Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars129
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 October 2013
Ignore the idiotic low rated reviews for this movie as it is absolutely a return to form for the child's play series, any true fan such as myself should love curse of chucky, the last 2 sequels were great fun but this sequel takes it back to the old school roots of creepy with the doll picking everyone off one by one until its revealed he's alive once again! The story builds up well with some gruesome kills and very cool chucky doll effects, most of them are practical but some are CGI for certain things we haven't seen chucky do before like walking down stairs etc. The story does take the series full circle linking it to the original and other sequels, plus we get a few nice cameos towards the end, the ending is slightly confusing as there is a cool after credit scene which im not sure fits in but is a good nod for the fans, overall its really worth checking out if your a fan, its fits in so well with the rest of this amazing horror gem of a franchise, the picture quality is outstanding on the Blu-ray, and there are plenty of great features!!!
22 comments|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Anything "Chucky" related automatically gets me excited, it doesn't matter how bad nor good it might be, I don't care. I could be judged for liking the Chucky series but I've never hidden how much I love the films including the ones less well received by others. From the beginning of Child's Play to the Seed of Chucky they are always gloriously entertaining. With buckets of blood, gleeful special effects to bring each death to life and one of the most memorable serial killers in film history, plus endless jokes which DO NOT get old, I love every film and now with joy I can add Curse of Chucky to my list.

I honestly had reservations and was worried it would veer ridiculously away from the others instead to my surprise it doesn't exclude the previous films and makes them prevalent to the story and by the end you have old faithful back to cheer on.

Story: Nica (Fiona Dourif) lives with her mother at their family home when one day they get a knock at the door, a parcel waiting for them. No idea who it is from or why, the mother opens it to find a good guy doll nestled inside, looking like it's just come off the production line. Setting it aside they forget about it until an incident turns Nica's life upside down. Her sister arrives with husband, the live-in nanny and daughter to help Nica through the difficult period. But soon strange things begin to happen all seemingly connected to the doll. Is it supernatural forces or is someone amid the family, a cold blooded killer and can they stop them before it is too late?

I admit that this film has given me a soft spot for Fiona Dourif. She evidently can act and there is an inherent sweetness to her bespoke character, Nica. Equally there lies some intelligence to Nica who is one of the first, past the priest, to realise that there is something not quite right with the doll. She's fiery, sassy and doesn't suffer fools gladly.

In terms of story, you have those obligatory twists that you will probably see coming but thankfully they don't feel too outlandish. What is surprising about the film is how it pays certain homage to the past films in the Chucky franchise. There's a certain scene that arcs back to each film throughout the series and does so beautifully and surprisingly subtle.

The setting of the house itself incorporates everything expected of horror, those dark shadows that creep along the wall; glimmers of light against a black background even if you go into this knowing what to expect those moments in particular send goosebumps peppering up your skin. Add to this a memorable score and you have the key ingredients for a bespoke horror film.

HOWEVER if you are an ardent fan of the Chucky series, don't expect to be too scared. The formula throughout is very similar to that of the other films, typically what gives this that slight edge over those past Child's Play is the crisp, fresh nature of the doll. Removing the scars and polishing the features taps into that innocence of the doll and makes the film just slightly more eerie. And the back story, motive to why Chucky is there, is fantastic. Tapping into the original and changing the tone sets the pace for what comes and I admit to being a little surprised.

Bottom line? I know some fans of the original lost interest in any that followed and in truth I don't think this would sway their opinion. It's a tried, tested, well loved formula that is something I feel was designed to the long time fans. IF you are in that category then you will love this. The CGI isn't too prominent, the deaths are as usual good fun and the ending is a wonderful treat. Any fans of Chucky will love this film, it's everything you expect and a little more.

Incidentally, watch past the titles for a FANTASTIC final scene that did have me laughing long after "Curse of Chucky" was over.

All in all, worth buying, definitely!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
I JUST LOVE HOW THIS POSSESED KILLER DOLL SLAYS HIS VICTIMS . THIS TIME HE'S SENT THRU THE POST !
" MAIL ORDER KILLER "
WHAT A CREAPY DOLL THIS IS - WHO DECIEDED TO GIVE HIM GINGER HAIR ? 25 YEARS AFTER THE ORIGINAL CHILD'S PLAY YOU WOULD OF THOUGHT CHUCKY WOULD OF GROWN A BEARD BY NOW ! THIS TIME CHUCKY POISONS A VICAR (SHAME ON HIM) AND STABBS A LESBIAN / CHOPS THE LESBIAN'S HUSBANDS JAW
OFF WITH AN AXE / ELECTRICUTES ANOTHER GIRL & ATTACKS A DISSABLED WOMAN IN A WHEELCHAIR . AT LEAST HE TREATS EVERYBODY EQUALY " BLESS HIM ! "
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
I was never really a fan of the original Child's Play movies, i just never found Chucky very scary, so it wasn't until they upped the comedy with Bride Of Chucky that i became a fan. Maybe Seed went a little too far for some fans, i like it though, but Curse returns the series to it's more traditional horror roots, peppered with funny moments and classic Chucky one liners.
The cast are uniformly excellent, special mentions go to Fiona Dourif, who is a bright, likeable lead in a surprisingly gothic take on the Child's Play legend, which has shades of What Ever Happened To Baby Jane and classic haunted house motifs.
The plot works well as both a reboot AND a sequel, meaning those uninitiated with Chucky's previous exploits will be able to enjoy it as a standalone movie, while die hard fans will take glee in the references to past adventures! Fast paced & atmospheric with imaginative death scenes and splatteriffic gore to keep Chuck's fans happy. In this day and age of countless awful remakes, ( A Nightmare On Elm Street, Halloween, Friday The 13th to name a few.) it's nice to see an 80's icon revisited in a way that breathes new life into the franchise, without ignoring the past legacy. Long may the series continue!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Good old Chucky. He'll go down in slasher heaven as a superhero alongside the likes of Freddie Krueger and Jason Voorhees. Kill him all you want, he will return. His sixth outing now ensures the franchise has embedded Chucky in this iconic Hall of Fame.

We've had scares and laughter along the way and this current outing merges the two with great effect.

With a creepiness throughout, as the film is set within a dark old rickety house, the film works best when the victims patrol the house waiting for their fate.

It's only when Chucky does appear that the scares seem to vanish, well it is just a doll after all.

With Chucky given an animatronic makeover for the modern age, and an effective storyline which introduces characters old and new, this is a worthwhile sequel.

It does have it's annoying moments however i.e. I don't think earplugs can drown out screams, but hey, every slasher flick seems to have them.

Be sure to watch the end of the credits as for those who watched the original Childs Play will be treated to an incredible finale.

Welcome back Chuckles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
First off, in my humble opinion, this film did not warrant a direct to dvd status. Having seen clips of the abominal Seed of Chucky, this is a far better movie. Basically Chucky arrives in the post at the house of a depressed mother and her parapalegic daughter. After the mother dies, enter other daughter, husband, live in nanny and young daughter; the last of which naturally befriends Chucky (What is it that draws kids to possessed dolls?) Chucky's killer lines, and his creepy laughter returns. It's not scary, but; assuming you can get past the fact that the killer is a doll, which I can; then it's not too camp either. The film ties things up nicely, even after the credits stop rolling. The only thing is the price! I don't think it's worth more than a five pound note (I incidently loaned the dvd from a friend, and at right price would probably buy my own copy) As with the straight to dvd status, the price it is worth is again, only my humble opinion. At the end of the day there are Chucky fans out there, who wouldn't object to paying a tenner. All in all a decent addition to the Child's Play franchise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Wheelchair bound Nica is grieving after the suicide of her mother and coping with the dubious care of her domineering older sister. Meanwhile the sister's young daughter has befriended a sinister talking doll.

Much more low key and less deliberately camp than Bride and Seed of , Curse of Chucky marks a return to the tone of the original Child's Play and the first two sequels. There is some nice gliding camera work that makes good use of the house where the majority of the action takes place. Chucky is in fine fettle as his familiar animatronic self and the occassional use of CGI means he's a bit more mobile than in previous films. Fiona Dourif makes a decent heroine and of course her Pop, Brad Dourif, is great as usual.

I like Bride and Seed of Chucky quite a lot, but they took the postmodern knowing humour about as far as they could go and Curse of Chucky rightly ditches that angle. It's a pretty good film and a nice addition to the franchise.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
This 6th Chucky movie takes place mostly in one house which screams lack of budget. Brad Dourif is back again as everyone's favourite doll, but considering this is a 5th sequel he takes his time to get going. Unfortunetly Chucky just looks too fake- and you can easily tell that CGI has been used for his face and features.

There is almost nothing much to talk of here- a couple of gore scenes, a very stupid and unneeded lesbian scene and Chucky just going about his buisness despatching victims. The movie does have some highlights though. The poison meal scene is actually very Hitchcockian. The backstory involving Charles Ray will have fans in raptures and the movie very much wants to be a continuation of the series and not just another reboot, kudos for the makers for that.

Curse of Chucky though just has too many lulls in it- and is about 15 minutes too long- there are much worse horrors out there though, and considering this is Part 6, this film isn't too bad at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
The film started off ok and seemed like they were doing a different chucky film altogether. They actually made it quite scary for the first half then it just got ridiculous and comical. This film is only worth a watch I would not recommend paying for it as it is only an average film at best.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2013
Nica (Fiona Dourif) who is bound to a wheelchair gets a Chucky Doll in the mail. After her mother is gone, her controlling sister Barb (Danielle Bisutti) comes with her family to comfort Nica. This includes the Nanny (Maitland McConnell) a Denise Richards looking nymph you pray doesn't die before she can take a shower. The film adds some nice touches by starring Fiona Dourif, the daughter of Brad Dourif who is Chucky's voice. The throw back to Jennifer Tilly was a bonus.

In case you forgot the Chucky story, he rehashes it. This is a straight forward Chucky film which includes blood squirts, puns, and of course a doll with a knife.

Must see for fans of the franchise, a fitting sequel.

Parental Guide: F-words. No sex or nudity. Maitland in red bra and panties.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)