Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (50)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..BRILLIANT SEQUEL.."
Ignore the idiotic low rated reviews for this movie as it is absolutely a return to form for the child's play series, any true fan such as myself should love curse of chucky, the last 2 sequels were great fun but this sequel takes it back to the old school roots of creepy with the doll picking everyone off one by one until its revealed he's alive once again! The story...
Published 15 months ago by S. Drury

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
As a true Chucky fan. i was reallly disappointed with the movie. After waiting so many years for a new one to be released, they may have well not have bothered. It was like watching a cheap budget movie that a student has put together.
Published 13 months ago by Mrs T Campbell


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worst Chucky., 1 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was looking forward to watching Chucky, as I have all the Chucky Films, well this one was the worst ever, so predictable from the opening scene, to the end, you could predict what was going to happen such a let down, story line was good, as it brought back some of the caracters from other Chucky movies from the past, if this was your first viewing of a Chucky movie, then you will have been disapointed, buy the other Chucky movies, then you will see the real Chucky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed Not A Patch On Original, 17 Nov. 2013
By 
P. Walker "Film Buff" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have not really got a lot to say about this film, it simply does not match up with original, and got so bored I fell asleep, that says its all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chucky's back with a bang!, 10 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I watched the entire series again in order concluding with Curse of Chucky. I thought it was excellent, was good to see Curse of Chucky going back darker again. It blended in well with all the other films. Was jumpy at points, which was great. Also liked the flashbacks adding to a prequel as well. The new cast to the series were all excellent and was great to see returns from obviously Brad Dourif,(what would series be without him) Jennifer Tilly and Alex Vincent. The whole ending was great with twists, turns and surprises throughout the film. If you are a Chucky fan, then this is a must see, its better than some of the others. I recommend to people who have not seen any Chucky films before also. Hope to see more sequels, but could also end series well here. We will have to wait and see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but could of been better., 30 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This dvd was ok. Not scary and not a lot of gore or much going on. I found the dvd good and was curious why Chucky chose who he chose too torment but I think it could of been better. They could of made it a lot better in my opinion. Chucky did look evil though and like I said I liked it and is one too watch but just thought it could of been better. Chucky is normally a lot more evil in his films then he was in this. I would give it a watch though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars curse of chucky, 19 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Love this film one of the best chucky films going I'm a big fan of chucky films and this one helps u understand why he turns into the doll in the first place I could watch this one all day long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sadly very disappointing, 1 Jan. 2014
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was really looking forward to this. The first few films of the series (back when it was known as `Child's Play' were pretty damn creepy, whereas the new two (`Seed' and `Bride' of Chucky) took a more lighter note, but still had their merits in the `horror comedy' sub-genre.

Here, in `The Curse of Chucky' it tries to go back to its roots by being creepy. It doesn't work. Chucky (who - let's face it - is why we watch these films) is barely in it until the forty-five minute mark. Previously, all we're treated to is a `slasher' type film, i.e. where stupid people wander round a large, allegedly-spooky house, being picked off one by one. While, at the same time, a young girl gets to know Chucky... only to discover the `real' him.

Unfortunately, it's just dull. The `slasher' element is redundant as we know it's Chucky doing the killing. The characters are either bland or completely unlikeable, so we don't care whether they're chopped to pieces or not. And the whole girl-getting-to-know-Chucky sub-plot is just the same as the first film, only with a young girl instead of a boy.

There are some nice references to the original Child's Play movie and we get to find out a little more about the man who possessed the doll, i.e. serial killer Charles Lee Ray, but it's too little too late. I think the film-makers were trying to do `scary,' to move the franchise back towards `horror' over comedy. Sadly, after watching it, I'd rather they'd played it for laughs once again.

The second half kind of picks up a bit, so it's not all bad. And I enjoyed the ending (about the last 15 minutes) and make sure you watch AFTER the credits as there's an important scene you may miss that kind of changes things.

`Curse of Chucky' was the first of the franchise which was not released in the cinemas, only making a `straight to DVD' release. There's a reason for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chucky dvd, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
this dvd is ok not the best chucky film ever made but worth buying if your a chucky fan like us was quick delivery and great price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013]
Curse of Chucky [DVD] [2013] by Don Mancini (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews