Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars116
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 December 2014
Item as described. Fast delivery. Would recommend.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 20 March 2014
Chucky is the doll they cannot kill,no matter what they do to try! He always comes back,and he will do whatever he likes! Killing is what he likes to do,and his size makes no difference to him!
You would think that a nice doll would never do what Chucky does,but then He is NOT a nice guy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 January 2014
I was really looking forward to this. The first few films of the series (back when it was known as `Child's Play' were pretty damn creepy, whereas the new two (`Seed' and `Bride' of Chucky) took a more lighter note, but still had their merits in the `horror comedy' sub-genre.

Here, in `The Curse of Chucky' it tries to go back to its roots by being creepy. It doesn't work. Chucky (who - let's face it - is why we watch these films) is barely in it until the forty-five minute mark. Previously, all we're treated to is a `slasher' type film, i.e. where stupid people wander round a large, allegedly-spooky house, being picked off one by one. While, at the same time, a young girl gets to know Chucky... only to discover the `real' him.

Unfortunately, it's just dull. The `slasher' element is redundant as we know it's Chucky doing the killing. The characters are either bland or completely unlikeable, so we don't care whether they're chopped to pieces or not. And the whole girl-getting-to-know-Chucky sub-plot is just the same as the first film, only with a young girl instead of a boy.

There are some nice references to the original Child's Play movie and we get to find out a little more about the man who possessed the doll, i.e. serial killer Charles Lee Ray, but it's too little too late. I think the film-makers were trying to do `scary,' to move the franchise back towards `horror' over comedy. Sadly, after watching it, I'd rather they'd played it for laughs once again.

The second half kind of picks up a bit, so it's not all bad. And I enjoyed the ending (about the last 15 minutes) and make sure you watch AFTER the credits as there's an important scene you may miss that kind of changes things.

`Curse of Chucky' was the first of the franchise which was not released in the cinemas, only making a `straight to DVD' release. There's a reason for that.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 10 November 2013
After the awful Seed Of Chucky, I thought that this franchise was dead as a huge fan of Childs Play and Childs play 2, I was totally disappointed by The Seed, which was more pure comedy than horror movie. Luckily Curse of Chucky is much better, actually it is a return to form for the Childs play movies, I was really happy that Brad Dourif returned to voice Chucky and he shines once more with his incredible voice acting. What I also loved about this movie is it showed why Charles Lee Ray was running from the law in the first place and explained his decent into madness, Fiona Dourif is extremely well casted as Nica and really changes the cliché of survivor girls and the disabled in the slasher genre. What I found compelling as well is that Jenifer Tilly returns as Tiffany, who despite Chucky Killing her son and daughter still has that strong commitment to our killing doll Villain. What I also liked is that this is a horror where the villain wins in the end, well up until the after credits scene anyway but that scene is more for setting up a further sequel and I would happily watch that to happen if it as strongly written and directed as The Curse Of Chucky. The only major fault with this movie is the £ 8 million budget due to it being a direct to DVD movie due to the Failure that was The Seed Of Chucky means that some of the effects like the disposal of Barbra's eye look a bit cheap but the other death's in the movie are that well done that this seems so minor, I also like that Chucky had to wear a mask over his scared face to infiltrate this family home, so you get scenes that have the classic look Chucky and scenes with the much more iconic "Scar-Face Chucky", I also liked that Chucky in the films is dealing with a Delaying issue meaning that he could never kill a certain character in previous films due to a sense that he would lose purpose and when actually goes to kill that famed person after the credits Spoilers, it relighted my hope in the series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2015
Welcome addition to the chucky world
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
So so, there's been better Chucky's.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
As described with quick delivery :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2014
chucky is back and is the best
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2014
Great delivery and great item.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 17 May 2015
arrived on time, well packaged, but the movie itself was a waste of money, i'm a chucky fan but this movie was a waste of time
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Child's Play [DVD] [1988]
Child's Play [DVD] [1988] by Chris Sarandon (DVD - 2004)

Seed of Chucky [DVD]
Seed of Chucky [DVD] by Jennifer Tilly (DVD - 2005)

Child's Play 2 [DVD] [1991]
Child's Play 2 [DVD] [1991] by Alex Vincent (DVD - 2002)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.