Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Labyrinth with Laffs
I'm currently watching this series on Sky and what a wonderful confection it is. The much vaunted new project from the Horrible Histories Team does not disappoint. In fact, so horrified were the cast at the thought of not working together after the demise of 'Histories,' Yonderland was born.

So what is it then? Well, Fraggles on acid meets Labyrinth in Narnia...
Published 12 months ago by Ms. Rebekah Williams

versus
6 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles
Unusually there are no subtitles. Not much good for my hearing impaired daughter. No indication in advance... She is very disappointed.
Published 8 months ago by Ross Marden


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Quite indescribable!, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is amazing - we laughed right throughout this incredible series. Debbie (Martha Howe-Douglas) is a housewife whose twins have just started school and finds herself at a loose end. She is transported through a portal in her pantry by Elf to Yonderland, where the Elders are convinced she is the chosen one, and will help save their world. Hilarity abounds from hereon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Family Entertainment, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
We don't have Sky, so I bought this solely on a few YouTube clips and our love of Horrible Histories - with some trepidation but oh my goodness, we love it. Something for all the family from 7 to 45. Visual humour, clever writing, utterly believable puppetry and a few adult touches which slip right over the kids' heads but had us howling. The ensemble cast's love of the project shines through and you can't help getting fond of all the characters - even the baddies.
We've watched it through a good few times now and it stands up well to repeated viewing.
I can't believe there are comments here about the appropriateness of the couple of 'bottom shots' - the context is entirely innocent, the humour of the moment is perfectly pitched for children (who find bottoms hilarious!) and the point isn't laboured. Far less offensive than the fart, burp and poo jokes which pervade so much so-called 'children's humour' and which are entirely absent from Yonderland.
This is not a Children's Show. This is not an Adult Show. It's just for anyone, any age, who likes a bit of fun. That's all too rare nowadays.
Yonderland is a Treasure. Hoping desperately for a second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If you like 'Horrible Histories' you'll love 'Yonderland'. The humour is brilliantly bizarre & "off the wall" & will appeal to children & adults in equal measure. The puppets put me in mind, wonderfully, of Jim Henson's 'Storyteller' & 'The Dark Crystal', which I found gorgeously nostalgic. I really loved 'Yonderland'; roll on series 2!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars super, fantastic great., 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great comedy, a must see for children and adult (children.) Once again a program shows that the Brits are great at comedy. We may not make 24 episodes per series but we do make up for this with episodes that are not filler episodes, or buy dragging a story line to near braking. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yonderland is wonderland for the new century, 16 May 2014
This review is from: Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This is a family fun video. If you loved Horrible Histories then you'll love this. All our favorite actors are there but doing even sillier things. It's a fabulous take off of the fantasy genre with modern British humour. If you liked The Office, The Wrong Man, any Monty Python or The Muppets then take a look. It has Pixars magic of having layered humour for all the family. The on going running jokes are just fab. Just one warning. If you're strictly religious the 'Oh my God' as a throw away lines will get on your nerves. But that's modern British culture for you. Does what it says on the tin in spades. Can't wait for series 2 and looking forward to their rendition of Shakespeare in Bill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun., 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Absolutely loved this, watched it in one weekend. Hope they do a 2nd series. The jokes are very clever and there are some real laugh out loud moments. Go on, treat yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yonderland - loved it!, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Silly, funny and sweet. Yonderland is a family series you'll love. I totally recommend it. Can't wait for season 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best laugh I've had in years, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
As we only have terrestrial television we were not able to watch this series when it was broadcast. Having been told by friends how good it was and 'knowing' most of the cast via Horrid Histories, this DVD offer was too good to miss. Brilliant, funny and very watchable time after time after time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lol!, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Didn't get chance to see the series on the tv, so bought this as the whole family enjoyed all the Horrible History series. Its a cute story with plenty of funny quips for the older generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yonderland, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Brilliant family viewing from the Horrible Histories team. Very funny. Silly stories. Lots of visual gags. Enjoyed by all ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013]
Yonderland - Series 1 [DVD] [2013] by Steve Connelly (DVD - 2014)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews