Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BRILLIANT SEQUEL.."
Ignore the idiotic low rated reviews for this movie as it is absolutely a return to form for the child's play series, any true fan such as myself should love curse of chucky, the last 2 sequels were great fun but this sequel takes it back to the old school roots of creepy with the doll picking everyone off one by one until its revealed he's alive once again! The story...
Published 10 months ago by S. Drury

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chucky's Back To Play
Positive.
Exellent return to form for the franchise, Brad Dourifs exellent voicing of Chucky adds menace to the movie.
The Gore factors been upped considerably.
Best Chucky movie since Child's Play.

Negative.
It's not really that scary & the endings slightly confusing due to the post credit scene ending.

Trivia.
Keep watchng...
Published 10 months ago by Timelord007


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BRILLIANT SEQUEL..", 10 Oct 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Ignore the idiotic low rated reviews for this movie as it is absolutely a return to form for the child's play series, any true fan such as myself should love curse of chucky, the last 2 sequels were great fun but this sequel takes it back to the old school roots of creepy with the doll picking everyone off one by one until its revealed he's alive once again! The story builds up well with some gruesome kills and very cool chucky doll effects, most of them are practical but some are CGI for certain things we haven't seen chucky do before like walking down stairs etc. The story does take the series full circle linking it to the original and other sequels, plus we get a few nice cameos towards the end, the ending is slightly confusing as there is a cool after credit scene which im not sure fits in but is a good nod for the fans, overall its really worth checking out if your a fan, its fits in so well with the rest of this amazing horror gem of a franchise, the picture quality is outstanding on the Blu-ray, and there are plenty of great features!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chucky is back., 20 Oct 2013
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Wheelchair bound Nica is grieving after the suicide of her mother and coping with the dubious care of her domineering older sister. Meanwhile the sister's young daughter has befriended a sinister talking doll.

Much more low key and less deliberately camp than Bride and Seed of , Curse of Chucky marks a return to the tone of the original Child's Play and the first two sequels. There is some nice gliding camera work that makes good use of the house where the majority of the action takes place. Chucky is in fine fettle as his familiar animatronic self and the occassional use of CGI means he's a bit more mobile than in previous films. Fiona Dourif makes a decent heroine and of course her Pop, Brad Dourif, is great as usual.

I like Bride and Seed of Chucky quite a lot, but they took the postmodern knowing humour about as far as they could go and Curse of Chucky rightly ditches that angle. It's a pretty good film and a nice addition to the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scary as ever, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
America's possessed chucky doll is back and is scary as ever. The Curse Of Chucky 2013 film is Full of thrills and chills and the moments that make you jump when you least expect it. Just when you think the film is coming to an end something else happens. The ending has been made with a twist where a Chucky film could return in the future. I recommend The Curse Of Chucky to all Chucky fans this is just a good as the other films of Chucky. If another Chucky film is made I would definitely buy it. Review from ireadnovels.wordpress.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chucky's Back To Play, 23 Oct 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Positive.
Exellent return to form for the franchise, Brad Dourifs exellent voicing of Chucky adds menace to the movie.
The Gore factors been upped considerably.
Best Chucky movie since Child's Play.

Negative.
It's not really that scary & the endings slightly confusing due to the post credit scene ending.

Trivia.
Keep watchng after the credits for a exellent post credits scene.
Nica is played by Brad Dourifs real daughter Fiona.
Many nods to the previous movies see how many you can spot.
This first draft was meant to reboot the franchise as a new Child's Play movie but script problems & rights issues resulted in writer/director Dan Mancini reworking the screenplay to a sequel to the original franchise.
This is a direct dvd release but dont be put off it's the best sequel next to the original.

Review.
The story starts with Nica a paraplegic teenager who is sent a Good Guy doll through the post, Her mum Sarah has no idea whom or why it has been sent so dumps it in the trash.

That night Nica heres her mum screaming out when Nica goes to see whats wrong she finds her mum dead holding a knife in what looks like suicide.

Nica in shock & grieving after the recent suicide of ther mother now has to face her older sibling & her family whom are coming to tie up her mothers family affairs.

Unfortunately for Nica her older sister Barb & Nica clash over what to do about Nicas future as there seems past unresolved issues with the sisters.

When a spate of brutal death start to occur in the house could Barbs daughter Alice have anything to do with the murders?.

As Barbs Daughter Alice seems strangely attached to the new Good Guy doll who seems to have conversations with it & dolls dont kill right?

It turns out that Charles Lee Ray/Chucky isn't dead as first thought & his soul is once again inside the Good Guy doll resulting in a violent bloodbath as Chuckys got a personel interest in this family & a score to settle from over 20 years ago.

This sequel kind of skims over the Bride/Seed Chucky movie's although a little nod & cameo is made which is no bad thing as the were awful editions to the franchise & instead writer / Director Don Mancini returns the franchise to a more serious darker tone with some moments of humour from Chucky.

This is a direct to dvd & I cant understand why this didn't get a theatrical release as this is a exellent well made tight paced horror movie here with a loyal fanbase that surely would've gone to see it at the cinema.

The kills are Gory & Brad Dourif really voices Chucky well making him sinister on moment & humorous the next.

Praise goes to Fiona Dourif Brads real daughter who brings a sense of tragedy to her character Nica.

Is it scary no but it's gory but apart from one or two jumpy moments your not likely going to have nightmares.

As a fan of horror i was hughly impressed with this film a exellent sequel thats far better than it has any right to be & recommended for fans of Chucky & horror.

My only criticism is the ending is somewhat confusing as there is a post credit scene that is excellent but contradicts the movie's final scene before the credit's?
Dvd.
16.9, 1.78.1 ratio, subtitles, Region 2 PAL, Running Time 92 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic return to form,easily up there with the first two movies., 7 Oct 2013
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I'm a MASSIVE Chucky fan and was obviously thrilled(although admittedly a little concerned)when this title was officially announced and went into production.
I was especially excited to learn that they were steering away from the comical elements of the previous two movies,and going back to a more serious and classic-type of Chucky movie.I still personally enjoyed the different direction that "Bride" and "Seed" took,but I have to admit I don't really consider them as part of the original series,more like stand-alone pieces which show a different spin on the character....and to be honest,I think I'd watch almost any type of movie with Chucky in it! I grew up with the original "Child's Play" movies and the first two are two of my favourite movies of all time(especially the second movie,the climactic scene in the factory is STILL as tense and exciting as it was when I was a kid!).

Now,onto this movie.

Firstly I would like to congratulate Don Mancini,while he did a consistent job with "Seed",that was a much easier task in my opinion,as the whole thing is quite over-the-top and so there are not so many concerns with narrative,character development etc...heck,it starred a rapper for goodness sake!There is less pressure because the film is supposed to be taken lightly,just as a silly bit of fun,which it is,as I said before I really enjoyed the movie.
However,the transition he makes with this movie is pretty startling in my opinion,there are several interesting plot twists and clever surprises that demonstrate a very well-thought-out and seasoned/professional approach this time around.Add some very cool and stylish camera shots,a sprinkle of genuinely creepy jumps and scares,along with some well-executed,nice and juicy gore effects,and we are left with one heck of a good horror movie in my book.All the more impressive given the movies obvious low-budget constraints.
The performances are all stellar with special mention going to Fiona Dourif(daughter of Brad Dourif,the voice of Chucky),who I thought was absolutely fantastic in the leading role,just wonderful...I'm sure Brad was proud!

I think Don Mancini and the rest of the cast and crew should be commended for this excellent effort.I mean,how often does a sixth installment of a franchise turn out to be every bit as good as the original??!! NEVER!! How often does a sixth installment even turn out to be half as good??!! I was really,really impressed with "Curse of Chucky",I'm not going to go into detail about the plot because I don't want to spoil anything for other fans,but all I will say is this: If you're a Chucky fan,BUY THIS MOVIE!! NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Sequel. let's hope they keep it up!, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
You may be thinking this straight-to-dvd sequel is going to be a disappointment. Don't worry it certainly lives up to the good Child's Play name. Bringing the series back to it's roots and away from corny black comedy. Curse of Chucky is everything you want from a Child's play sequel and even has a few surprises towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chucky at his best, 28 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The original Childs play was a fantastic film, but started to get boring and silly from the second one onwards. This new version is a lot darker and is very clever how it ties in with the original films. it is not just a horror with blood and guts, but keeps you in suspense for the entire film. Can't recommend this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Child's Play :), 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Must say! this is probaly the best Chucky movies i have ever seen! out of the entire series they made of the films! goes back too it's original childs play roots! and has some suprises round every corner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Both my son and I love the chuckie filmsWe were so pleased to be able to get it. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Must For Fans!, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I was never really a fan of the original Child's Play movies, i just never found Chucky very scary, so it wasn't until they upped the comedy with Bride Of Chucky that i became a fan. Maybe Seed went a little too far for some fans, i like it though, but Curse returns the series to it's more traditional horror roots, peppered with funny moments and classic Chucky one liners.
The cast are uniformly excellent, special mentions go to Fiona Dourif, who is a bright, likeable lead in a surprisingly gothic take on the Child's Play legend, which has shades of What Ever Happened To Baby Jane and classic haunted house motifs.
The plot works well as both a reboot AND a sequel, meaning those uninitiated with Chucky's previous exploits will be able to enjoy it as a standalone movie, while die hard fans will take glee in the references to past adventures! Fast paced & atmospheric with imaginative death scenes and splatteriffic gore to keep Chuck's fans happy. In this day and age of countless awful remakes, ( A Nightmare On Elm Street, Halloween, Friday The 13th to name a few.) it's nice to see an 80's icon revisited in a way that breathes new life into the franchise, without ignoring the past legacy. Long may the series continue!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013]
Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013] by Don Mancini (Blu-ray - 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews