Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'NO HOME IS 'SAFE' THIS NIGHT'
America...in the not too distant future 'Crime' is allowed during
a 12 hour window.....once a year...'The Purge'
'James Sandin' has locked down his home, it is as secure as it can
be, however his son 'Charlie' seeing a man in distress and wounded
reverses the lock-down to allow the stranger refuge.
Trouble is, the group wanting to finish the job...
Published 21 months ago by rbmusicman/and/movie-fan'

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Knock, knock...........
While this film didn't go down the path I thought it would, what we have is a dark tale of a future that couldn't possibly happen. Human nature would dictate against the abstination of crime except for one night a year, so the premise of the story is brilliant in that respect. But then for the most part this film then skips off down the thriller route with just hints of...
Published 6 months ago by LINGO


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quickly purged from your memory, 1 April 2014
By 
Jules (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
In the not too distant future, the American government allow a sanctioned edict, where once a year for 12 hours, crime is legalized so people can vent their built up emotions & urges. Which over the years has resulted in an all time low on crime. Now, on the eve of The Purge in the year 2022, the Sandin family are unknowingly going to come face to face with The Purge as it lands on their doorstep.

The Purge is a very low budget movie ($3 million) , and they are obviously restricted in terms of resources. They managed to achieve a very sinister feeling around the build up of meeting the characters, as given the premise, you can read dark thoughts into innocent remarks. The Sandin family living in a secure home with steel shutters over the doors/windows when the purge klaxon sounds, sadly means they have to come up with a massively contrived way to create the meat & veg of the film. Where the naive youngest of the family allows a desperate homeless man into the home, with little concern for his own family. Who just so happens to be being chased by some Harvard toff's out for a purging. Still, they manage to achieve quite an exciting home invasion thriller when it comes to the siege tension, mixed moral dilemma & the inevitable claustrophobic cat & mouse hunt around the home, with some gun shoot outs & axe/machete wielding mayhem.

The acting is pretty decent with a mixture of experience. Ethan Hawke (Training Day) & Lena Headey (Game of Thrones) lead the way with strong performances as the concerned parents protecting their children. Adelaide Kane (Teen Wolf) as the eldest daughter & Max Burkholder (Parenthood) as the young naieve son, are convincing. Rhys Wakefield (The Black Balloon) gives a creepy performance as the visually menacing, yet oddly polite leader of the invading gang. And Edwin Hodge (Red Dawn) is credible as the distraught homeless war veteran. Also co-stars Chris Mulkey (First Blood) & Arija Bareikis (Southland).

In conclusion, despite it's contrived plot catalyst & insufficient depth of horror, it produces quite a decent one off viewing home invasion thriller around it's bizarre premise. Contains strong language & violence. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Knock, knock..........., 26 Jan. 2015
By 
LINGO (Conwy, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Purge (DVD)
While this film didn't go down the path I thought it would, what we have is a dark tale of a future that couldn't possibly happen. Human nature would dictate against the abstination of crime except for one night a year, so the premise of the story is brilliant in that respect. But then for the most part this film then skips off down the thriller route with just hints of psychological unease, captivated for the most part by Rhys Wakefield as the leader of the posh gang outside. What is frightening about the story is that even though the purge is a night where all crime is legal, people commit crimes not only because they have some dispute to settle or they feel they've been aggrieved by somebody, but just because they can and get away with it. I felt too that there was a slight nod to a Clockwork Orange particularly the "Ulta Violence" that smashes its way across the screen and I felt that the Dad played by Ethan Hawke found himself in familiar role of protecting his family at all costs. However a disturbing film that is a definite watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars could be so much better, 12 Mar. 2014
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I was fascinated with the concept on this film, so I was really looking forward to it...but it just misses the mark. The concept is that in America crime and unemployment has been virtually illuminated because one night a year any crime is legal. which is a really interesting idea...but the film just doesn't...make enough of it. so it ends up as a third rate horror film. I quite like bad horror movies, but this doesn't really even end up being enjoyable on that level. it needed to focus on the social dark distopia aspect, or turn it into a proper horror film that's actually scary, not try to do both. such a pity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars "One night a year, all crime is legal" and yet.. BOOOOORIIIIIIING, 10 Dec. 2014
By 
J. Clarke "Alright Sally" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Purge
"This is your emergency broadcast system announcing the commencement of the annual Purge. All crime,including murder,will be legal for 12 hours. All emergency services will be suspended. Your government thanks you for your participation." I believe that the idea of an annual purge is an interesting topic, albeit a rash one. It's as fair as it may seem though as weapon use over 'class 4' cannot be used and high ranking government officials cannot be harmed. Other than that, it seems like a perplexing proposition. Would people pour onto the streets, looking to vent their anger? or would the majority stay inside and wait it out?

"This night saved our country"
A montage of genuine violence caught on tape, mixed in with some weak staged scenes introduces the film with minimal substance except the videos score of Clair de Lune by Debussy, a classic. The hideously cheesy voice of a radio host announces how citizens will be 'releasing the beast' tonight as a smug looking Ethan Hawke struts into his giant up-market family home. He greets his wife and divulges in chitchat about his job and how his daughter is too young to be dating an older man. Cue the two of them declaring their love for each other in cringeworthy fashion. But it's not the loved up morose actions of the couple that are the problem as such, its the fact that the daughter, donned in a revealing schoolgirl uniform, looks nearly 30 - all realism out the window, along with the boyfriend. The equally plastic neighbours drop by to pry, boast and bang on about how great they all are, shortly before this years purge commences.

Before that though, we're introduced to more of the cast, in particular and extremely creepy child, Charlie (The girlfriend said he looked like some kind of Michael Jackson creature), who operates a small, burnt, baby doll on wheels with a mounted camera - called Timmy - enter blatant plot device. He wears shades to see via 'Timmy', has a hanson-like mullet and has general nerdy, lech like qualities. After a heart to heart over dinner (where the dad tries to act sporting, mother mentions the meal is zero cal, son mentions his heart-rate and daughter shows her stereotypically moody distain for her father) the family initiate a lockdown where their entire house is sealed by metal grates. However, this world-class security system cannot contain the violence awaiting them, as the naive son allows an injured, fleeing man into his home and the equally dense daughter practically aids her psychotic boyfriend in shooting her own father, nice loyalties, love.

What's right
The fine, young, very educated, guys and girls are a real delight and the only aspect that makes this film a thriller, let alone worth watching. As well dressed, well spoken individuals, they come off (well the leader anyway) as bright, yet sadistic members of purge society - with proper freaky masks but somehow, the leaders smile is even more frightening than the rubber one. The way he demonstrates his resolve is swift and recklessly absolute. The reason for their intrusion is a fairly well crafted excuse too - as they hunt for this 'dirty, homeless, pig' or 'filthy swine'. The pig/swine in question plays his part well too, getting sweaty at the right moment and delivery his few lines with conviction and intensity - whilst being stabbed with a letter opener and taped to a chair. Finally of course, is the premise - all crime is legal? It sounds like utter chaos right? Like anything can happen, anything goes yeah...

What's so wrong
...Until you realise the whole bloody film is set INSIDE one house. Most likely because the budget was sp*nked on bringing in *Ethan Hawke* maybe? Or because it was a lowly *£3mil*? Either way, encapsulating a film with such a plot occurring outside doesn't conjure fear like it should, but instead creates a house of predictable American tension about how far a husband goes to protect his family' etc. The musical cues for the 'scary bits' fail massively too as the loud bangs happen before you see anything jump out. Both children are lacking in any sense or depth as the youngest only shows sympathy and confusion about the situation, whilst the oldest just offers useless platitudes and somehow has less intelligence than her sibling several years her junior. But the most gravely disappointing aspect of it all, more so than the lack of action the plot demands, is that the classy antagonists are pretty much insta-killed and in quick, unoriginal fashion - by the worst characters.

Purged
It could be that I found the prospect of the purge and its participants so much more engaging, that when someone, anyone from outside this U.S, upper class, suburban household came into play, my allegiance was easily swayed. Of course, I chose my side knowing full well that this film would end in sad, tragic, obvious fashion.. where this pathetic family of insincere, hollow characters would, in the end, gain the upper hand and dispatch the intruders. I can honestly say, this is a bit worse than I expected, and my initial expectations were low to begin with anyway. It was only because the other half had seen the trailer and wanted to see it, that I caved in and sat through the whole thing, so I could slate it later. That being said, I still think the idea of this 'Purge' was a good one, only executed poorly.

A Missed Opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable..., 31 Mar. 2014
By 
PF Cope "Pamandlawrence" (Staffordshire, uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I have to agree with other reviewers that The Purge could have been so much better. As it stands it is a reasonable film that walks between a survivalist and a hacker type genre. The main concept of the film seems almost glossed over which is a shame as it is quite novel and a little expansion would have made the film much more interesting. This and some plot holes affects the rating, dropping down to a three instead of a solid four stars. One final comment is that the film is extremely violent, more so than would be normally expected for a 15.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'NO HOME IS 'SAFE' THIS NIGHT', 24 Oct. 2013
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Purge [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
America...in the not too distant future 'Crime' is allowed during
a 12 hour window.....once a year...'The Purge'
'James Sandin' has locked down his home, it is as secure as it can
be, however his son 'Charlie' seeing a man in distress and wounded
reverses the lock-down to allow the stranger refuge.
Trouble is, the group wanting to finish the job they had started want
the family to give up the man they believe the family inside has
given refuge too.
'James Sandin' needing to protect his family initially seems willing
to give the man up to the group outside, however he's not been able
to find the man, when he does the stranger has a gun and has no
intention of being sent outside to face the mob.
Those outside will not wait all night.
A frequently tense affair with several sequences of graphic violence.
A Truly Evil concept indeed,
(good picture and sound quality on this format)
For those that enjoy the extra features.....there is 'Surviving the
Night' and 'The making of the Purge' on board..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 57 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A wasted premise, 10 Jun. 2013
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
The Purge is set in the near-future (2022) in the U.S. - all crime is legal for one night a year in a release deemed necessary by the New Founding Fathers to vent all the pent-up rage and anger that we as humans amass. The Purge is working, unemployment is at 1% and there is barely a crime recorded outside of the Purge night. The Sandins are a successful family in plush suburbia, although it is clear they are the envy of the neighbourhood - head-of-household James (Ethan Hawke - Training Day) makes his money selling the high-end security systems to rich folk looking to protect their homes on the night of the Purge. However, this Purge, his security will be tested to the absolute...

Spoilers probably follow; so stop reading here if you don't want to know. Firstly, this is such a great concept, they could have gone for a much larger macro-picture of the society that the Purge creates; the rich having humility for fear of invoking their neighbour's envy, bosses being nicer to employees and people being all-around fairer to each other for fear of the great karmic correction that can come about from one night without laws. This was what got me to see this film, this premise in itself is fascinating. I would love to see a film about the larger and longer-term consequences of the basis of the Purge. Alas - such cerebral societal exploration was not to be in this production.

Instead, we have a poorly-explained narrative involving a homeless man getting into the Sandin's house and the kids actively undermining the Father and Mother to further the plot. Then some mask-clad homicidal prep-school kids headed by the creepy Rhys Wakefield (Sanctum) show up and declare they want the man hiding in the house - for no other reason than to exercise their right to purge - fair enough - but they then proceed to waste the next few hours storming the bastion that is the Sandin residence to kill one homeless man - despite there probably being a myriad of other options to do in these precious few hours. At first I was certain there must be a reason why they hungered after this one specific homeless guy (espionage or some other such motive) but no, they just REALLY wanted to kill THAT one guy. There is an inordinate amount of character development spent on the kids remote controlled toy that goes literally nowhere, despite the alluring possibility of a Home Alone-style trap set-up etc.

When it all plays out, it's somewhere between a [bad] home invasion movie like Trespass which also had some inclusion of inter-class friction - the haves and the have-nots - and a jumpy slasher movie. The cohorts of the excellent Rhys Wakefield (star of the show here) all wear the creepy smiling mask and sharpened machetes for the duration - but during their assault they prefer jumping out at people and at one point even saying "Boo" rather than actually getting on with finding the reason they are even at the house in the first place. The Purge also has more moments where A is pointing a gun at B and then is shot by an off-screen/unseen C just in the nick of time than any other film in history. This set-up must happen literally 10 times in the film, so much so it actually seems to be an instant death sentence for any character pointing a gun at another...

Whilst it's not the worst film out there by a long shot - and even out-performing some other big name films at the box office at the time of writing - the Purge will hold a spot in my memory not for what it was but for what it could have been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling vision of the future, 18 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
After meaning to for the two years since its release, I finally got round to seeing James DeMonaco’s ‘kind-of-dystopian’ horror movie - and was glad I did. Although not as horrifying as I had anticipated, the film certainly succeeds in creating tension and a creeping sense of dread – most noticeably in the scenes where Ethan Hawke’s wealthy suburban family are stalked through their palatial house by a bunch of bloodthirsty ‘purgers’.
At a mere 75 minutes long, the film is pretty lean, and the main performances are spot-on: Hawke’s edgily successful security-system salesman is resented by the neighbours who have parted with their cash to procure his company’s products, whilst his wife (Lena Headey), is clearly sensitive to the envious comments about her new extension, and doesn’t quite seem to fit in to her surroundings. Their daughter Zoey: a sexually precocious 15 year-old, is at odds with her father over her 18 year-old boyfriend, whilst her brother: IT savvy Charlie, becomes the catalyst for the ensuing events that threaten to tear the family apart. Visceral and violent, the movie is also articulate and thought-provoking – but most of all it is extremely unsettling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Decent enough thrills, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I enjoyed the mid level thrills offered by the purge. The idea is that over one evening you can do what you like and the law can't touch you. Law abiding citizens use hi-tech security to protect their homes and ride out the night in relative calm. When a family give shelter to an outsider who is chased onto their property, they find themselves besieged by his persuiers and under attack. There is a sub p;ot or two and whilst the focus is on thrills and action, the script does give rise to some social commentary. I also think that the masks are great, they're creepy and really do invoke a sense of dread. The third act twist involving the neighbours is relatively good but the blind acceptance of doing gratuitus violence on fellow man is a little bit daft. The action is fine, I thought it was well paced and shot, it's also fairly tense at times. With my expectations managed towards a standard thriller I found this engaging enough. It looks much better than the $3million budget suggests and it made staggering returns at the box office.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly disturbing!, 26 Jan. 2014
By 
patrick (Herefordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Purge [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I though the premise of 'The Purge' sounded very interesting, and just the kind of movie I would enjoy. After reading several average to poor reviews on various websites, I almost discounted it, and I must say . . . I'm very pleased I didn't.

Firstly, I must mention my surprise at the presence of Ethan Hawke! I had no idea at all that he was in it, and as soon as I saw his narrow, bird-like face enter the frame, I knew I made the right decision purchasing this movie.

Ethan's performance was (as expected) very good. Not outstanding or Oscar-worthy, but thorough and engaging non the less. Hawke is far from my favorite actor, probably not even in my top 10. . . however, I have never seen a film with him in it that I haven't enjoyed. From 'Alive' to 'Training Day' to last year's 'Sinister', there is always something likable of his characters and comforting about his presence.

As stated earlier, the premise is what drew me to this film. The idea was unique and very well executed. All of the actors did a great job at helping to convey a sense of chaos and despair. Lena Heady was great as the mother of the family who's home is invaded by sinister mask wearing murderers. Rhys Wakefield also deserves a special mention as the menacing psychopath who leads the assault on the innocent suburban family.

I can't be arsed to describe the plot in too much detail, that's what wikipedia is for. What I will say is that this film deserves to be seen by those who can appreciate it for what it is; a short, sharp burst of disturbing entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Purge [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free]
The Purge [Blu-ray] [2013] [Region Free] by James DeMonaco (Blu-ray - 2013)
£6.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews