of headaches with computer hardware and software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works just fine, 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) (CD-ROM)
First I thought, what a big box for a CD and a guide, but hey, why not. I added some more CDs for my PC in there as well and now it's not such a waste anymore. :)
Anyway, the program was easily to be installed, navigation is lovely. movies and songs are played without any problems - even those with most exotic data types. :D oh, and it's working perfectly with all Blue Ray DVDs, also if you think that your PC might not make it, it works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps Not As Good As It Seems To Be., 24 July 2013
By 
T. Walker (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This software suggests that it is the all singing, all dancing answer to your needs. It doesn't tell you it also tries to install other programmes that are superfluous software to your PC, which I find unbelievable for software you paid quite a lot of money for.
It allows you to play blu-ray on your PC, but be aware you will need Windows 8, 7, Vista, or XP and you'll also need at minimum a 2.2GHz Intel Core2 Duo CPU.
It's quite easy to use, although I have heard reports of the programme crashing - although to be fair that hasn't happened to me.
Pros -
Pleasing interface. Makes movies look better than their native source content. Ultraviolet integration. Mobile apps for remote control and playback. Image stabilization for home videos. Surprisingly good 2D-to-3D conversion.
Cons - Expensive. Installer adds extraneous software. Somewhat feature-laden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Problems Except The Advert Banners, 7 Nov 2013
By 
IM35461 "IM35461" (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
No problem installing on a clean install of Windows 7 64bit on my HP desktop which of course has a Blu-Ray drive.

Playback of movies works well connected to my HDMI Full HD monitor (Only stereo sound on my set-up so no test of other sound formats).

Save a still frame, resume etc also work well (no save a still frame on a Blu-Ray disc).

It has also played all my other video files including raw files form my GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition.

My only small negative is the adverts for other Cyberlink products and upgrades.

You can also try before you buy with most Cyberlink products, download a 30 day trial and if you like it, buy a copy from Amazon which is oddly cheaper and you get a printed manual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars power dvd?, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) (CD-ROM)
expensive bit of software but still better than windows media player.

plays all of my titles but keeps pausing then resuming on some titles tried altering setting and buffer but doesn't seem to make any difference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power DVD, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) (CD-ROM)
Really good product but difficult for older people to wade through all the special programs this product can produce unless you are good with computers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Purchase, 4 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) (CD-ROM)
Does everything is say it will do, excellent value really good and easy to use brilliant clear video and even sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than the last version, 17 Sep 2013
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Upfront: I received this as a review copy. I hadn't been too keen on the previous version but I thought I'd give this one a chance as, unlike the other, it the fully-featured one and I'm glad I did. I haven't used all the features by any means but the ones I did worked well. It's not cheap but you get what you pay for and this may be the very best movie and media playing software around.

It also comes with a very clear and comprehensive paperback manual which, let's face it, is far easier to use than the digital versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Genuine Improvement, 13 Sep 2013
By 
P. G. Strachan (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm not in any position to chat with great authority about how this software compares with it's rivals but having gad experience of the previous PowerDvd incarnation I can say that this represents a substantial improvement on what went before. In truth I had a pretty harrowing experience with that last iteration so I'm not really sure why I even gave this a go....other than an unreasonable belief that things could only get better. Whatever... It seems my faith was rewarded not least in the ordeal of installation which turned out to be a dream compared with the previous experience which was a journey through Dante's inferno. As for how it performs...no problems so far....the sound and picture quality are first class...all very slick and no hint of the crashing issue mentioned elsewhere. One piece of advice....it kind of goes without say but you need to make sure your kit can cope with the requirements because it's damned hungry on the memory front....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC)
Cyberlink PowerDVD 13 Ultra (PC) by Cyberlink (Windows 7 / 8 / Vista / XP)
£43.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews