Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars281
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 September 2015
'The Purge' is set around a family on the night all crime is legal. After the night has begun the son of the family lets in a Stanger from the outside but soon after they have let in this mysterious stranger a group of people wearing masks turn up on the families front door and gives them a set time to get the stranger out to them and if not they will kill everyone. The film is good and entertaining but if I'm being honest I found it a bit boring in some areas as there was little action for most of the film. I also don't understand why the people with masks on cut off the family's electricity and lights? as this made the film hard to see most of the time. However, it wasn't too bad and it was still entertaining but I was expecting a lot more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
The Purge is a great film about a near future america where for one night a year all emergency services are shutdown and all crime is legal, the story is actually quite good and it's has its moments to make you jump.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
This film is okay but only works if you suspend all logic!.
The premise of the film is that for one night of the year you are allowed to go out and kill, maim, rape anyone you wish and that when the 24 hours is over you all return to your daily chores?.
Seriously, this is where the script fell apart for me. If someone say, killed your nearest and dearest, there is no way in hell that you are going to leave it for a full year before exacting your revenge on the little darlings. You'd be out the next day hunting them down.
So I found it strange that whom ever wrote this, didn't really grasp human nature.
It was okay.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 June 2015
As others have said, what a twisted, dark plot premise, a society that lets anyone commit a crime for a few hours with no repercussions.

Also the film has some social commentary on rich vs poor giving the film makers unlimited potential to explore these themes.

As it happens it essentially boils down to a home invasion thriller that has been done many times before, but that initial premise is still lurking and does give the viewers much to think about.

Still a great cast, some neat twists and some fairly brutal scenes make for a watchable thriller, even if the characters are not all entirely likeable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
This was one of those movies I just had to watch after seeing the trailer. The Purge has garnered very mixed reactions. Some love it, some hate it while others are situated somewhere in the middle. I belong to this last group.

The movie takes place in a distant America and at the centre is the Sandin family, comprised of James Sandin (Ethan Hawke), Mary (Lena Headey) and their privileged brood, Zoey (Adelaide Kane) and Charlie (Max Burkholder); all living in an America that's now governed by the “New Founding Fathers” who have created a law that allows crime to be legal for a twelve-hour period once a year, with a few exceptions. “And why the hell would any government allow this madness?” you may ask. Well, the idea is to contain most of the violence in society to a short time period and allow for a nation-wide catharsis that releases a lot of destructive emotions and all the dark and repressed animalistic urges deep inside people. However, the movie does point towards suspicions that the real agenda behind this so-called Purge is related to population control and gradually eliminating the poorer members of society.

On Purge night, the Sandin family lock down their protective mansion and that would have been that if it weren’t for their greasy-haired son whose act of compassion and decency towards a homeless man (Edwin Hodge) sets the stage for the nightmare that the Sandin family endure for the remainder of the movie. One thing is certain: things will never be the same again for this family.

The movie starts off strong and promising but then quickly descends into another home-invasion, cat-and-mouse thriller. The acting definitely isn’t Oscar-worthy, but watchable. Ethan Hawke didn’t disappoint, as expected. And the movie’s mask-wearing psychos are some of the most weirdest and demented characters I’ve seen in a while, especially their (probably self-appointed) leader, played by Rhys Wakefield. I honestly couldn’t ascertain whether he looked creepier with or without his mask. There’s something about a rich-looking, suit-wearing, entitled psychopath with a devious smile on his face that just doesn’t sit comfortably with me.

The Purge is clearly packed with political messages as much as it’s dotted with major plot holes and weak character development. And I think most people will focus on the weaker points of the movie than its strengths, which there aren’t many. The movie starts off by showing footage from different areas of the country of Americans committing horrific acts of violence against other Americans. It is also revealed at the beginning that there are extremely low levels of crime and unemployment in America; we can assume this is because of the Purge. But at what cost? And how much are we in the real world willing to sacrifice just to live in a “better” society? Perhaps this is the main question that the movie, or its writer and director James DeMonaco, is asking the audience.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2014
i reccomend this film as interesting idea.where for 12 hours there is no law.you allowed to do what want. shows human nature.survival of fittest.intresting well acted film
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
I believe that this movie & it's sequel 'The Purge: Anarchy' is an interesting & original concept where,the U.S government has legalised ( for one night of the year only ) all unlawful acts imaginable.These include murder,rape,robbery e.t.c,e.t.c.By doing this,crime in the U.S is almost zero.
Awesome movie.Looking forward to a movie in the franchise that tells the story of the U.S government itself indulging in the purge &,how about the president of the United States & First Lady?? They surely need to purge!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2016
First of all.. Horror films (not slashers) are a love of mine. I have 500+ horror films, and have seen over a thousand.. I rarely enjoy any other type of film.

The Purge surprised me. The idea behind it is good. It got me thinking anyway. The acting is good, and there are some tense moments, the film has a good pace to it, with a nice mini twist at the end (although I guessed what was going to happen). I rented it, and then actually bought it, along with Purge 2. Not many modern films I enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2014
An interesting and scary concept that surely promotes taking part in democratic voting.

This sets the platform for a standard home based horror with masks, which is never as successful at instilling fear as the premise itself.

This is mainly due to the main characters being difficult to identify with having not had much development and having an unattainable lifestyle for most of us, so I always felt as if I was watching it play out before me rather than getting involved emotionally.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Nice find of a film.
The concept of a world in which one day of the year you can 'Purge/Kill' anyone you like with consequences, brings to the attention interesting social questions. What would you do in this situation?

The acting and production of the film are half decent and you do buy into the characters. While I would have liked to have seen a slightly different ending I think for a scary/horror/thriller film this is a hidden gem.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.