Customer Reviews


203 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The vicious world outside
If one night every year, you could commit any crime without facing, consequences what would you do?

What sounds like a silly idea for a film, is really quite stylish. The likeable Mr Sandin (Ethan Hawke) is the father of a family tested by this lawless night...

My opinion: I think the near-future idea really works. The Purge does entertain very well...
Published 6 months ago by Broadsword

versus
47 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wasted premise
The Purge is set in the near-future (2022) in the U.S. - all crime is legal for one night a year in a release deemed necessary by the New Founding Fathers to vent all the pent-up rage and anger that we as humans amass. The Purge is working, unemployment is at 1% and there is barely a crime recorded outside of the Purge night. The Sandins are a successful family in plush...
Published 20 months ago by J. Morris


‹ Previous | 14 5 621 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Suzuki, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This DVD was well packed, arrived on time and was in good condition,sound vision all good,enjoyed the film made me jump. Fare price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is a great film, a film that makes you think if ..., 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Wow , this is a great film , a film that makes you think if this actually was true , it would be carnage out there, a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clever, dark and enjoyable, 14 Sept. 2014
This review is from: The Purge (DVD)
Enjoyed it. A dark thriller and even though it is violent the violence is there to deliver a message and there's lots of subtext.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It could have been brilliant..., 24 Jun. 2013
By 
Miss AL Holloway (Oswestry) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Purge [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As it is, it is still pretty good. The Purge is set in the future (2022 to be precise)and in this version of the future America's crime rate is at an all time low. This is attributed to the fact that one night a year, they have an annual Purge, where all crime is excused, unless committed against a level ten government official. Police and emergency services are not available, and anything goes. Sounds like a recipe for disaster to me, but hey, this is fiction, and as scary scene setting goes, it's not a bad one.

You can probably imagine that in this situation the rich have all the advantages. They can afford the best of home security systems, and also to arm themselves. A lot of people choose to lock themselves in and sit the night out, others choose to go "hunting". It seems from the opening montage of security footage at the start of the film, that the poor, vulnerable and homeless are the prey.

James Sandin, (Ethan Hawke) is a very successful seller of state of the art home security systems who lives with his wife (Lena Headey - Game of Thrones's Cersei Lannister) and two children in a beautiful, affluent neighbourhood where he has sold his security systems to all of his neighbours. On the night of the purge, he locks down his house and expects to spend a quiet night in with his family. Of course, this is not what happens.

His young son sees a man outside shouting for help, he is injured, bloody and most likely a homeless person. No one is answering him. He decides, without asking his parents permission, to open the security gate and let the man in. To say more would be to spoil the story, but this is the general gist.

This film is an interesting take on the home invasion genre, and a scary look at a possible future. The film has a very eerie feeling, with lots of suspense, and a decent twist at the end. I liked it a lot, it was not perfect but it was strong enough to be a worthwhile watch for those who enjoy this genre.

The main thing I feel let this film down was there were weaknesses in the plot. After letting the homeless man in, the house is approached by a gang of "preppy" "hunters" who had decided this particular man was their prey, and they wanted him back at all costs. Why him? Were there not plenty of other vulnerable targets available? This part did not quite ring true for me, but I suppose it served to move the story along. One or two other minor niggles stopped this from being brilliant but overall I still enjoyed it and would recommend it to fans of the genre. I feel that there is a lot more that could be done with this premise, and I would actually like to see a sequel made.

For those wanting to know what sort of content is in this film, it is not particularly gory, there is violence and some blood, some swearing, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best film I have seen, 22 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Purge (Blu-ray)
Not the best film I have seen, also think it's based on a ridiculas idea! But wasn't a film where I had to turn it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Family under siege, 24 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Purge is set in the near future. An economic collapse in the US has lead to a radical government. They have created a public holiday where all crime is legal with the premise that violence is a natural human instinct that can be purged once a year.

Its a solid but formulaic thriller, not a horror movie. The whole movie is set around one middle class family house which is under siege from a gang on purge night. Despite the low budget ($3m) the movie looks good due to the limited locations and the pacing is good. It was a big hit at the US box office.

You need to suspend disbelief at the basic premise to enjoy the movie and it seems many critics and viewers had trouble doing this. This is a proper science fiction movie, in that it reflects concerns over today's society with its rampant gun crime and inequality. The social commentary is a bit heavy handed but then most modern Hollywood films don't even have any social commentary.

Definitely a B movie but an entertaining one, the Purge deserves bonus points for originality, something badly needed in Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but better as a rental, 15 Oct. 2014
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
So imagine that for one night of the year all emergancy services were stopped and the law didn't exist, that is exactly what happens in The Purge. Every year for 12 hours people descend into the streets to let out all the pent up anger and hate they've built up over the year on each other, homeless and anyone else who gets in the way. It culls the population and keeps crime down and as long as you can afford state of the art home security your fine, that is until one of your children has a crisis of conscience and lets a fleeing victim in and turns a mob of killers on you.
That is primarily what The Purge is about, essentially its a cat and mouse style movie about one families survival throughout a night with no help and no allies. I have to admit I was quite disappointed with The Purge since it was produced by the guy who did Sinister and Insidious, both of which I absolutely love this definetly didn't have the same 'je ne sais quoi' that the others had. Having said that it wasn't a bad movie but I wouldn't recommend buying it, this is definetly more of a rental movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... bit disturbing in terms of the storyline but a great thriller, look forward to seeing The second Purge, 7 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Purge [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A bit disturbing in terms of the storyline but a great thriller, look forward to seeing The second Purge film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ridiculus plot, 31 Oct. 2013
By 
V. K. Manglaveras (thessaloniki, greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
this could be awesome film if the plot was believable but give me a break.
How can u take seriously a film in which we must axcept that the government of USA permits in the future people to kill each other for one day in a year.
this is the most ridiculus thing i ever heard and is pitty cause apart from that the movie was not bad at all.
it had suspense and good acting but the plot destroyed that movie.
it's more logical for the dead to rise from their graves than for the USA goverment to permit murders to be legal....LOL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars For 2 hours I couldn't give a damn., 15 Dec. 2014
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Childish nonsense. Ethan Hawke what were you thinking when they offfered you a 7 figure sum to do this?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 621 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Purge [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
The Purge [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by James DeMonaco (Blu-ray - 2013)
£12.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews