Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great simple android phone
Prior to buying the LG L3II phone, I read a lot of reviews on several speciality websites refering on how weak the processing power is and how low res the screen is.

To be quite honest, if you want an android phone to play games, those sites are correct.

Now, if you require a phone that works, well... as a phone, but that also allows you to have your...
Published 10 months ago by Joao Marques

versus
27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sufficient! - [Not excellent, just simply sufficient]
This is not a power phone, it is a basic version of what could be a power phone [running android 4.1.2].

You can think of it like the operating systems for desktop PCs that has varying flavours ranging from a basic to home to professional and to ultimate. This falls under basic with the advanced features stripped off. The phone encryption has been stripped off...
Published 12 months ago by Mr. B. Odueko


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great simple android phone, 12 Nov 2013
By 
Joao Marques (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG E430 Optimus L3II 3.2-inch Sim Free Android Smartphone , UK version- Black (Electronics)
Prior to buying the LG L3II phone, I read a lot of reviews on several speciality websites refering on how weak the processing power is and how low res the screen is.

To be quite honest, if you want an android phone to play games, those sites are correct.

Now, if you require a phone that works, well... as a phone, but that also allows you to have your email, your contacts syncronized, your music and maybe some useful apps such as a GPS navigator and evernote, then this is the phone to buy.
It does have some limited storage, but as long as you plug in a microSD card to carry all those MP3s and photos with you, it'll suit you fine.

Unlike hi end android phones, this one won't break your budget, won't be running out of battery power every day and will fit any pocket.

Yes, forget about gaming and forget about taking great photos. Still, it's fairly solid and good looking and if you, like me, already have a bunch of gaming platforms such as a laptop and a tablet, this becomes the ideal companion. And for that matter also works great as a portable wifi hotspot if you need one.

For the price tag it comes with, I'll point 3 downsides you may consider prior to buying:
1 - It's fairly hard to type on the on screen keyboard if you have large hands as the screen is small.
2 - The camera could have some sort of focusing (it doesn't seem to have) as it could take better pictures even with the small resolution.
3 - The phone doesn't come with any led / flash, so you can't use it as an emergency lantern and no flash for night pictures (the daytime ones are bad enough anyway... so maybe not much point here).

I'll also consider some upsides for that matter too:
1 - It's cheap.
2 - Fits small pockets.
3 - It's a very decent smartphone if you don't want to be a gamer or a photographer with it.
4 - Connectivity (as in 3G / Wifi / tethering) as good as any hi end phone that I've tried.
5 - Sound quality in calls and music, both on native speaker and decent headphones actually better than a Galaxy S2 or S3.
6 - LG software package is decent and not too bloaty when compared to Samsung or Sony.
7 - Above average battery life for a smartphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great little LG smartphone, 27 May 2013
By 
T. A. J. Leahy "tommygun" (croydon.surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG E430 Optimus L3II 3.2-inch Sim Free Android Smartphone , UK version- Black (Electronics)
this is a great little powerfull smartphone from LG.and despite some of the reviews i have read about this phone where there has been various issues.i have yet had none so maybe they were just unlucky.its small but has a very good touchscreen and a 2gb internal memory and the mp3 player is excellent and the sound quality on calls is clear.i managed to get my phone for £59.99 from tescos a real bargain.overall may not be everybodys choice because of the size and small screen but im not complaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Basic smartphone with outstanding battery life, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Twasme (Swindon, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG E430 Optimus L3II 3.2-inch Sim Free Android Smartphone , UK version- Black (Electronics)
The LG Optimus L3II is a basic Android smartphone, with excellent battery life. It has a small display (just over 3 inches) with relatively few pixels (240 x 320 pixels), a similarly low resolution camera (3MP) and 4GB internal memory. These bring some limitations:
- The keyboard when displayed will cover a large part of the screen, and the keys will be so small that it is difficult to type accurately. I have got used to this after a while - and there are plenty of different keyboards that can be downloaded from the market.
- Not all app makers design for such a small screen, so there will be some that are either not downloadable to this phone or just not usable (buttons off the bottom of the screen is quite common). This seems to mainly be an issue with games, but if you want to play lots of games this is probably not a phone for you anyway.
- Over half the internal memory is taken by the system leaving less than 2GB for apps you download. That may sound a lot but it soon disappears. Unfortunately about 100 MB is taken by Google apps installed as system apps - making them difficult to remove - that many will not want or need, such as Google+ and Google Hangouts. If you are downloading game apps, you will probably quickly run out of space, if your interest is mainly for communication utilities and social networking apps, there is likely to be enough space.
- The camera is not great - you would not want to rely on it as your main camera.

On the plus side:
- It is small - easy to fit in a pocket and small enough to hold and operate with just one hand.
- The Android version 4.1.2 (Jellybean) operating system seems very responsive - I have noticed very little lag. It's worst when connecting to wifi, at which point all those Google apps wake-up and try to make a brief connection.
- Battery life is excellent. I bought this to replace a Samsung S5360 Galaxy y which is of similar size, same size and resolution display, but much less memory and an older version of the Android operating system. The LG Optimus L3II, with the same apps installed and identical usage, lasts 4 times as long before the battery needs recharging compared to the Samsung Galaxy y.
- Despite the low battery consumption, the display is clear and bright.
- Apart from the Google and standard Android apps, there are very few apps that LG pre-load onto the phone, unlike some manufacturers.

In summary, if you want a relatively cheap phone for communication and utilities, this would be a good choice. If you want a phone that's also a multimedia tool and games station, this won't be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sufficient! - [Not excellent, just simply sufficient], 15 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. B. Odueko "conqueror" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG E430 Optimus L3II 3.2-inch Sim Free Android Smartphone , UK version- Black (Electronics)
This is not a power phone, it is a basic version of what could be a power phone [running android 4.1.2].

You can think of it like the operating systems for desktop PCs that has varying flavours ranging from a basic to home to professional and to ultimate. This falls under basic with the advanced features stripped off. The phone encryption has been stripped off amongst other things perhaps to compensate for the low performance specification of the hardware basically as a means to boost functionality speed. In order words, if encryption feature was left active then phone would become slow as it has to decrypt on the fly.

It works well with minor/passable periodical lags usually when hanging up a call. Its inbuilt storage is sufficient for tons of updates and adding lots of utility software [Note: I stated utility and not games]. I have not stated games because it does not have the best display for games. The screen is small and lacking in crisp detail. This is basically not a phone designed with gaming in mind, it is a phone that was designed to function and serve the purpose dedicatedly as a phone.

The phone is light small enough to be swallowed in palm of someone with large hands which could also be an inconvenience trying to type with large thumbs on a very little screen. So if you have large hands, I would suggest avoiding this phone if you can help it.

The audio is crisp and clear through direct phone calls [excluding the microphone of some headsets]

The battery last only a day, that means requires a daily charge, purchasing a spare battery and battery charger could ease that inconvenience.

Being a user of previous LG phones [perhaps their basic range of phones] I can say, do not expect software upgrades/updates. As this phone comes with android 4.1, do not expect an upgrade to android 4.2 or higher. LG rarely release upgrades, they are more likely to appeal the purchase of their newer phones than release an upgrade. In other words, you are stuck with what you get till the phone wears off.

Overall, this is a phone that simply works if you need a phone. If you need more out of a phone, you might find better luck looking to a higher model or a different brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value smartphone has *everything* built in., 12 Aug 2013
This review is from: LG E430 Optimus L3II 3.2-inch Sim Free Android Smartphone , UK version- Black (Electronics)
This compact phone has everything you will ever need in one small package, phone, voice recorder, notepad, camera, radio, music player, and tablet. With Android 4.1 there are plenty of apps to download. It can even serve as a portable Wireless access point for your PC or tablet, or a Wi-Fi analyser with an app - so you can take your broadband on holiday, and all this for less than the cost of a night out. I found that the controls were good, it doesn't make calls from your pocket, and accessories are cheap in the supermarkets. The kids all want it now, and if you buy them one then you can track them using AVG phone security app - so you can always find where their phone is...

To summarize - its a device which contains every device I have bought over the last 30 years, all compacted into one gadget. I recommend it - and remember that you need a 3G data contract to make use of the broadband features properly, but it still worked with my old 2G T-Mobile sim.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smart and small, 4 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG E430 Optimus L3II 3.2-inch Sim Free Android Smartphone , UK version- Black (Electronics)
I bought this phone, because I have very good opinion about LG products.
I had a couple other phones and LG is the best for me. I really change my opinion about this company. A few years ago I thought that is cheap products - that's all. But any time I have a contact with LG products I notice that all of them was relialible with nice design.
This phone is small and doing what should do :)
I don't need a big screen and things like that.
I can recommended to anyone who looking for a good, simple smatphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Replacement for "Cookie", 1 Jan 2014
By 
A. Clarke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LG E430 Optimus L3II 3.2-inch Sim Free Android Smartphone , UK version- Black (Electronics)
Had no intention of replacing my phone until I managed to wash my LG KP 500 Cookie with my clothes. It still worked afterwards but the battery life went down from a few days to a few hours. So time to replace with the nearest modern equivatent hence the LG L3II E430. Does pretty much all I require. Not big into browsing but connects with my wifi. Music's OK as is Camera. As others have said not spectacular, but got mine from Tesco for £45, locked to Tesco Mobile. Managed to Unlock via 99p code off Ebay so can now use with my Giff Gaff Sim. At £46 total that's a bit better than the £70 or so for an unlocked one offered here. I will have invalidated the warranty I suppose but worth it for the saving. Fingers crossed. I like this phone so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 11 Dec 2013
By 
Georgios Smpokos "jorgos" (iraklio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG E430 Optimus L3II 3.2-inch Sim Free Android Smartphone , UK version- Black (Electronics)
Works perfect. It is as big as my previous blackberry curve. Easy functioning. If you have a pc at home and only use mobile internet when in a great need, buy it. It will satisfy you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BATTERY LIFE, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
BOUGHT FOR MY WIFE AS HER SAMSUNG HAD A PATHETIC BATTERY LIFE, SHE LOVES THE PHONE AND THE BATTERY LIFE IS SO MUCH BETTER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 6 May 2014
By 
Ophiicus (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LG E430 Optimus L3II 3.2-inch Sim Free Android Smartphone , UK version- Black (Electronics)
On the whole not a bad thing. Good to look at and for my first smart phone perfectly adequate for most uses. It will not run some apps, such as the iplayers of various t.v. channels, however it runs most things.

Fiddly at times with text entry but this becomes merely quirky as you get used to it.

The manual is difficult to find but once you do you realise after having it a week (well I did anyway) you've intuited 95% of it. As my entry into the world of smart I have very few complaints. Is a bit charge hungry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews