Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BRILLIANT SEQUEL.."
Ignore the idiotic low rated reviews for this movie as it is absolutely a return to form for the child's play series, any true fan such as myself should love curse of chucky, the last 2 sequels were great fun but this sequel takes it back to the old school roots of creepy with the doll picking everyone off one by one until its revealed he's alive once again! The story...
Published 20 months ago by S. Drury

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable
The film started off ok and seemed like they were doing a different chucky film altogether. They actually made it quite scary for the first half then it just got ridiculous and comical. This film is only worth a watch I would not recommend paying for it as it is only an average film at best.
Published 18 months ago by Benjamin


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BRILLIANT SEQUEL..", 10 Oct. 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Ignore the idiotic low rated reviews for this movie as it is absolutely a return to form for the child's play series, any true fan such as myself should love curse of chucky, the last 2 sequels were great fun but this sequel takes it back to the old school roots of creepy with the doll picking everyone off one by one until its revealed he's alive once again! The story builds up well with some gruesome kills and very cool chucky doll effects, most of them are practical but some are CGI for certain things we haven't seen chucky do before like walking down stairs etc. The story does take the series full circle linking it to the original and other sequels, plus we get a few nice cameos towards the end, the ending is slightly confusing as there is a cool after credit scene which im not sure fits in but is a good nod for the fans, overall its really worth checking out if your a fan, its fits in so well with the rest of this amazing horror gem of a franchise, the picture quality is outstanding on the Blu-ray, and there are plenty of great features!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Return to Form for the Killer Doll Chucky, 19 April 2015
By 
Bill (England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Chucky movies are a long running succession of very successful horror films, about a poseable toy doll, who becomes the vessel for the demented spirit of a notorious serial killer, named Charles Lee Ray. As the years have gone by, the special F/X and CGI for the killer doll have steadily improved, although not necessarily with the effect of making Chucky any more scary.
Nica is an attractive, twenty-something paraplegic woman confined to a wheelchair. She lives in a gothic looking mansion house with her mother, who commits a very bloody suicide. Nica's domineering and slightly older sister, Barb, turns up at the house, to help Nica administer the legal estate of their late mother. Barb is accompanied by her beautiful au pair and lover, Jill, and a small daughter, Alice. Chucky is already ensconced in the house, an unsolicited delivery in the post who arrived just before the unexpected death of the sisters' mother. The little girl oddly takes an instant liking to the rather creepy looking doll, and of course, none of the family relations know anything about the malevolent entity living inside the toy...
This is one of the better Chucky movies. It's well acted and benefits from glossy production values. It has a slow, but tense, build up, but it's not too long before the first graphic death is depicted. Having the lead actress in a wheelchair and made more vulnerable, certainly adds to the tension, a trick movie makers have learned from Hitchcock's The Rear Window. In fact, this film has a certain Hitchcock vibe about it, for instance, the sequence in an old lift. This film is much less of a schlock horror than the other Chucky movies, relying a lot more on atmosphere and tension, which I think works well. The CGI for Chucky in this film is very good, he's made to look particularly vile and nasty when he comes to life. The synth soundtrack has a touch of the John Carpenter/Giorgio Moroder about it.
I can understand why a lot of other reviewers are on a downer about this film, it has a very different style to the rest of the Chucky franchise. If Hitchcock had been asked to make a Chucky movie, it would have been something like this, relying on character development and situation rather than gross out shocks and gratuitous violence. Recommended, but don't expect this flick to have the same campy feel as the other Chucky films.
Thanks for taking the time to read this review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FRIEND TO THE END, 8 Oct. 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Nica (Fiona Dourif) who is bound to a wheelchair gets a Chucky Doll in the mail. After her mother is gone, her controlling sister Barb (Danielle Bisutti) comes with her family to comfort Nica. This includes the Nanny (Maitland McConnell) a Denise Richards looking nymph you pray doesn't die before she can take a shower. The film adds some nice touches by starring Fiona Dourif, the daughter of Brad Dourif who is Chucky's voice. The throw back to Jennifer Tilly was a bonus.

In case you forgot the Chucky story, he rehashes it. This is a straight forward Chucky film which includes blood squirts, puns, and of course a doll with a knife.

Must see for fans of the franchise, a fitting sequel.

Parental Guide: F-bombs. No sex or nudity. Maitland in red bra and panties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scary as ever, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
America's possessed chucky doll is back and is scary as ever. The Curse Of Chucky 2013 film is Full of thrills and chills and the moments that make you jump when you least expect it. Just when you think the film is coming to an end something else happens. The ending has been made with a twist where a Chucky film could return in the future. I recommend The Curse Of Chucky to all Chucky fans this is just a good as the other films of Chucky. If another Chucky film is made I would definitely buy it. Review from ireadnovels.wordpress.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chucky is back., 20 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Wheelchair bound Nica is grieving after the suicide of her mother and coping with the dubious care of her domineering older sister. Meanwhile the sister's young daughter has befriended a sinister talking doll.

Much more low key and less deliberately camp than Bride and Seed of , Curse of Chucky marks a return to the tone of the original Child's Play and the first two sequels. There is some nice gliding camera work that makes good use of the house where the majority of the action takes place. Chucky is in fine fettle as his familiar animatronic self and the occassional use of CGI means he's a bit more mobile than in previous films. Fiona Dourif makes a decent heroine and of course her Pop, Brad Dourif, is great as usual.

I like Bride and Seed of Chucky quite a lot, but they took the postmodern knowing humour about as far as they could go and Curse of Chucky rightly ditches that angle. It's a pretty good film and a nice addition to the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watchable, 13 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
The film started off ok and seemed like they were doing a different chucky film altogether. They actually made it quite scary for the first half then it just got ridiculous and comical. This film is only worth a watch I would not recommend paying for it as it is only an average film at best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much better than you would expect., 2 Mar. 2015
By 
Mr. A. Brammer "AD13" (LONDON UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
After the ok at the time but aged badly and not half as good as you remember it Bride of Chucky and the just god awful how did that ever get made? Seed of Chucky, this is something of a return to form.
Lots of cool easter eggs for long time fans and some cool gore and practical effects.
If you are not a fan of Chucky full stop then this is unlikely to make you a convert.
Being straight to DVD I expected a pretty scuzzy low budget affair but the reality couldn't be further from the truth.
Well worth a watch.
Oh and there is a pretty cool end credit sequence also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chucky Rides Again, 14 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If you enjoyed the original movies, this film is chock full of references to them. If you're looking to get into them, or just want a one-off horror flick, this is a good one to watch. While it does mention some of the events of the original 'Child's Play' movie, it's not entirely essential to have seen it. Overall, this film is pretty good for a straight-to-DVD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Both my son and I love the chuckie filmsWe were so pleased to be able to get it. Many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic return to form,easily up there with the first two movies., 7 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
I'm a MASSIVE Chucky fan and was obviously thrilled(although admittedly a little concerned)when this title was officially announced and went into production.
I was especially excited to learn that they were steering away from the comical elements of the previous two movies,and going back to a more serious and classic-type of Chucky movie.I still personally enjoyed the different direction that "Bride" and "Seed" took,but I have to admit I don't really consider them as part of the original series,more like stand-alone pieces which show a different spin on the character....and to be honest,I think I'd watch almost any type of movie with Chucky in it! I grew up with the original "Child's Play" movies and the first two are two of my favourite movies of all time(especially the second movie,the climactic scene in the factory is STILL as tense and exciting as it was when I was a kid!).

Now,onto this movie.

Firstly I would like to congratulate Don Mancini,while he did a consistent job with "Seed",that was a much easier task in my opinion,as the whole thing is quite over-the-top and so there are not so many concerns with narrative,character development etc...heck,it starred a rapper for goodness sake!There is less pressure because the film is supposed to be taken lightly,just as a silly bit of fun,which it is,as I said before I really enjoyed the movie.
However,the transition he makes with this movie is pretty startling in my opinion,there are several interesting plot twists and clever surprises that demonstrate a very well-thought-out and seasoned/professional approach this time around.Add some very cool and stylish camera shots,a sprinkle of genuinely creepy jumps and scares,along with some well-executed,nice and juicy gore effects,and we are left with one heck of a good horror movie in my book.All the more impressive given the movies obvious low-budget constraints.
The performances are all stellar with special mention going to Fiona Dourif(daughter of Brad Dourif,the voice of Chucky),who I thought was absolutely fantastic in the leading role,just wonderful...I'm sure Brad was proud!

I think Don Mancini and the rest of the cast and crew should be commended for this excellent effort.I mean,how often does a sixth installment of a franchise turn out to be every bit as good as the original??!! NEVER!! How often does a sixth installment even turn out to be half as good??!! I was really,really impressed with "Curse of Chucky",I'm not going to go into detail about the plot because I don't want to spoil anything for other fans,but all I will say is this: If you're a Chucky fan,BUY THIS MOVIE!! NOW!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013]
Curse of Chucky [Blu-ray] [2013] by Don Mancini (Blu-ray - 2013)
£8.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews